We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hooray for the Hofer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gamshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gamshof
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hooray for the Hofer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were a group of four who have just returned from a weeks stay at the Hofer and apart from a little annoying blip when we first arrived aka they had no record initially that we had booked the AI package and the Transfer rep on hand ( not our rep Annie who was excellent) seemed ill equipped to resolve the matter and was rather dismissive of our plight.However Veroniqe and David both brilliant! allowed us to use the Hotel Computer and a few e-mails and phone calls back to Crystal Customer Services back in the UK and everything was sorted, I did ask the rep at the time to call the UK to confirm but he was unable/or unwilling to do so we all felt that we should not have had to be the ones calling and e-mailing the UK to sort the issue.Thereafter no complaints, our rooms were great, food great even the fake twix's we got daily went down a treat up on the slopes!The staff at the Hofer were excellent and could not do enough to help you even when two of our party were shoeless for the evening having inadvertently missed the ski locker curfew( don't ask!) the Assistant Manager rustled up two pairs of footwear for the evening for them, suffice to say they did not miss the locker closing time again !
Ski conditions were great and we made the most of access to every part of the Mountain, apres ski was quieter than what we are used to in other resorts but there were enough bars to have a really great time.
Although there was a mix of families/groups in the Hotel this did not seem to be a problem during the week we were there although I could see if the non family groups had been more boisterous this may have been an issue and perhaps Crystal may want to re-think if the mix of families with young children with large groups ( usually mainly guys) is a good idea.
My only other winge would be about the quality of the ski equipment included in the AI package my skis were very basis I did have the option to upgrade at more cost though but would probably in future go back to booking my own equipment on arrival.
That aside we had a great time, very good value for money , great staff who work very hard and cannot do enough for you,well located Hotel,and fab skiing, just sad we are now back in Old Blighty, roll on next year!!

Room Tip: Ours was an Eaves room and was fine though we did have 6 flights of stairs to climb to get to it gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gloria073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    59
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
28
58
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We returned to the Hofer in Feb 2012 after a great family ski holiday there the previous year. I noticed when booking that there had been a change from half board to All-inclusive and, having been on several "AI" sun holidays before, without problems, thought this feature should be a bonus.......?

As soon as we walked in we realised our error in rebooking; the "AI" had resulted in a total change in clientel, from mainly families to large groups intent on drinking as much beer as is humanly possible within the AI hours ( 4.30-10pm, and beyond as they would " rack up" a line of drinks to keep them going until the bar closed at midnight). The volume in the bar was often so loud that it was necessary to shout across the dinner table to be heard; there was singing and chanting and one group of 13 men brought fancy dress / drag for one night in the bar!

The hotel staff were lovely but they are all quite young and could do nothing to control the behaviour. The bar man even described the place as "like a football stadium".

I note that the previous reviewer was in a "group of 10 lads" but thought families were having a good time. I think this was a different week, but most of the families the week we were there felt quite uncomfortable. For us there wasn't even anywhere to escape to, as our room ( 101 - avoid!), was on the ground floor right beside the bar. My 4 and 6 year old, as well as us, were exhausted on arrival home as we got very little rest all week.

The Hofer remains a nice, if basic, hotel with very friendly staff and decent food but the mixing of "family friendly" with "AI" is a recipe for disaster and certainly ended that way for us. I have written to First Choice stressing this since our return but they are disinterested and are unwilling to accept any responsibility for the problems we encountered. I have noticed that the hotel remains AI next year and is still promoting itself to families, so - families- please think carefully before you book. Kitzbuhel is gorgeous, the skiing great, Rote Teufel a fabulous ski school (don't hesitate to take even a 3 year old - they play games and make the week so much fun. It's only 9 euros for 11/2 hours childcare and food at lunchtime and they take such good care of the little ones, with regular toilet breaks etc), but unless you go at half term there is a good chance that you may share this "intimate" hotel with a crowd more suited to Magaluf than Kitzbuhel!

Top Tip - Don't get your ski equipment from Crystal / First Choice. We booked online before we went with snowell.com and got 2 adult (intermediate) skis, and free childrens skis and boots, for £200! Even better, the shop was just down from the Hannenkahm and allowed storage of equipment for free ( avoiding the 70 euros for a squashed large locker others mention) AND the guys would meet us at the door and help us put our skis away! First Choice wanted £135 for one set of intermediate skis and on the bus the rep was "upselling", saying anyone who had skiied more than 3 weeks before needed advanced skis!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank watsonsontour963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is great, the Staff, food, rooms everything is great for the money! You could find better, but It will cost you more and wont be no where near as much fun as this place. I was a part of a group of 10 lads, but the Hotel had families and couples stopping at the same time as us and everyone looked to be having a good time! David, the hotel Manager, and all the staff were great, helping us with any thing we needed and also coming out skiing with us in their time off to show us the best runs in the area.
The night life is good too with the Londoner and Pavillion being two of the more lively places, but there looked to be plenty of quieter places to go too.
All in all a great holiday, and would go back to Kitzbuhel and the Hotel Hofer in a heart beat.
Thanks to all the staff at the Hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seren1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Hofer for a week 18th February 2012 as part of a package with Crystal. As far as I can tell Crystal have soul use of the hotel during the winter season but not sure on the spring/summer season as it doesn’t appear in the summer brochure.

We stayed in Room 225, and had an excellent view of the Kitzbüheler Horn. The hotel is well situated being around a 5 minute walk to the Horn Bahn gondola station, it was worth just walking here as the Ring Bus going clockwise would go around the houses before getting to the Horn Bahn stop. I’d say to walk it would be 10-15 minutes to the Hannenkamm Bahn. For this station we made use of the Ring Bus which travels every 15 minutes, it can at times be a bit of a scrum which is a bonus of having a locker at the Hannenkamm Intersport-35 euro for the week. The hotel does have adequate storage in the basement however the back door to the room always seemed to be open (as in wide open) and had no combination lock etc which I’ve come to expect from accommodation while skiing. Due to this I didn’t feel comfortable leaving my skis in the room over night as I travel with a couple of pairs with a combined worth of over £1500. The 35 euro was worth it anyhow and gives the option of walking home and leaving boots in the locker to make it easier if you wished. The hotel was kind of a row back from the main pedestrian area, where you can find bars, cafés, and upmarket boutiques.

Being a Club hotel the board basis was similar to All Inclusive. Breakfast, a packed lunch and 3 course evening meal was included (expect for the evening meal on a Wednesday when the kitchen staff have a night off) but this is a good chance to dine out for a change. The food was generally of a very good ‘home cooked meal’ standard with enough choices to keep two very un-picky eaters happy for the week and full! Drinks included are a nice larger (must have been as no hangovers!) red and white wine plus soft drinks. The 1630hrs was more than adequate as we skied all day every day so never saw past 10pm anyhow!

Rooms were clean and had everything you needed included a LCD TV with some English channels. You spend so little time in your room (or we do) all you really need is a place to put your head down and wash up. I found the beds comfortable and I think all that was lacking were a couple of extra plug sockets would have been handy but this is being picky.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and always happy to have a chat about your days skiing. Some of the none front of house staff seemed a bit stroppy, we don’t expect much but a smile and simple hello isn’t too much to ask?!

Won’t go into too much detail on the ski area as this is well documented elsewhere. We had great conditions with very variable weather from snow to beautiful sunny days. The best skiing in my opinion is over the Pass Thurn area either accessed by bus or the 3S gondola from the Penglestine/Kitzbuhel ski area. The Horn area is worth a visit with some good off piste, but is small and therefore limited for piste bashers but well worth a half day visit. They don’t have snow making over there but it’s really quiet and there was so much snow on both sides of the valley it was possible to ski back down to the town via a variety of runs. On the Kitzbuhel side I recommend Red 22 over Blue 20 or Red 21 AKA the Family Strieff. It was always deserted in comparison to the former two with enjoyable views all the way down.

Highly recommend both the Hotel Hofer and Kitzbuhel excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms out the back have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent a week at the Hofer where we were joined by friends, 9 of us in total including 3 children. We were made very welcome at the hotel, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very efficient. We stayed in room 223 which had a view of the mountain from the large balcony, however also a view of the dental surgery!! Th room was very large & our son had a double sofa bed . We had a bath & 2 sinks in the bathroom. The food was excellent, there were 2 sittings 6.30pm or 7.45 pm, you could change throughout the week if you wished. There is also a childrens sitting at 5.00pm, with a childrens menu. We had a good choice of food, a 3 course meal every night, except a weds when the chef has a night off. An excellent choice of breakfast including a good choice of hot food! We enjoyed the packed lunches, which were provided, again a good choice of sandwich fillings. The hotel is in a good position, the ringbus stops across the road, about a 10 min ride to the Hahenkahm, in the veenings it is quicker to walk home as the bus takes the long route. We rented lockers at the Intersport shop for 35 euros, well worth the money especially with the children.

The children went to the ski school "Rote Teufel" we were very impressed with the level of tuition. A ski race was organised on the Thursday & all the children are presented with medals.
We had perfect skiing conditions which made the holiday complete, we really enjoyed the resort & wouldn't hesitate to stay again at the Hofer!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jonesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel is basically furnished but very comfortable and provided an excellent week's holiday. It is located in a quiet location which is away from the shops and bars of the town, so noise from revellers is not an issue but close enough to walk to the nightlife and the efficient bus service means that both sides of the mountain were easily accessible. I chose to use the ski lockers at the gondola station which were very good but in hindsight I should have saved some money and used the basement of the hotel which had a perfectly adequate room for ski storage.
The highlight of the hotel was the staff who were excellent in every way and really added to the enjoyment of the whole holiday.
The food was excellent with 3 courses at dinner with a choice of each course. I am a very fussy eater but I had no problems with any meal and on more than one occasion I chose to eat only 2 courses because the quality and quantity of the food left me full up.
Breakfast was also filling and of a good quality and the packed lunch kept us going throughout the day until the cakes were served at 4.30pm.
The all inclusive drink was limited with only beer, wine and soft drinks being included but this was more than adequate and probably helped to prevent people over doing it and ruining the great atmosphere for others.
The only negative I can mention is that some parents failed to control their children who were allowed to run around the stairs late at night disturbing any residents who chose a quiet night. Fortunately only one family was responsible for this problem and it wasn't a nightly occurrence but in a small hotel it was noticeable, and my only criticism of the staff is that they did not ask the parents to control their children.
On the whole this was an excellent holiday in a great resort and a great hotel with staff who deserve massive credit for their excellent quality of service - we would have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank digger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were initially wary about visiting this Crystal run hotel having experianced terrible 'catered chalet style' service in the past. However this property whilst being of an age, is clean and functional. It is located away from the main Hahnenkamm gondela, being nearer to the Hornbahn gondela, this being about five to ten minutes walk up a small incline.

Nevertheless, the free ski bus stops nearly opposite the hotel and is only a few minutes away from the main Hahnenkamm gondola, providing a regular service to and from the hotel and thus saving walking with skis. You can rent a locker at the main gondola, but is not really necessary. In the evening look for the Ringbus sign on the bus and you will be fine.

The rooms are clean, functional with flat screen TV's and there is an unheated ski room downstairs. You need to take your boots to your room to dry them overnight.

We would like to especially thank Dominica, the Polish manager for her helpfullness and almost boundless enthusiasm,in running a pleasant team that are a credit to Crystal.

The food is served at two sittings which can be altered by arrangement and is of a uniformly good quality. The breakfast is buffet style with hot and cold options. A packed lunch is provided and afternoon cake is available, free of charge at 4.30PM.

The staff take a Wednesday break and you will need to plan your evening meal elsewhere, although there is a Curry night option at fifteen Euros. We dined at the Alt Kitzbuhel,around the corner from the Bank of Austria. A five minute walk to a traditional resturant in a beautiful building serving good Austrian food and drink, at good prices.

We would recommend the all inclusive option, as drinks in Kitzbuhel can vary from four Euros a beer to the sky is the limit. It is nice to not have to worry about wine,beer or soft drinks in the evening at the hotel as they are free until 10PM.

If you would like to explore the beautiful old town which we would really recommend, then the hotel is well situated if you know the route. We would suggest that you walk along the Gries Gasse, where the bus stop is, along the side of the car park,and then take the lift on the right, which brings you out in the old town. Alternatively you could walk past the Bank of Austria outside the hotel and bear left along the stream taking you towards the church, Aqua arena and bars.

This hotel was a real 'find' dispite our original concerns, over ruled by a single room requirement. We would recommend it and indeed would be happy to visit again.

Our only 'moan' was not the hotel or it's excellent staff but the 'parents' who thought it acceptable to let their children run wild on the last night until we complained at 11.45PM. Unsupervised children tearing around tiled corridors slamming doors is not only bad parenting but a recipe for a compensation claim. We would recommend a ' House Rules' notice in the welcome brouchure and a notice board in reception to protect the company from the selfishness of others. Crystal, you have been warned!

Room Tip: Do not be put off by the Eves rooms. They are merely sloping towards the head board and are not real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.4 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
0.6 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Kaiserhof Kitzbuhel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#20 of 50 in Kitzbuhel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Tenne
Hotel Zur Tenne
#16 of 50 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gamshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gamshof

Property: Hotel Gamshof
Address: Franz-Erler-Strasse 7, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria (Formerly Hofer Hotel)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gamshof 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hofer is ideally located about 2 - 3 minutes walk from the bustling pedestrianised town centre of Kitzbuhel where you'll find everything from festivals, brass bands and markets. After all the excitement of the town centre you can come back to the hotel and relax in our friendly and welcoming bar which comes complete with sky TV. Alternatively, catch the last of the afternoon sun outside on the terrace. We are a small and friendly British run hotel. We offer bed and breakfast or half board all for a very competitive price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gamshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofer Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing