We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Hotel Loewen
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average Experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I don't understand why this hotel has a four star rating.

The positives: The rooms are extremely large, and comfortable. Reception was cheerful and helpful upon checking in. It is very well located and the view of the street below is beautiful.

The negatives: Reception is not 24 hours, in fact, it was unmanned from roughly 10:30pm. We encountered problems with our internet from our room at 11pm and therefore had no means of contacting the staff.
The internet is outrageously expensive, and problematic - it dropped out several times. Also, MAKE SURE you write down the username/password as you cannot re-login without these details, and once offline, there is no way to access them.
We were turned away from the hotel restaurant at 9pm with barely any explanation.

Most three star hotels will have 24 hour reception and better amenities - for the price we paid, I was expecting a great deal more than we got.
I would only recommend this hotel if you are not interested in using internet and simply need somewhere well located to base yourself - but even then, I'm sure you could find something cheaper.

Room Tip: Whether you're a smoker or not, if you request a 'smoking room', there is no trace of ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazlefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    23
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
13
31
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel is within walking distrance to the train in Feldkirch. There are many shops and places to eat within walking distance. The room was spacious and the bathroom was modern and a good size with a stand-up shower. The breakfast was very good with eggs, bacon, several kinds of meat, cereals, bread, fruit, etc. The only drawback was the loud noise on the street at the back of the hotel from the restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room that overlook a small courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golferkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We were travelling with a bus group which was booked into this hotel. The hotel seems to cater mostly to groups. The rooms were very basic, but adequate. Our tour included a buffet dinner and breakfast, both of which were quite standard fare, edible but nothing to write home about. The best thing about the hotel is the central location, directly on the pedestrian zone in Feldkirch. I would recommend this hotel only for stays of one or two nights, and would probably not book it unless with a tour group. There are many lovelier and more comfortable hotels in the area when travelling privately.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyhoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Our group stayed in this hotel on the last night of a tour of Austria and Switzerland. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless, very comfortable beds and great shower in the bathroom. Very nice evening meal and great buffet breakfast in a very nice, bright and airy dining room. Feldkirch is a lovely town with cobbled streets and the church is beautiful. Well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CdeVilleSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We had a really lovely time at this hotel. The staff were wonderful, helpful and polite.
The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable.The food was excellent. A choice of cereals, hot or cold foods.
The hotel was situated within the beautiful old town of Feldkirch.
We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryroseUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Feldkirch is a lovely mediaeval town very close to the border with Liechtenstein. On the main road towards Innsbruck, close to the 'Altstadt' is the Central Löwen Hotel. I have stayed there 3 times recently, each time escorting a group, and it seems that the hotel features with many group agencies.
Standards are reasonable, though it is surprising that a hotel that receives many English-speaking guests cannot provide even one English language channel on theoir TVs. Rooms are pleasant with very clean bathrooms, but under-staffing can be a problem When my clients came down for dinner, there was nobody at the bat to serve drinks, and when I went to Reception to do something about it, there was nobody there either.
Breakfast, though, is exceptional, with bacon and scrambled egg. The restaurant is large, but I did not see anyone dining there other than groups. Bar prices are reasonable., and there are many bars close by (which can lead to noise at night if you have a room at the rear.
Overall, not bad, but I just feel they could do a bit more.
Car parking at the hotel and just over the road. Innsbruck is 1 hour 50 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Our foursome was very pleased with Central Loewen Hotel in Feldkirch. It was easy to locate on arrival by car with convenient parking. Our receptionist was very helpful. Stepping out the back door led us directly into the historic town center. An excellent restaurant was a short walk away (we ate there both nights of our stay). The rooms were very comfortable and there was a large and very good breakfast buffet. This hotel is an excellent choice for exploring the area. Susan

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feldkirch
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 6 in Feldkirch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard
0.1 mi away
Gutwinski Hotel
Gutwinski Hotel
#2 of 6 in Feldkirch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#1 of 6 in Feldkirch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Hoher Freschen
Hotel Hoher Freschen
#2 of 2 in Rankweil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montfort das Hotel
Montfort das Hotel
#1 of 10 in Feldkirch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Loewen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Loewen

Property: Central Hotel Loewen
Address: Schlossgraben 13, Feldkirch 6800, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Feldkirch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Loewen 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Loewen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing