We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional Austrian hotel, very clean, decent food, nice staff”
Review of Hotel Vordergrub

Hotel Vordergrub
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vordergrub
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed here as part of a package ski holiday in March 2010. We were the only English people in the hotel (not a bad thing) and the hotel seemed popular with all sorts of independent travellers.
Everything is very wooden - the hotel is nice downstairs and all the rooms very wooden with nice balconies. Our room was in great condition and seemed newly renovated.
We were half board - I thought the food was quite good (soup, salad bar, meaty type of main with veggie option, desert) but my girlfriend was less keen. After a day of skiing I found it very hearty. They do have a (apparently well-regarded) a la carte restaurant which was busy at the weekend. Breakfast was really good - traditional Austrian with cheese, ham, etc,, plus also jam, cereal etc..
Other reviews have mentioned that it can be smoky - this is true, as it seems there is a lot of smoking going on, which seems wierd to me now! The dining room was non-smoking though so it didn't ruin mealtimes.
Location is quite out of town - about 40 minutes walk, and definitely not do-able in ski boots. There IS a ski bus (although we found this very difficult to find out - the bus information in the town in shaky, and tourist information didn't know it existed) about 2 minutes walk down a steep hill. Buses stop about 6.30pm though, so after that you're pretty much cut off unless you take taxis. It's in a residential area, so there's nowhere to go. As such, it is good if you don't particularly want to go out after skiing (us!) or if you have a car it would be fantastic.
Overall, enjoyed our stay here - shame about how far it is from the town, the lifts, etc..

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didsbury_Ryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2008

Stayed at the Vordergrub hotel during March 2008, we had a nice room, though no english tv, with plenty of space for ourselves and our three year old daughter.
Small balcony which was communal, with limited view of mountains, although not bad at all.
Food - very good quality, attentive service, we were impressed with the helpfulness towards children/highchair/ cold plates for children etc.
Only negative point to mention would be the distance from Kitzbuhel centre which needs planning to avoid missing last bus back to hotel othewise you will incur a taxi cost or a reasonably long walk back. (40 minutes)
Not ideal for people looking for nightlife, but as we had a young child this was not an issue.

We arrived by train, and were picked up from the train station by a member of staff . - which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank L0llipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
France
16
Reviewed 4 January 2005

Have just returned from a week skiing in Kitz. Can recommend the Vordergrub as an excellent clean and friendly location, particularly with kids. The rooms are very comfortable and newly renovated. Young families can book adjacent room with bunk beds for the kids and a second bathroom. Food is excellent and breakfast just what is needed to start the day. Ample parking in front and close to Kitz. Only draw back is that the Austrians are quite heavy smokers so ask for a non smoking area for dinner when you check-in. Staff are very friendly and the overall deal represents a good value package.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ks1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Hans-Jürgen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank 422jacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Resch
Hotel Resch
#19 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seebichl Hotel
Seebichl Hotel
#17 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
69 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gasthof Eggerwirt
Gasthof Eggerwirt
#24 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gamshof
Hotel Gamshof
#16 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
174 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lifesporthotel Hechenmoos
Lifesporthotel Hechenmoos
#28 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vordergrub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vordergrub

Address: Walsenbachweg 14, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: £65 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vordergrub 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vordergrub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing