We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price and big place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Feldkirch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Feldkirch
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great price and big place!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the past two nights, we booked a private room which was just one of the 7 bunk rooms with no one else in there. It was a bit weird but €70 for 2 people for 2 nights was pretty great! We mainly stayed here to do a little in Feldkirch and a day in Liechtenstein, which worked out great! The bus and train station is only 10 minutes walk from the hostel and the bus to Liechtenstein is really beautiful! The hostel is across from a large hill with a wildlife park on top it only took us about 25/30 minutes to walk up it and the view is amazing from the top! The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms are separate men and women's: really new and clean, the guest kitchen was large, the backyard is beautiful and we loved the price! My only comments would be to have a better label for your food system, free towels and the wifi is only in the one room on the ground floor. Apart from that I really recommend the place!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clairealicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
12
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It is an excellent youth hostel. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, characterful building, really decent breakfast, convenient location. Tiny room but comfortable and the shared bathroom was clean with good showers.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

On our stay this was our cheapest accommodation and it shows. The biggest issue was that there were NO towels included! We had to use the linen for drying us up! The distance from the station was walkable, but a bit longish - though there are frequent buses. Breakfast was not included but the extra price was worth it, as it was fairly good. I guess nobody had cleaned our room in a while. However, the lady at checkin was very nice and helpfull. You get what you pay for, as they say.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gzumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
500 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

20 mins walk from the station, along regular bus routes for the town centre. It has been a great location for cycling daytrips, as there are excellent and challenging rides in any direction.

The staff is exceptionally helpful, breakfast is a good selection. Private rooms are good value. Only downsides are that there is a lot of road noise if you're in a dorm facing the road on the first floor. Also, school groups are common. A good 20-25 minute walk to the centre, on a heavily trafficked road, so if this bothers you there are (much) more expensive options downtown.

Overall, an excellent hostel, and a charming old building next to a landmark church. Allegedly was a leper colony several centuries ago! It certainly has some creepy cellars and tunnels down below, its well worth reading about the history of the building and is a historical students dream, please ask the staff about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnretroreload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Fisrt of all I have to say that I enjoyed my stay in this hostel, but what in the last day was unacceptable. I was mistreated when I tried to check out. The guy, who was sleeping started yelling at me asking if I knew what time it was and if I could read because there was a sign saying it was sleeping time. Guests don't care if it's time to sleep. A hostel should be more prepared to deal with people. We pay for it. IT'S NOT A FAVOR. Other thing was the lack of knowledge about the city. No useful information was made. Anyway, I would not recomend a place where I was mistreated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 555Matt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

As the title says I thought this hostel was fantastic. It's a short walk up from the train station and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I was in a 10 bed dorm and the beds were very comfy and you got your own locker. The room was quite small and a bit dark but nothing terrible.
The bathrooms seem very new and are very clean. The kitchen is likewise kept clean and there is even a shelf of complimentary food and drink.
There are lots of common areas to chat to people although when I was there the guests kept themselves to themselves a bit.
It's a beautiful old building, just don't be put off by the dungeon looking passage next to the front door!

Room Tip: It's a great place to stay if you want to visit Liechtenstein but there isn't a lot there. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moustasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feldkirch
1.0 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 6 in Feldkirch
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#1 of 6 in Feldkirch
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Central Hotel Leonhard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gutwinski Hotel
Gutwinski Hotel
#2 of 6 in Feldkirch
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hoher Freschen
Hotel Hoher Freschen
#2 of 2 in Rankweil
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel Blumel
Motel Blumel
#5 of 10 in Feldkirch
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Feldkirch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Feldkirch

Property: Hostel Feldkirch
Address: Reichsstrasse 111, Feldkirch 6800, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Feldkirch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Feldkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Feldkirch 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where else could you be ten minutes from the principality of Liechtenstein, twenty minutes from Heidi land, forty minutes from Lake Constance, and thirty to fifty minutes from some of Europe's best ski resorts (St. Anton am Arlberg, Lech, Montafon, Brand, Laterns, Malbun...), where Ernest Hemingway used to hike and ski? Even James Bond came to town (well, parts of the new film were being filmed here)!Where else but Feldkirch? Itself a beautiful town steeped in history, complete with its castle saved by a dog, traditional street-market selling traditional foods such as sausages (for the dog), and a hostel in a recently renovated medieval building (in documents from 1362 the building was described 'as having been in existence for a long time').Located within walking distance from the railway station and local hills, and just a short bus ride or pleasant walk to the town centre, our 700-year-old hostel is steeped in its own history and we'll go out of our way to make you feel at home.Services and facilities:Lounge room Internet accessFully equipped kitchen for self cateringGame roomCable TV (international channels)LaundryTourist informationKey card for freeSki roomBBQ facilitiesFree parking for cars, busses and bikes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Feldkirch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing