We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Messmer am Kornmarkt
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Gunz(Bregenz)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Bregenz(Bregenz)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Gasthof Adler(Bregenz)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
30
84
31
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
84
31
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstaff were helpfulen routetrain stationpedestrian zonefree of chargestayed one nightnice breakfastnice hotellakebodensee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Overall, we loved this hotel. We went at the end of January. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were neat and clean, the beds cozy, and the bathroom quite modern. Free Wi-Fi was a plus. The restaurant dinner was truly scrumptious and the breakfast buffet substantial with lots of choices. The tricky things to deal with we easily sorted. Here they are in our opinion: To avoid the smokey bar, take the elevator to the first floor, as opposed to the stairs. The rooms were quite warm at night so we opened our window to the lovely crisp, winter air. The drainage in the shower was a little slow but we tend to use water efficiently, so that was no bother. This hotel is within convenient walking distance to the tram up the mountain, the nearby shops, the Lake Constance waterfront, and the train station. If we ever return to Bregenz, we will stay here once more. Constance Messmer (Now you can see why we stayed here!)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel -- for one night. I was supposed to be there for 7, but one was all I could take.

I am traveling through Europe, on tour with a large-scale musical production. We number just over 70 when you tot up performers, musicians, crew and sundry other staff. I "get" that it can be a bit of a benumbing experience to have us all at once, pouring off of our bus and up to the desk of the unsuspecting hotel clerks.

But that doesn't and shouldn't matter, ultimately. Far more often than not, the hotels where we've booked over the last year have more than adequately risen to the challenges of "en masse occupancy". At the absolute worst establishments where we've stayed, and the Hotel Messmer ranks right up (down?) there with them, it's not just that there facility is out of date, or they don't have services that they claim to have in their advertising (more on that in sentence or two) -- it's that management and staff react to these inadequacies by embracing them; they have a passion for saying "no", and "that is not possible".

"Free wifi". This is what they advertise. It is 1/2 correct, for as there really IS no wifi, you do not have to pay for it. We were told, with a very chilly attitude by management, that the system does not support more than 50 people at one time. With a straight face, they just told that to the roughly 72 people who just checked into their hotel. Other hotels more have internet infrastructures in place that can more than capably handle all customers in the hotel, even if all customers are online at the same time. Imagine checking into a hotel in the late 1950's or early 1960's (where this hotel, by the way, seems stuck in terms of decor and furnishings), having selected your hotel largely on the basis of their advertising "free television", only to be told when you inquire as to the absence of a tv in your room, "oh, not in EVERY room".

But at least my room was cold. Gotta love a nice, freezing room when traveling through Austria in the dead of winter. And that charming "ashtray funk" that permeates every nook and cranny of this fine establishment only adds to the hotel's "retro" charm.

If that's not enough to entice you to drop everything and book a suite immediately, at no extra charge one receives a very thoughtful jackhammer wake-up call at 8 a.m. That advertised sauna in which you were so looking forward shvitzing away the stresses of life on the road? Well, that's undergoing repairs, and can't possibly be ready for use during your stay. But enjoy the noise!

I left the hotel the next morning. Checked into the newish Ibis in town, where the wifi works, the rooms are clean and odor-free, and while they don't offer a sauna, one is left with the impression that if they did, you could trust that it would work. Avoid the Messmer at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This centrally located hotel was very comfortable . The only drawback was lack of air conditioning . This could be a problem depending on the weather.Breakfast was very good.. The beds were typical with a comforter and no top sheet. Bathroom was small with very small shower.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank wino873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Neat and clean rooms. Though the hallways smelt of cigarette smoke the rooms themselves were fine. Breakfast is well provisioned and good. Location is excellent with the mall, town square, restaurants and most Bregenz attractions within a short walk. Downside of the proximity to all is that you share in all the late night goings-on: streetside rooms can be noisy. Friendly service. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a quite room, away from the street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I love this hotel.

Spotlessly clean, great sized rooms and fab food in a lovely restaurant and bar area.

The breakfast buffet was huge and catered for all possible tastes.

I defy anyone to find fault with this hotel – it’s just comfortable and great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinHide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews