We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Stayed for a week mid June 2009.

LOCATION: excellent. Front entrance right on the main street. As this is pedestrianized little noise, but great to wander direct from the hotel into the middle of the town, Couldn't be better placed.

ROOM: Ours was superb. We had booked a suite which was the best room we've ever had. 4 poster bed, seating area with settee and 2 armchairs, coffee table, mini bar and flat screen TV, small balcony with chairs and table overlooking the Kitzbuhlerhorn, ENORMOUS bathroom with jacuzzi, shower cubicle and steam room, large wardrobes and storage area and a separate toilet (room 224). Other rooms we saw were great, but apparently some standard rooms are small with only one window which can be quite humid in warm weather. Suggest well worth an upgrade.

PUBLIC AREAS: Lovely pool, fitness room, 'wellness' area for massage etc, bar and outside bar area for drinks and food. Internal corridors etc beautifully presented with fab furniture, prints etc. There is a garden at the back of the hotel which has cahirs and loungers but nothing else.

FOOD: extremely good. Breakfast is a comprehensive range of breads, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit and cereals with hot bacon, scambled and boiled eggs. Dinner was fabulous - starter, soup, salad bar, main and pudding. In the usual Austrain way one chooses the main course at breakfast. I'm vegetarian, and the food was the best I've ever had. If the starter or soup was meat based the waitress always offered a vege alternative. The vege mains were adventurous and beautifully presented, as were the carniverous ones. Puddings were above the usual standard for Austria, and one could always reuest fruit or ice cream instead of the 'set' dessert. The wine list was good, and every day an Austrian white or red was offered for €19 which included a large bottle of water. The scales prooved how good the food had been upon my homecoming!

OVERALL: an excellent hotel in a great location offering very comfortable accommodation. I long to return and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nildesperanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2009

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in the Tiefenbrunner on half board basis. We stayed in a superior room which was a great size and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is second to none set in the centre of Kitzbuhel with bars and restraurants only a few minutes walk away. It takes about 5 min to walk to the Hannekam gondalas and ski lockers.
The spa area is lovely very modern and the saunas are a great way to relax after a day skiing. However there was no seperate jacuzzi, there was a built in jet stream in the pool which was nice but not as effective as a jacuzzi.
The restaurant staff were very friendly and the food nice with a choice from 2 main courses in the evening. Overall we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busy_Bee_12316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

The Hotel was well located with beautiful views. The staff were very friendly and helpful wearing traditional costume which made for a great atmosphere (apart from the bartender on some evenings who seemed to have more time for his regular customers!). The food was outstanding and plentiful. The spa was great. I loved this Hotel and would happily recommend it to others. It was so refreshing to stay at a family owned Hotel with uniqueness and charm rather than those bland chain-Hotels that all look the same.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnecf41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We managed to get a good price package for a week in September which we booked online with Crystal. We paid a little extra to upgrade to a suite - it was fantastic to have a balcony and views of both mountain ranges, along with spacious living/dining area, walk in wardrobe and spa bath. Well worth the money but whatever your room the one thing we noticed was that this hotel is SPOTLESS. Not a speck or dust anywhere, the housekeepers are doing a great job. So room fantastic.
The spa area looks brand new and has the best view i've ever seen from a swimming pool. There are hydrotherepy jets, steam, 2 types of sauna, relaxation area - again warm and spotlessly clean. Great for when you get back from a hard days walking. We didn't look at or use the gym (when there are mountains like that on your doorstep i couldn't see the point) or have any treatments. I didn't think the treatments looked too pricey though.
The town is lovely, a lot more cafes, resturants and bars than we have seen in other alpine (summer) resorts. Lots of shops (some flashy) and supermarkets too. There is a couple of museums and an art galery too. The transport links are slightly irratic but for a week it posed no problems for us. The post buses seem to go everywhere at 10am but are hit and miss for return journeys. The good thing is there is a train line too so generally you can sort something out. The tourist office gives out comprehansive bus and train time tables in various languages which was handy. They also have walking maps and a list of daily events taking place in town. The hotel is in a pedestrain area but VERY handily placed for cable cars, buses and trains. The cable cars (in summer) are excellent and will take you up to a massive range of varying terrain and i can only assume in winter there are evan more lifts open. There were lots of mountain huts open for refreshment/lunches.
The food in the hotel was good but as a couple that like to eat i would say that it was slightly lacking in flavour and there were a few odd combinations. Food for the masses i guess, but 5 courses dinners and excellent service (the resturant manager was particularly good). We were never hungry.
The walking in the area would suit most abilities and there are lots of other sports to keep the active interested. The tour companies offer lots of excursions (Munich/ Salzburg/ Krimml falls/ Berchtesgarten etc) if thats more your thang!
All in all something for everyone and a lovely hotel to complement a fantastic region.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Location,location, location! The Hotel Tiefenbrunner is situated right on the central pedestrianised main thoroughfare of this beautiful Austrian town, it is next to some excelent- if costly- chic shops ladies and is almost equidistant from the two main gondalas which are aproximately 400 metres from the hotel door. Main bus stop is two minutes from the back door and the main railway station is a casual 5- 10 minutes stroll away. in short ideal for touring around.
You can now have a very good 5 course dinner with excellent attentive sevice and a very satisfying buffet breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and spacious and those with balconies have a simply terrific view of the Wilder Kaiser and the Kitzbuheler Horn.
This was our second stay and it has improved. We would definitely consider a return journey.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank KirkintillochMossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

I have just returned from a superbly relaxing week at the Tiefenbrunner. My friend and I both have very busy working lives and were looking for a beautiful place to be where we could 'get away from it all' and be either as lazy or as active as we wanted with no pre-planning and no resort reps telling us how to spend our time. This hotel fitted the bill perfectly.

Its central location means that the tourist office is nearby as are shops, bars, bus and rail connections. Being sandwiched between the two main mountain peaks: Kitzbuhler Horn and Hannenkahm, it's also only a short walk to the two main cable car stations (although if the weather's right the walk is much more satisfying: though tough going at times).

Our twin room was large and situated at the front of the hotel. Plain decor but spotlessly clean and well serviced with fresh towels daily. View of mountains and of main street was great - and the perfect vantage point for one of the town's religious processions and a local wedding procession. There is a bit of noise in the evening and the room did get quitehot but certainly not anything which would stop you getting a good nights sleep if you'd had an active day: although the beds were not particularly comfortable!

The hotel offers bicycle hire (free in our case), although there are only about 12 bikes on a first come first served basis. These are nothing special but sufficient for general sightseeing (can be taken on trains (and some buses) too. There is also a table tennis table but you may have to ask for this at reception.

Wellness area and pool are just perfect: especially if you use them early morning before breakfast or just before dinner when it's pretty quiet. Fitness room is small but has all you need to keep up fitness levels when the weather is more unpredictable.

In the restaurant the food is generally good to excellent: five courses for dinner and a more than adequate breakfast buffet. Service and attention to detail is superb, with staff asking whether you are ready for the next course rather than just throwing it at you in a hurry to get you out again. A regular table is reserved for the duration of your stay.

I've been to other towns in Austria before where the hotels or pensions have been fine but pretty average. This was my first visit to Kitzbuhel and I've been spoiled. I wholeheartedly recommend it and if I go back there again it will definitely be back to the Hotel Tiefenbrunner.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travel_BugReading_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

Stayed here w/c 8th March had a fantastic time. The food was absolutely delicious in the restaurant and the service was great. Lovely spotless rooms and wellness centre and good atmosphere. Will definitely come back next year and a head and shoulders above anywhere I have stayed before.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank JackieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.5 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
Hotel Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
#3 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
0.7 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#17 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiefenbrunner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiefenbrunner Hotel

Address: Vorderstadt 3, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#6 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: £135 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiefenbrunner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming 4* hotel in the centre of Kitzbuehel! Feel a breath of the past, enjoy traditional values combined with modern amentities in a friendly atmosphere as many of our guests worldwide already do. Panoramic indoor pool and saunas - fitness room - private garden with "Kneipp" water facilies - solarium - massage - beauty treatments - hotel parking - a la Carte restaurants Goldene Gams and Rosshimmel - central location - special offers The Hotel Tiefenbrunner has been welcoming guests here in the centre of Kitzbuhel for hundreds of years. Our hotel in Kitzbuhel, Austria, has been owned and run by our family since 1810, during this time it has has been an inn and stabled the mail carriage horses right up until 1925. Much has changed since then. Enjoy your holiday in the Hotel Tiefenbrunner with a spacious entrance area, cosy hotel rooms and luxury suites with every comfort - partly furnished with antiques, the wellness/spa area with panoramic indoor pool and 3 types of saunas, a relaxing area with a fantastic mountain view, massages and beauty treatments with products of Maria Galland in our Spa area and the newly landscaped garden with "Kneipp" invigorating water feature and sun loungers to relax and a swing and climbing wall for the children In our tastefully furnished restaurants Goldene Gams with terrace in the old town of Kitzbuhel and Rosshimmel our service staff and the "Chef de Cuisine" try their utmost to send home satisfied customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tiefenbrunner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiefenbrunner Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing