We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - shame about the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Location great, right in the centre of Kitzbuhel. You really would struggle to find a better site. Food ok, standard hotel buffet fare for breakfast and perfectly acceptable 5 course evening meal as part of our half board booking. From our experience of staying at lots of 4 and 5 star hotels, we wouldn't rate the food as highly as some other contributors, especially the single daily vegetarian offering . Service good overall but when busy in the restaurant things got a bit pedestrian. Rooms spotlessly clean but DO NOT STAY IN ROOMS FRONTING THE STREET. If you have the window open (as you'll need to in summer and there's no air con) you will be woken daily by drunken revellers at about 4am, followed by the street cleaning vehicle at 6.30 am, the rubbish collection shortly afterwards and to make sure you're really awake the peal of church bells at 7!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2009

We had a fantastic suite but was on the High street side of the hotel and for the 14 nights we where there we did not have one night of sleep due to hotel/street noise. We asked to be moved and this was refused and Management/Owners did not even seem bothered in fact we had not contact with them until the Thursday before we left to ask if we where still having noise!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puddles2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We booked this hotel direct by email and there was minimal fuss, simply a prompt reply to our request for prices and a confirmation of availability by return. The English speaking reception staff took a credit card number over the telephone for comfirmation and we were done.

Things got better when we arrived, the hotel was easy to find with ample private parking. Even though the front of the hotel is in the largely traffic free centre of the town the rear is outside so there are no access issues.
Check in was as straight forward as the booking.
The rooms here were recently refurbished and I am happy to say they stuck with traditional Tyrolean styling for the bedrooms with just the bathroom being in a modern style. As a regular business traveller I hate modern hotels that give no clue as to which country you are in when you wake up, too many top quality Austrian hotels are ruining their charm by "modernising".
Our suite was on the back of the hotel looking towards the Kitzbuheler Horn mountain, most of the rooms with balconies look out this way as do the restaurant, pool, and fitness area. The rooms on the front of the hotel don't have balconies. Our suite was huge and included a private sauna accessed from the balcony. OK so it wasn't cheap but it was less expensive than a good double at the most exclusive hotels in the town and we would book it again.
The location was ideal, all the things that go on in Kitzbuhel are centred around the pedestrianised area in front of the hotel, around 100m from the front door. Most thngs in the summer finish quite early so you won't get to much noise at the front of the hotel, at the back we heard nothing.
The Brunner family have owned this hotel for 199 years and they are very much in evidence day to day. Current Brunner in charge is Maria, she is utterly charming and along with her staff extremely helpful, take an evening drink in the bar and there is a good chance her son and heir will be serving you.
The really clever trick of this large hotel is that while it has the amenities and services of a bid 4star hotel you still feel that you are in a cozy family hotel.
The food was plentiful and of very good quality, on the half board tarrif we had a breakfast and four course dinner with three choices on main course each night and no repeats in the 10 days we were there.
Over the past 17 years I have visited Austria 12 times and staid in 10 different hotels. I expect to add many more visits in the future and I know where I will be staying.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Stayed for a week mid June 2009.

LOCATION: excellent. Front entrance right on the main street. As this is pedestrianized little noise, but great to wander direct from the hotel into the middle of the town, Couldn't be better placed.

ROOM: Ours was superb. We had booked a suite which was the best room we've ever had. 4 poster bed, seating area with settee and 2 armchairs, coffee table, mini bar and flat screen TV, small balcony with chairs and table overlooking the Kitzbuhlerhorn, ENORMOUS bathroom with jacuzzi, shower cubicle and steam room, large wardrobes and storage area and a separate toilet (room 224). Other rooms we saw were great, but apparently some standard rooms are small with only one window which can be quite humid in warm weather. Suggest well worth an upgrade.

PUBLIC AREAS: Lovely pool, fitness room, 'wellness' area for massage etc, bar and outside bar area for drinks and food. Internal corridors etc beautifully presented with fab furniture, prints etc. There is a garden at the back of the hotel which has cahirs and loungers but nothing else.

FOOD: extremely good. Breakfast is a comprehensive range of breads, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit and cereals with hot bacon, scambled and boiled eggs. Dinner was fabulous - starter, soup, salad bar, main and pudding. In the usual Austrain way one chooses the main course at breakfast. I'm vegetarian, and the food was the best I've ever had. If the starter or soup was meat based the waitress always offered a vege alternative. The vege mains were adventurous and beautifully presented, as were the carniverous ones. Puddings were above the usual standard for Austria, and one could always reuest fruit or ice cream instead of the 'set' dessert. The wine list was good, and every day an Austrian white or red was offered for €19 which included a large bottle of water. The scales prooved how good the food had been upon my homecoming!

OVERALL: an excellent hotel in a great location offering very comfortable accommodation. I long to return and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nildesperanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in the Tiefenbrunner on half board basis. We stayed in a superior room which was a great size and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is second to none set in the centre of Kitzbuhel with bars and restraurants only a few minutes walk away. It takes about 5 min to walk to the Hannekam gondalas and ski lockers.
The spa area is lovely very modern and the saunas are a great way to relax after a day skiing. However there was no seperate jacuzzi, there was a built in jet stream in the pool which was nice but not as effective as a jacuzzi.
The restaurant staff were very friendly and the food nice with a choice from 2 main courses in the evening. Overall we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busy_Bee_12316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

The Hotel was well located with beautiful views. The staff were very friendly and helpful wearing traditional costume which made for a great atmosphere (apart from the bartender on some evenings who seemed to have more time for his regular customers!). The food was outstanding and plentiful. The spa was great. I loved this Hotel and would happily recommend it to others. It was so refreshing to stay at a family owned Hotel with uniqueness and charm rather than those bland chain-Hotels that all look the same.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnecf41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We managed to get a good price package for a week in September which we booked online with Crystal. We paid a little extra to upgrade to a suite - it was fantastic to have a balcony and views of both mountain ranges, along with spacious living/dining area, walk in wardrobe and spa bath. Well worth the money but whatever your room the one thing we noticed was that this hotel is SPOTLESS. Not a speck or dust anywhere, the housekeepers are doing a great job. So room fantastic.
The spa area looks brand new and has the best view i've ever seen from a swimming pool. There are hydrotherepy jets, steam, 2 types of sauna, relaxation area - again warm and spotlessly clean. Great for when you get back from a hard days walking. We didn't look at or use the gym (when there are mountains like that on your doorstep i couldn't see the point) or have any treatments. I didn't think the treatments looked too pricey though.
The town is lovely, a lot more cafes, resturants and bars than we have seen in other alpine (summer) resorts. Lots of shops (some flashy) and supermarkets too. There is a couple of museums and an art galery too. The transport links are slightly irratic but for a week it posed no problems for us. The post buses seem to go everywhere at 10am but are hit and miss for return journeys. The good thing is there is a train line too so generally you can sort something out. The tourist office gives out comprehansive bus and train time tables in various languages which was handy. They also have walking maps and a list of daily events taking place in town. The hotel is in a pedestrain area but VERY handily placed for cable cars, buses and trains. The cable cars (in summer) are excellent and will take you up to a massive range of varying terrain and i can only assume in winter there are evan more lifts open. There were lots of mountain huts open for refreshment/lunches.
The food in the hotel was good but as a couple that like to eat i would say that it was slightly lacking in flavour and there were a few odd combinations. Food for the masses i guess, but 5 courses dinners and excellent service (the resturant manager was particularly good). We were never hungry.
The walking in the area would suit most abilities and there are lots of other sports to keep the active interested. The tour companies offer lots of excursions (Munich/ Salzburg/ Krimml falls/ Berchtesgarten etc) if thats more your thang!
All in all something for everyone and a lovely hotel to complement a fantastic region.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.6 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.5 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
0.7 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#3 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#15 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiefenbrunner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiefenbrunner Hotel

Address: Vorderstadt 3, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#6 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: £164 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiefenbrunner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming 4* hotel in the centre of Kitzbuehel! Feel a breath of the past, enjoy traditional values combined with modern amentities in a friendly atmosphere as many of our guests worldwide already do. Panoramic indoor pool and saunas - fitness room - private garden with "Kneipp" water facilies - solarium - massage - beauty treatments - hotel parking - a la Carte restaurants Goldene Gams and Rosshimmel - central location - special offers The Hotel Tiefenbrunner has been welcoming guests here in the centre of Kitzbuhel for hundreds of years. Our hotel in Kitzbuhel, Austria, has been owned and run by our family since 1810, during this time it has has been an inn and stabled the mail carriage horses right up until 1925. Much has changed since then. Enjoy your holiday in the Hotel Tiefenbrunner with a spacious entrance area, cosy hotel rooms and luxury suites with every comfort - partly furnished with antiques, the wellness/spa area with panoramic indoor pool and 3 types of saunas, a relaxing area with a fantastic mountain view, massages and beauty treatments with products of Maria Galland in our Spa area and the newly landscaped garden with "Kneipp" invigorating water feature and sun loungers to relax and a swing and climbing wall for the children In our tastefully furnished restaurants Goldene Gams with terrace in the old town of Kitzbuhel and Rosshimmel our service staff and the "Chef de Cuisine" try their utmost to send home satisfied customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tiefenbrunner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiefenbrunner Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing