We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Room are good size compared to other hotels I've experienced in Europe. Breakfast buffet is generous but costs extra (16 euros). Short walking distance to old section of town dating to 1200s and castle, which serves fantastic streusel.

Room Tip: Close to old area of town and in walking distance to several restaurants and shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    52
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
12
38
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a fairly typical Best Western. Check in staff were excellent and helpful during our stay. The lobby however was very smoky. Our room was large and quiet. Temperature control was ok but not silent. Location is close to everything. We walked there from the train which took about 20minutes. It would be very easy to drive to. There is a super market in the basement of the building next door with a cafeteria.

Room Tip: Smoking permitted in restaurant in lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2468933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a Christmas package run by Leger Holidays. The rooms were spacious and clean, air conditioned and no problem with heating. Bathrooms well appointed. Buffet breakfast was good, catering for all tastes. Buffet dinners were OK, but a bit repetative (maybe individual guests do better on A la Carte menu). Christmas dinner was very good, but had been organised by Leger (not a traditional Austrian meal for Christmas. Bar area is fine, but is used as an eating area, which can make finding a seat difficult, but no problem later in the evening. Very close to the town centre, so no problem walking there. No stairs to use instead if lifts (which we found odd) and the lifts could be slow.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_in_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel operates an over-booking policy, meaning that it sells more reservations than available rooms. Therefore, in busy periods, it is possible that you may be moved to a different hotel with no advance notice. This was the case for a reservation which I made in October 2013 for a one night stay in December 2013.

On arrival I was told to go to the Central Hotel Loewen and that there were no more rooms available at the Best Western. The Central Hotel Loewen is a rather basic hotel directly on the main road. Although the room price was adjusted accordingly, this did not make up for the fact that my original reservation was not held good.

It was nevertheless still possible to use the facilities at the Best Western, and one positive point is that the swimming pool was quite nice (the addition of some magazines and newspapers would improve the pool-side relaxation area).

I stay several times per year at 4 and 5 star hotels in Central Europe (France, Germany, Italy, Austria, Switzerland) and this was the first time I have encountered such an unsatisfactory situation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Feldkirch hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stopped here for a night on a trip through the alps and found it good enough for what we wanted. Although our booking said parking was available at the hotel they were having work done so it was closed. There is however a carpark just down the road opposite but you still have to pay. Overall a generic chain hotel with good location for the town and close to main transport routes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

+ LOCATION
The Best Western is located next to the picturesque old town area of Feldkirch. Although it looks quite unattractive from the outside the rooms’ interior is inviting.
If you do business in Liechtenstein, Feldkirch is the perfect location for your accommodation if you have a car/rental car.
In contrary to Vaduz Liechtenstein, Feldkirch is scenic and offers plenty of restaurants, bars, and activities. From the hotel you can walk along Ill River or hike up to the town’s ‘Wildpark’, a sanctuary for local species such as eagles, owls, different deer, wolves, and more. Moreover the historic ‘Schattenburg’ (castle) is just around the corner.

+STAFF
The staff is super friendly and attentive and made you feel welcome 24/7.

+/- ROOMS
The rooms are modern, bright and come with a spacious bathroom. However, you should know that the Best Western splits the rooms into smoking and non-smoking, which they do not advertise!!! We ended up in a smoking room. We realized the light but unpleasant smell but it took us one day to figure that there would have been non-smoking rooms as well. By then the smell was finally gone since we vented the room a lot. However, I would have appreciated a more open communication by the hotel about the room choice!

- OTHERS
If you stay at the Best Western prepare for some extra costs, which in my opinion are too steep for the area. Parking is around EUR 11 per day (public parking garage next to the hotel) and breakfast is EUR 15! The latter is a joke compared to other accommodations in Feldkirch that include breakfast for a similar rate!

Another pain was the lift. Even if there was no traffic it took forever until you were able to catch one lift. Moreover, only one of them accesses the parking garage…

Overall, the Best Western can be recommended since other hotels in old town are located next to the noisy main arteries Schlossgraben or Bahnhofsstrasse. Moreover their interior is quite old-fashioned.

+ located next to picturesque old town and castle
+ close to restaurants and hiking trails
– parking fee (EUR 11)
- expensive breakfast (EUR 15 per person)
- smoking rooms

Average room rate: EUR 125 for 2.
Credit cards accepted.

Room Tip: There is a huge construction site next door (summer 2013). Ask for a high floor not facing the site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

stayed here as company assigned the hotel for me but nevertheless the set up is nice. previously stayed here in 2008 but that time it was Holiday Inn Hotel.
the hotel is near to most of necessity and there is a convenience store located just at ground level.
i myself just walked from the train station to the hotel, enjoying the city view along the way.
walking distance to bus station as i board bus to go to Schaan and there's a lot of Kebab places around the hotel if you need any Halal food.
the town itself in medieval setting provides a lot of information and another perspective compare to Zurich.
pricing is OK but then company paid for it ;p
breakfast was good with plenty of choices but they doesn't rotate the menu so after a few day stays, it becomes boring.
Best Western is a hotel franchise but no hotel are identical so i think i will try to stay at all of their hotel...

Room Tip: ask the one that facing the Platz (plaza) nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IbrahimRabani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feldkirch
0.1 mi away
Gutwinski Hotel
Gutwinski Hotel
#2 of 6 in Feldkirch
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 6 in Feldkirch
147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#1 of 6 in Feldkirch
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Loewen
Central Hotel Loewen
#6 of 6 in Feldkirch
85 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kommod
Kommod
#1 of 2 in Ruggell
18 reviews
7.0 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard

Property: Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard
Address: Leonhardsplatz 2, Feldkirch 6800, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Feldkirch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feldkirch is a medieval town in the far west of Austria and is a town for People who like to enjoy life. In a fascinating and many-sided way, she presents herself at the Meeting Point of four nations, with her neigbours Switzerland, Liechtenstein and Germany. Whether you are on Holiday, on Business, organizing a Seminar etc., we have the appropriate surroundings. Enjoy your stay in the perfext town domicile with Special ambience. We are looking Forward to welcome you soon! Your Central Hotel Leonhard Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing