We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all we expected!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wirtshaus am See

Wirtshaus am See
Ranked #6 of 97 Restaurants in Bregenz
Cuisines: Grill, Austrian, European, Central European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not all we expected!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited this restaurant after reading the reviews and I must say that I expected more of it!
The weather didn't help either, the restaurant hás a nice environment and is located just in front of Lake Konstanz but it was a rainy and cold day and we couldn't totally appreciate.
The food was ok but nothing that would bring me back. We ordered the Wienerschnitzel, which was ok, and the Ragout vom heimischen Reh. It was good, but the taste is quite strong, but I suppose that is how it is done.
Also we found the price a bit salty, with round 20E/person for only one drink and main course!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank _jperimfaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    168
    57
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Hats off to these guys - we were a group of 20+ and they were quick and attentive serving us despite a quite full restaurant.
Soup was excellent and fish main course was nice - big portions. The gins are very generous!
The lakeside setting was beautiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank sallysteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fast service and good price-quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

They are fast and they are friendly, food is average, the portion big and the beer is delicious,
do not expect a quite place, normally it is always crowded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kagb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
“Not particularly impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This place is by no means cheap but its location and lovely terrace were a real draw and we wanted to treat ourselves on our last night in Bregenz. Service was quite friendly and efficient but the real let-down was the food. I had the Grillteller and it was really small, especially for €14.50 - what's more: the meat was overdone! The waitress was apologetic but said there was nothing she could do. My girlfriend's Schnitzel was fine enough but did not cut the mustard when it came to price (€11.90). So for a lovely setting by all means dine here but if it's good food you're after, you'll do much better somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hednesford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We visited three times during our ten day visit. We tried all sorts of different dishes. And they were all lovely. The restaurant was close to the lake and had a great atmosphere. On each occasion the staff were friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable given the quality of the fresh cooked meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wirtshaus am See also viewed

 

Been to Wirtshaus am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing