We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mood”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was there for 2 weeks as a business trip. In general it's good hotel. My room was so small but comfortable. Breakfast was good and enjoyable with good staffs. main problem was that I have no WIFI in my room as just some of rooms have this facility.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with WIFI if you needed otherwise just you can connect in lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank payam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Baeren turned out to be an excellent choice. Excellent position a few hundred yards from the station, five minutes' walk from the centre (for supper, etc), and only two minutes from the bus stop for Liechtenstein. Pleasant room and comfortable bed, good breakfast, friendly people. Next time I'm in Feldkirch I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Breakfast ok, room poor, one window whitch look up on a wall., on the main road so quit noisy.
No airco. No posibility to have diner. Close to city center so you can go to a local restaurant. There no airco, also no second pilow availebel.

Room Tip: Search for something else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja R, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Mr. V. Peter, thank you for your rating. As you were unsatisfied about the room we would like to point out, that our hotel has two different categories. The category "ALPINE" with sound proofed windows in which was your room is in a quite reasonable price range for a hotel directly in the center which lends itself especially for a one night stop over and our category "BUSINESS" which offers more comfort like quiet, bright rooms to the backyard, some with balcony and also free WIFI connection in the room. Concerning the extra pillow we would have been pleased to assist you but unfortunately you did not let us know. We would be pleased welcoming you again here with us, trying a room in our Business category, to improve your opinion about our hotel and service! Kind regards from Feldkirch - the Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I chose the Baren because I was on a tight budget. It's close to the town centre, and 10 minutes from the railway station, so for convenience it's great. However, it's at the junction of four arterial roads into Feldkirch. When it opened, it would have been a prime location, but today it's adjacent to a very busy intersection with articulated lorries, revving motor bikes sitting at traffic lights and cars with their music up full blast. I had a room called an Alpine room I think it was called, and I had a great view of the traffic. Being a light sleeper, I don't know how many times I woke up during the night. The window is double-glazed, but I'm guessing it's usually closed by guests because of the noise - the room came with a large electric fan should you be forced to keep your window closed in summer. There are web pictures of an idealic setting outside the hotel. Be warned, this -was- their outdoor restaurant area, now closed, and it's not actually on the the street, but behind a wall. I can't think of a worse place to try and have a relaxing meal because of the traffic noise. No wonder their restaurant is closed now. Otherwise the buffet breakfast was filling and tasty, the rooms comfortable. Business rooms have free wi-fi but my room, being at the cheaper end of the range, had none, and I had to use the public areas downstairs. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's just a shame this grand hotel suffers from the traffic noise so much.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, and not one facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paisley_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel was fairly close to the train station, just a short walk and also very close to the town centre, sights, bus stops etc. The Alpine room we stayed in was lovely, very charming and large in size, so very comfortable in that regard. At most times of year the double glazed windows would be excellent, they really block out the noise from the main road (which is right outside the window, you could almost touch the trucks and cars) but we visited when the weather was very hot, so had the windows open and it was really loud. But don't let that put you off as in winter there would be no issue. Our room overlooked a small church and watching the twilight from the room window was very enjoyable. The room and bathroom are older in style but comfortable. The bath we had was fantastic for after sightseeing soaking. The local mineral water provided free (a bottle a day per person) was a nice touch and welcome in the hot weather we had. using the wifi in the lobby area was great (a shame it is not available in all of the rooms).

Breakfast was fantastic, a lot of choices, friendly staff, and a nice atmosphere.

We would stay again.

Room Tip: For summer a room at the back may be better, but any other time when you can keep the windows closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegi_table
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We only spent a night there, but thought it was a perfectly nice hotel, in a great location and with friendly staff.

Location
Location was perfect for us. Only a 5 minute walk from the train station, and right next to the old city (which in itself is quite small).

Rooms
We had a large double room, with old-fashioned furniture and decorations. We thought it was quite charming! The beds were comfortable. The room was quiet and we felt very well rested the next morning.

Breakfast
Plentiful and varied, including cheeses, hams, spreads, yogurt and jams. It looked like you could also order eggs directly from the waitress, although I am not 100% sure about that.

While the overall design of the hotel looked a bit dated, it had certain charm to it. I liked it, especially considering how very well-priced it was compared to many other options we've looked at in Feldkirch. Given that the location just could not be better for our purposes (we wanted proximity both to the train station and the old city), we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alenchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was a very lovely and charming hotel with lots of character. The rooms were very big and comfortable. The staff was nice and friendly. They even reduced the rate of our room when they found out there were only two of us in a triple room! And the location is excellent, right by the beautiful old town centre. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann_2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feldkirch
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard
1.8 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#1 of 6 in Feldkirch
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gutwinski Hotel
Gutwinski Hotel
#2 of 6 in Feldkirch
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Loewen
Central Hotel Loewen
#6 of 6 in Feldkirch
91 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Mohren
Hotel Restaurant Mohren
#2 of 2 in Rankweil
42 reviews
3.5 mi away
Landgasthof Rossle
Landgasthof Rossle
#2 of 2 in Ruggell
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 1, Feldkirch 6800, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Feldkirch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Price Range: £75 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Baren is just a 2-minute walk away from the historic centre of Feldkirch, and 400 metres for the main train station. It offers rooms with spacious bathrooms, and a free spa and fitness area. Wi-Fi is available in public areas and in some rooms free of charge. A free bottle of mineral water is provided in your room each day. Rooms facing the street come with soundproofed windows. Hotel Baren features a lobby with a bar, a TV room, and a smoking room with a library, as well as spacious seminar rooms, a sauna, a steam bath, and an underground car park. Liechtenstein and Switzerland are just 3 km from the Hotel Baren and can be reached quickly. The main bus station is just 150 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing