We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but beware if booking at the "eco" rate.”
Review of Hotel Germania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Germania
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bregenz
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, but beware if booking at the "eco" rate.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We've now stayed here twice on our way to/from the Austrian alps. There is plenty of free parking in the hotel's own car park and a garage. The second time the reception argued about our on-line booking when we had selected the "eco" price. It turns out that the german-language version of the site tells you this is only valid if you arrive by train, but the english-language site does not. After a long argument they eventually allowed us to stay at the price we had paid in advance online (odd that on our previous visit we had also selected the "eco" price and nobody questioned our arrival by car). They need to sort this out. Having a long argument over a booking at reception is a bit off-putting, but apart from that the hotel was fine. Room was of a resonable size, bathroom with bath. Main niggle is liquid soap for basin and bath, latter placed much too high up for anyone taking a bath (as we did after skiing earlier in the day). Our 1st visit was on a Sunday night when the hotel's own restaurant is closed, but it's only a short walk into town (where we ate in the Kornmesser, which was good). On our 2nd visit we were a bit too tired to explore the town again so took dinner in the hotel's own restaurant - this turned out to be excellent. Buffet breakfast was also well above average.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    100
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
108
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The plan was to drive from Milan to Munich and distance was long so I've booked in Germania Hotel (one night before checking in), which was in the way. It was quick in and out (one night). However, easy to book, easy to find and it was fairly close the (A14) Highway. Staff was friendly; room was nice, clean and pretty spacious (around 30 sq.ft). I felt lucky booking in a hotel that was located in a good location, it was less that 5 minutes’ walk from the Lake Constance and 500 meters from the city center of Bregenz, which was a colorful, calm and happy city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZESHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very nice hotel!! I stayed here for a few days and it is conveniently located less than a five minuted walk to the lake and the main town area. The staff is very nice and friendly. The breakfast buffet was really quite good! The rooms are pretty decent sized, clean and nice. The walk up to my room was made extra nice by well kept gardens of fresh flowers with terrific aromas. The wifi and the parking are free yay!! Highly recommend it here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBrianne715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here one night while travelling and discovered really picturesque city and a hotel with all the conveniences. Located across the street from the park and a 5 minute walk to the center of town. Hotel is kept spotless,staff very helpful,rooms clean and a nice variety for breakfast in a cosy dining room. Additional bonus if you have a car.. lots of parking spaces some in garage some outside and all are for freee! Worth the money!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adele r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Bregenz on a rainy cold September afternoon.
The hotel Germania is conveniently located on a quiet street not far from most attractions in Bregenz.
The friendly Receptionist had upgraded us to small suit and also recommended we park our car in the hotel garage which is free.
Our room was small but comfortable.
The hotel restaurant was a welcome place on a nasty night and also has a helpful and friendly staff.The breakfast was one of the best I have experienced in hotels.
Our two night stay and our first in Bregenz was made pleasant by the Germania hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank v0yageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Good location, free parking at the hotel and good wifi connection. Clean, comfortable rooms. Very nice breakfast, which was included in room rate. Stayed here whilst in Bregenz during a busy time of year, but hotel felt calm and nothing was too much trouble. Ate locally in the Mexican restaurant nearby, which I would recommend. Lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieLouiseV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimes, France
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were coming to Bregenz for the opera on the lake and needed a confortable but not too pricey hotel within walking distance of the lakeside theatre. The Hotel Germania was a good choice. It is confortable - though air conditioning would be a nice addition - with parking, efficient staff and a more than OK restaurant for a pre-opera meal. Rooms are clean, smart and have all the essentials but are perhaps a little spartan for a longer stay.

The Opera on the lake was astounding - cirque du soleil style acrobatics meets Mozart and I am sure he would have loved the spectacle. Bregenz is a must for music lovers

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchtravelled001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bregenz
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bregenz City
Mercure Bregenz City
#3 of 16 in Bregenz
590 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzler
Hotel Schwarzler
#2 of 16 in Bregenz
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#4 of 16 in Bregenz
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bodensee
Hotel Bodensee
#7 of 16 in Bregenz
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bregenz
Ibis Bregenz
#5 of 16 in Bregenz
569 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Seehotel am Kaiserstrand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Germania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Germania

Property: Hotel Germania
Address: Am Steinenbach 9 | 6900 Bregenz, Bregenz 6900, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Bregenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bregenz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bregenz
#1 Business Hotel in Bregenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Germania 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Germania - successful.Well.Being. A home away from home... Thirty-eight stylish rooms furnished in a range of different decors await you in the Hotel Germania. From a fashionable loft-type look to welcoming rooms with a warm colour scheme - all the rooms have real wood parquet flooring and interiors using high-quality materials. Ideal for those suffering from allergies! Two sun terraces, our City Spa and a selection of excellently maintained rental bicycles are available for use in your precious free time. We will pamper you with regional treats in our restaurant with its adjacent beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Germania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germania Hotel Bregenz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing