We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Hotel Villa Licht

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kitzbuhel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Licht
Ranked #4 of 35 Kitzbuhel B&B and Inns
Montreal
2 reviews
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Once you have stayed at the Licht it's very likely you will want to return year after year as many other guests do, making very good friends along the way. Its proximity to everything in town is a real plus. Being a B&B is also a real asset in a destination with so many wonderful and reasonable restaurants nearby. And not withstanding how exciting your day outdoors might have been it's always a pleasure to return to the hotel bar and enjoy the remarkable hospitality and personal attention. Finally where else these days would one find a place where more than just a few guests have been coming there twenty years or more. The Licht is such a place, full of atmosphere, a little jewel in one of Europe's finest resort destinations. I know as I have been a guest there more than twenty years but please only recommend to your very best friends.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2008

Primo March I stayed with my family for a week at Hotel Villa Licht.

A small, cozy hotel with relaxed-, friendly atmosphere. We found the place exceptionally welcoming and personable. It was obvious that the owner Renate Tenmann and her staff really love what they do. All those small details. We always got the impression that they all really cared about our well-being and always went out of their way to attend to our questions and requests. The place is impeccably clean, breakfast buffet of great choice, guest computer and wifi in the chillout area, etc.

Situated in a quiet area yet only 100 yards from the town center and 300 yards from the gondola that takes you up to the mountain.

All in all a highly recommendable hotel.

  • Liked — The relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Like a home away from home.
  • Disliked — No minibar. But they brought anything we wanted to the room from the bar, so it wasn't a problem.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dee025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

Villa Licht is ideally situated within walking distance (even in ski boots! ) of the Hahnenkamm ski lift station, and only 200 metres from the centre of Kitzbühel.

There is a very friendly atmosphere at Licht, and the staff is great. Especially Renate, the Manager, does everything to make the guests feel at home. The rooms are spacy and has everything you need. It is not like a luxury hotel, but more like a luxury bed and breakfast.

The breakfast buffet is good, with high quality food. Again, it is not as big as a hotel buffet with 1,000 guests but still plenty to choose from. The service is very personal, with the staff knowing if you want coffee or tea from your second morning.

Renate recommended two really good restaurants just outside Kitzbühel (transport cost €5 per person). First, there was a place called Restaurant Saukaserstube, which was a Tyrolian restaurant with high ambitions. The food was fantastic, and I was quite amazed to learn that they had 12 different vintages of Dom Perignon in their wine cellar. Second, there was a place called Gasthof Bärnbichl, a very friendly restaurant with traditional Tyrolian food. I can recommend both these places, and they are both worth the short taxi ride from central Kitzbühel.

We are likely to go back to Kitzbühel, and we would certainly stay at Villa Licht again.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — 180 Euro per couple is quite a lot
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dreyfus111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Hotel Licht is a cosy and homey B&B centrally located in Kitz. The place has kept the Tyrolean interior and hospitality tradition. The service is great, the rooms are nice, clean and worm. There are so many great details that you do not even think about, but that contribute to the cosiness of the place.
If you are on a romantic trip or with your family Hotel Licht is highly recommended, but are you an youngster looking for fun and action, then you need to fin another place.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2007

I've stayed here many times over many ears. It started off a as cheap and cheerful B&B. It is now a very comfortable B&B. Not cheap at all, but very comfortable.
There are a few family suites and 2 or 3 apartments (which Ihaven't seen). All the rooms I've had have been very snug.
Breakfast is good; cold meat, cheese, salads, breads, eggs, bacon. Te small bar is fine. Renate, who owns and runs the place, is very pleasant and efficient.
The ski boot room is warm with some kit for ski servicing.

  • Liked — Friendliness, quality of accomodation
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank theblackhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2007

Stayed at the Hotel Villa Licht in Kitzbuhel, Austria. The hotel is small and has more of the feel of a guest house or Inn. It is located less than a 2 mins walk to the town center and is an excellent location for doing everything in this region. The lady that runs (owns) the hotel is wonderful. She is so helpful, warm, friendly and willing to do whatever to make her guests happy.

The hotel has about 30 rooms with 4 or 5 suites and a couple of apartments. We stayed in a suite but the view was obscured as there was a house being remodeled behind us but that was no fault of the hotel. The room was very nice but the bathroom was very small i.e. standard european style bathroom. In fact my biggest complaint would be the bathroom. It was so small and cramped and just didn't feel that clean but then I am super picky about bathrooms. The hotel requests that all guests refrain from smoking in the rooms so that was a relief but there are common areas where it is super smokey (again, standard for Europe).

The breakfast included in the price of the room was wonderful. A large continental breakfast with everything you could ever want and more in a very nice setting. There was also a nice sitting area with a large tv and lots of movies and dvd's. A computer for use by guests and wireless internet throughout the hotel There was also a small bar and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

We tried to get into one of the fancy hotels in town but they were all fully booked and I am glad. While this place was pricey for a small hotel, it was worth the money and I would stay there again.

I would definitely want to get a suite but this time looking onto the back or the front. I would not want one of the apartments as they are in the basement, have no views and are not that big.

This is a great hotel to stay with families.

  • Liked — The Staff and the location
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Book well in advance during ski season
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CO&Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.8 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Eggerwirt
Gasthof Eggerwirt
#25 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sporthotel Reisch
Sporthotel Reisch
#10 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rasmushof Hotel Kitzbuehel
Rasmushof Hotel Kitzbuehel
#14 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Licht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Licht

Property: Hotel Villa Licht
Address: Franz-Reisch-Strasse 8, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Licht 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Licht Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing