We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks great but I wasn't a fan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were moved to this hotel because of a problem with the booking at the hotel we planned to stay in.

Driving towards the hotel is an amazing sight, it looks gorgeous. Perhaps because we hadn't chosen the hotel, we were given a room without a view, really, it must be one of the few rooms there looking out onto nothing. And yet there were very few guests so they could easily have given us a nice room.

Staff was fine, very sweet and helpful. We weren't as keen on some of the guests, I think stuck-up about sums it up. Good manners seemed in short supply and I felt sorry for the staff.

As many have commented, 15 euro to park is a complete rip off. No wifi in the rooms so you have to sit in the bar (which I thought was beautifully designed) to use your laptop/ipad etc. It is a fair old walk into town, and up a steep hill coming back.

Architecturally beautiful, but I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, most of them seem to have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trudytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Trudytravel,

thank you very much for submitting us your honest feedback.
We are sincerely sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and were disappointed by the room assigned.
We are always striving to make our guest's experience a memorable one and will be more than happy to make any arrangements accordingly to your desire, always subject to availability though.
We are currently working on a solution in order to have wifi in all areas of our Resort. For the time being we provide free wifi on level 3 at our bar area. In addition you may also use our business centre, however we are definitely intending to expand the wifi in all our guest's rooms.
We highly appreciate and value your comments and would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback. Please rest assured that I will share your opinion with the team. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the future to Kitzbühel.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you have any further questions or require any assistance.

sincerely yours

Lee Jourdan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good food, this hotel looks like a castle placed in amazing grounds. Room is elegantly furnished and very comfortable. The SPA area is worth a visit and has a program always going on lead by very nice people. We were offered shuttle to and from the ski lift everyday even thought it was already the end of the ski season (we travelled by train). Highly recommended, food was also 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasshopper_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear "Grasshopper_brid",

we highly appreciate and value your comments and would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback. We were very delighted to have you staying with us and that you enjoyd our service and hotel facilities as written very much.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the future to Kitzbühel.

Thanks again for your great feedback!
Best regards

Lee Jourdan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent hotel, great rooms, very friendly people, cosi lobby, and absolut fabulous SPA. It is a little bit away from village center but situated in a very quite place.
I recommend it to visit it any time but it is very beautiful in winter

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasilis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear "Vasilis P",

we highly appreciate and value your comments and would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback. We were very delighted to have you staying with us and that you enjoyd our service and hotel facilities as written very much.

We sincerely hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future to Kitzbühel.

Thanks again for your great feedback!
Best regards


Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

after 2 nights in your facility and 2 nights at Lebenberg, I can compare the 2 and rate Lebenberg a little better.

15 euros additional for parking each day in garage (no other option available)
Lebenberg - free parking

13 electrical switches, 8 plugs in the room and additional unnecessary electrical things, but no wifi available in the rooms?? not normal in this day and time -- Lebenberg - good wifi in the rooms

beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable and pillows were not normal size, i had to call for additional pillows because my neck was hurting from weird sized pillows.. is it too much to ask for normal pillows??
Lebenberg - the bed was more comfortable as well as the pillows

We did not get to try the spa because of being exhausted from uncomfortable sleep the night before, we mostly spent our time tired and fatigued from poor sleep.

the room quality and size was much less than what we expected compared to our room at Lebenberg.

gluten free bread for breakfast was the cheapest of the cheap and worst of the worst, i do not even eat that in my own home.
Lebenberg had quality fresh gluten free bread , maybe check with them and see who they are using.

the poor waiters in the evening was so over worked that it was obvious. at Lebenberg, the wait staff was plenty, as they did not ever appear to be running and breathless serving the people.
the food also was top quality at Lebenberg, not buffet style , although your buffett was not bad, it was not 5 star quality.

according to my review and reading on past reviews, it seems the wifi, parking fee, and hard mattresses have been a constant complaint for the last several years.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear "Sarah e",

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the A-ROSA Kitzbühel and for taking the time for submitting us your honest feedback.

We are currently working on a solution in order to have wifi in all areas of our Resort. For the time being we provide free wifi on level 3 at our bar area. In addition you may also use our business centre, however we are definitely intending to expand the wifi in all our guest's rooms in the nearest time.

The cost for our parking area is very common. And similar to the cost of pricing in any other property within kitzbühel and the other regions

We highly appreciate and value your comments and would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback. Please rest assured that I will share your opinion with the team. We sincerely hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future to Kitzbühel.

Please let us know if we could prepaire anything to your whole setisfaction before your arrival that we can prepair matrass topper for your softer sleeping comfort or anything else for you need.

Thanks again.

Yours faithfully


Peter Prausmändtl
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Very nice hotel surrounded by pond and golf course, a little uphill from centre of Kitzbuhel. Rooms are not that big but very nicely decorated with beautiful bathroom. Not located near the slopes, you have to take mini bus to get to the ski lifts. Kitzbuhel is great place, with nice shops and restaurants, vine bars. Breakfast at A Rosa was excellent, sevice very good. For evening they can offer three different restaurants. Place worth seeing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaskaGrospic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear "DaskaGrospic",

thank you very much for your recent stay at the A-ROSA Kitzbühel and submitting us your honest feedback. We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our resort and that you had a great time in kitzbühel. Please rest assured, that we will share your great feedback with our entire staff of the A-ROSA Kitzbühel.

We really hope to welcome you back in the future to the A-ROSA Kitzbühel. Please do let us know if you plan to return to our Resort and need further any assitance at booking or reservation.

Thanks again,
all the best


Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here recently for a couple of nights whilst at a workshop. My room was spacious, I had a balcony with a lovely view of the mountains and I loved it.
The bar terrace was a great place to sit and drink a coffee whilst admiring the views.
The only negative was that there was no wifi in the rooms and I cannot connect to the internet with a cable. There is wifi in the bar area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear "KatieLondon_UK",

thank you very much for your recent stay at the A-ROSA Kitzbühel and for taking the time for submitting us your honest feedback.

We highly appreciate and value your comments and would like to thank you for sharing your friendly feedback, especially to our service. We are happy to read, that you enjoyed our atmosphere and accomontations of our Resort. Please rest assured that I will share your feedback with the team. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the nearest future to Kitzbühel.

With best regards,


Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I followed my partner here while he attended a conference. I don't ski so I was going to use my alone time to enjoy the hotel and do some work.

Much to our surprise it isn't possible to work from the room as there is NO WIFI! How can a 5 star hotel in 2014 not offer wifi in the rooms? There is a LAN connection, but most laptops these days don't come with an Ethernet port. The hotel doesn't have any USB adapters and I couldn't find any in town either. Be warned if you planned on staying connected. I'm still here - writing from the public lobby as that's the only place with wifi, but not possible to work from.

As for the rooms - we were upgraded to an executive room (419) with a view and nice sized balcony. Ask for these rooms as the lower category have no view. The rooms are starting to show their age with dirty carpets, chipped furniture, and walls that need a fresh coat of paint.

The mattresses are horribly uncomfortable and a tiny flimsy pillow is all that's provided by default. I saw a card for a pillow menu - fantastic I thought. So I ordered 2 additional pillows from the menu which are much more comfortable. These would be the standard pillows in any other "5 star" property. Well along with the pillows comes a note that says a €200 deposit PER PILLOW will be charged to my credit card. So you are treated like a common criminal just to have real pillows? Unbelievable!

In addition there is a room 'feature' that consists of a pass through window from the bath to the bedroom. Great, except for the person in bed when their partner needs to use the bathroom in the night. The way the light is angled directs the beam of light squarely on the head of the bed, waking the person up. There are some shutters that should close it, but they don't close - only aiming the beam of like more intensely on the bed.

In 2 days housekeeping has never replaced our tissues, bathrobes, or slippers. I was relaxing late in the morning in the room (11AM) with the "do not disturb" sign on the door. What does housekeeping do? Call me repeatedly to ask when I would leave so they could clean. Not 5 stars.

We tried out the restaurant Monti E Mare on the first night. The hotel was fully booked but we were the only ones dining there. Not a good sign. The waitress was kind but unpolished. We ordered wine with our meal that was poured without an option to taste at the same time as she brought our aperitifs. The food was over-salted and unimaginative. Go into the town to eat - much better options.

The positives: the staff are exceedingly friendly and good natured, the breakfast buffet is diverse and fresh, there is a free shuttle into town, and the spa area is nice. Though I don't understand why the outside part of the pool is heated but not the inside portion. So you have a bit of an uncomfortable freeze when returning inside.

If you are expecting 5 stars then there are other options. If your expectations aren't so high and you don't mind an uncomfortable bed, no Wifi and being treated like a criminal then go for it.

I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank ZRHExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear "ZHRFlyer",

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the A-ROSA Kitzbühel.
We are very sorry to read that we have unfortunately not come up to all your expectations and regret reading that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us.
We would have been more than happy to speak to you during your stay and solve some of the points you mentioned in your feedback. Unfortunately we did not have the chance for a personal conversation.
We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future and would be more than happy if you gave us the chance to contact you personally. Please do not hesitate to get in touch: gastgeber.kiz@a-rosa.de .

Me and my colleagues from the guest relations team are hoping to be in touch soon and would be very happy to once again welcome you to Kitzbühel and ensure that your next stay will be filled with many happy memories!

Yours sincerely,

Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.8 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
Hotel Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
#3 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Tirolia
Grand Tirolia
#13 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
521 reviews
0.9 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
0.4 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#15 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel

Address: Ried Kaps 7, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#3 Business Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#9 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: £176 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kitzbühel - sophisticated charm, majestic scenery.Built in the style of a Tyrolean castle, the A-ROSA Kitzbühel perches on the sunny side of the valley, surrounded by the most beautiful 9-hole golf course in Austria. The views sweep over lush greens from the Wilder Kaiser region to the famous Streif. Kitzbühel is a year-round meeting place for athlets and sports enthusiasts in search of sublime nature and international flair paired with the authentic Tyrolean lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Spa Resort a-Rosa Kitzbuehel Hotel
Grand Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing