We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, comfortable - and what a spa!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant, comfortable - and what a spa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Grand Spa Resort A-Rosa very much, and overall felt it was worth going out of our way for - and going back to. The spa was the best we've ever experienced, and we have now been to several of these around Europe.

The approach to the hotel is quite built up, with a busy road passing very close, so we were initially feeling a bit misled by the pictures of idyllic alpine scenery around the hotel and wondering if we'd made a mistake. But the turn off from the road takes you far just enough away from the quaint (yet replete with stylish shops) town of Kitzbuehel, and the hotel is positioned to face the hills and ski fields. And once we were inside the door, it was as though the rest of the world ceased to exist.

Our deluxe room on the fourth floor was beautifully quiet, spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The view from our private balcony was lovely, and we had everything we could expect and want - robes, slippers and toiletries, a wonderfully sleep-inducing bed, duvet and pillow combo, a desk and high-speed WiFi connection that actually worked, a small lounge area, an elegant bathroom with underfloor heating, twin basins, enormous shower and a separate toilet (although its frosted glass surround reduced the privacy quotient) and plenty of cupboard space.

The hotel reeks of understated luxury and has a striking atrium-style central bar area and adjacent lounges with open fires ... but this appealing space was curiously deserted throughout our stay. We found the staff a bit aloof and not always as helpful as they could have been. Also couldn't help wondering ... with the female staff being obliged to wear those slightly kitsch 'Alpine maid' style dresses, why weren't the guys in lederhosen ...?

The evening restaurant arrangements let the hotel down. Eating in on our first evening there (since we had just arrived and hadn't yet had a chance to explore the town and other alternatives) was a somewhat bizarre, confusing and disappointing experience. There were three restaurants to choose from (Italian sounded appealing but it turned out to be a few minutes walk through the garage (?!) and offered only a "fish BBQ" that evening!) but not a decent a-la-carte menu in sight! We ended up in the buffet restaurant where breakfast is served, with an 'all you can eat' arrangement (really not our style) at a fixed price of 45 euros per person .... Hmm, I suppose ravenous guests back from a day of skiing might get their money's worth, but we certainly didn't. The drink prices were sky high and the service average.

On the other hand, that same buffet at breakfast (inclusive) was sensational ... loved the fabulous range of German breads and eggs cooked to order!

We had a much better dining experience the second evening at a cosy restaurant in the town of Kitzbuehel - a great two-course meal and a bottle of wine for a fraction of the price we'd paid at the hotel the night before. We recommend venturing forth - it's only a 10 minute walk into town. The loan umbrella from the hotel came in handy.

The real drawcard here at the Grand Spa Resort A-Rosa is, as the name suggests, its spa. The facilities are superb and spotlessly clean, with a classy and relaxing ambience. Swimwear is required for the lovely indoor/outdoor pool but banned in the spa/sauna area - leave your inhibitions at the door. There's a common area adjacent to the showers that has foot baths, seating and a drinking water fountain, and a serene day bed/rest area to take it easy or read a book between bouts in the amazing range of steam rooms and saunas. Try them all - it's a fabulous way to detox, get squeaky clean and relax. You could easily while away several hours here.

This hotel has a great deal going for it and would be lovely at any time of year. We'd like to go back in winter to experience the warm yet refined ambience with snow on the other side of the picture windows ...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exactamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for taking the time to rank us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    135
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
151
317
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We have been to this Hotel exactly one year ago and we loved it back then. So we were quite disappointed that it went downhill so much within 12 months.
When we came to our room, somebody who checked if everything is ok, just left. Therefore we were quite stunned to find a glass filled with water and approx. 10 cigarettes on the balcony. I was even more stunned when I found bits of broken glass on the bathroom floor. The carpet was full of ugly stains which seemd to be there for quite some time. The same on the carpet in the aisles.
The beds are quite comfortable, the cushions and the duvets however aren't. You only get one cushion each and they are quite small and extremely flat. The same with the duvets.
We always left the room at around 10 am. One day however, when we came back at around 3 pm the room was not made up. I called Housekeeping that informed me that this is the normal procedure and rooms are not always cleaned by that time - something I never experienced before.
It unfortunately seems as this Hotel is loosing it's status and at the moment, even as the house itself is beautiful, I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddala2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for ranking us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel embodies the Austrian spirit with the quaint building lovely local attire of the staff . The hotel was immaculately kept and very modern with all the amenities.

The pool and spa were world class. We were there in late January. The pool is an indoor/outdoor with a sliding glass door leading to the outside.

The spa portion featured multiple saunas and was simply flawless but please be fore-warned that the sauna area is completely nude (the Austrians are unfazed by nudity). In fact we did not spot a single bathing suit the entire duration of our stay.

My wife and teen daughters said they would love to go back any time and we will always remember our family holiday fondly.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubie5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you very much for ranking us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We have stayed in the A-rosa last July for our wedding anniversary .. and I feel some of the reviews here do not exactly describe the LOVELY experience we had in this hotel. My main reason for choosing this hotel was that it provided air conditioning .. but let me tell you how surprised I was .. The room was very spacious .. modern .. clean.. The staff even throw roses all over the bed .. the bathroom.. the entire room filled with roses scent !!.. The staff were very polite .. sincere .. helpful ..Being there felt like home away from home..
The food was very good .. the breakfast was excellent with many choices and beautiful surroundings..

During our stay it was my husband birthday .. they figured it out buy looking to his passport.. without mentioning to them .. they throw a surprise party.. The look in my husband face was hilarious .. he thought I have arranged this.. but I did not .. which shows how thoughtful the staff are..

I am not exaggerating if I say that it was the best experience we had in Austria ..
If I am staying in Kitzbuhel again I would definitely chose A-Rosa..

Many many many thanks to all the staff for giving us such a memorable wedding anniversary .. I can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saeed84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to rank us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

a very badly managed hotel. unpleasant staff invisible management. full of mass tourists. extremely expensive and not worth the money at all. staff even lied about the snow conditions to attract. tacky decoration. kitzbuhel is a nice place but please dont go to this hotel, it is a 10 min shuttle ride to the nearest ski lift.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
thank you for ranking us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

On December 2009 we spent one week agt A-Rosa together with another family with kids. While we liked the hotel and enjoyed the great SPA, we have been dissapointed by the service almost each day we stayed there. Especially poor is the restaurant service, but we also received poor service from the sky-bus shuttle who left us waiting 40' (although driving time from hotel to the sky lift station is only 10') and from the bar & lounge waiters. Too bad for the guys who own the hotel. I would not like to be in their shoes after investing in such a great hotel infrastructure only to be spoiled by employees who have little in common with the hospitality business. Food is interesting, some time excellent, but not very diversified if stay is longer than 2-3 days. Given the poor quality of service , this hotel is not worth the money in spite of the nice rooms and great SPA.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you very much for ranking us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

The hotel is truly magnificent. It captures the authentic Austrian motif by virtue of the exterior of the structure itself, as well as the dress of many of the staff (the receptionists were wearing Dirndl dresses). The interior is what we found to be extraordinary. It was immaculately kept, very modern and sleek, with relaxed but suitable lighting.

The pool and spa were world class. We were there in early March, with snow still falling outside. The pool is an indoor/outdoor with a sliding glass door leading to the outside. One is able to swim outside with a perfect view of the mountains, in very warm comfortable water.

The spa portion featured multiple saunas and steamrooms (depending on temperature preference), and was simply flawless. Just as an FYI for non-Europeans, the Germans and Austrians are very liberal with spa attire. In fact not a single bathing suit was spotted in the 5 days we were there, for better or for worse.

It was hard to find much wrong with this hotel.. we are US travelers and a few things we noticed that were "different" from a US 5-star resort were:
-understated service (e.g. we arrived by car during normal hours and had to walk in to reception to request a bellhop.. all were very friendly but typically wouldn't help with much unless requested)
-stiff beds, mid-range thread-count sheets, and small thin pillows
-surprise charges: we were handed a newspaper every morning at breakfast, and there it was, at $4/day on our bill upon checkout
-shuttle to/from slopes.. It was pretty good for departures (left every 30 mins on the half hour, took 5-7 minutes to get to hill).. but for returns in the pm was less predictible. We ended up taking a taxi back which was much easier and was only 6 euros.

Overall, we'd go back in a heartbeat. We will remember this hotel forever.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee J, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel, responded to this review, 14 January 2016
Thank you for your ranking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
1.3 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.8 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Kaiserhof Kitzbuhel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Tirolia
Grand Tirolia
#8 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
0.4 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#14 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel

Property: A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
Address: Ried Kaps 7, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#3 Business Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#9 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kitzbühel - sophisticated charm, majestic scenery.Built in the style of a Tyrolean castle, the A-ROSA Kitzbühel perches on the sunny side of the valley, surrounded by the most beautiful 9-hole golf course in Austria. The views sweep over lush greens from the Wilder Kaiser region to the famous Streif. Kitzbühel is a year-round meeting place for athlets and sports enthusiasts in search of sublime nature and international flair paired with the authentic Tyrolean lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Spa Resort a-Rosa Kitzbuehel Hotel
Grand Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing