We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Experience, Loved it”
Review of Gutwinski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gutwinski Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Certificate of Excellence
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Perfect Experience, Loved it”
Reviewed 16 October 2008

The Alpenrose was perfect! We stayed in Room 27 on the third floor which was very new. Especially the bathroom - gorgeous. Plasma sceen TV and great bedding. Even a chocolate on my pillow. The breakfast was excellent and served in the pretty little dining room. What I loved most was the location - right in the heart of the old town. You have to drive down a narrow cobblestone street/alley to get to the hotel which makes it seem like a hidden gem. There is a large, secure parking lot for guests. We really enjoyed walking around the old town, it is a great city. We were looking for a romantic, European hotel that would not break our budget and this was perfect.
(we paid 120Euro for double room). Though this listing says it is a 2 star hotel, the sign on the door said it was a 4 star. Also good to note was that the lobby and restaurant were very nice and welcoming. And the hotel desk staff was very friendly. Only complaint might be that our room was bit noisy in the morning- it is hard for cars/carts to be quiet on a the cobblestone street outside.

  • Liked — Location and European charm
  • Disliked — A bit noisy
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    45
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
45
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

A very traditional Austrian , non commercialised family run hotel . Make sure you get one of the "refurbished" rooms , as they are very good . The older rooms are as you would expect , spotlessly clean but the style is showing its age . The hotel is full of character , and the staff great . The food in the restautant is fantastic , and hard to fault , good value and totally fresh , great wine list too .
Feldkirsh is super little town , great for travel to switzerland etc etc , but you will need to rent a car .. the hotel will arrange this for you too .

  • Liked — Very clean and a good size , great bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChasE-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We spent one night here, the previous night in Meersburg, the following night in Innsbruck. The hotel was very nice, and right in the center of town. To get to the hotel by car, we had to navigate through a very narrow street, but there was parking available in a nearby parking area. The reception is very nice, we noticed quite a few folks eating downstairs, and decided we would eat here for dinner - a wise choice. The rooms were nice, a little roomier than most of the rooms on our self directed European tour. It was an easy walk to the Schattenburg castle - which was a wonderful tour. They also serve lunch in the castle - which was good. We took a short drive to Liechtenstein - to say we had been there. We saw the castle there from a distance. The king resides there, and there are no tours. Had a bottle of wine in the nice garden at the Alpenrose before dinner. Very enjoyable.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DieterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We were driving and being it is in the pedestrian part of town and was hard to find. There are signs pointing the direction. I think the probablem was we were following MapQuest and got confused. There is a parking lot across the way from the hotel with spaces reserved for hotel guests. The restaurant is very nice and the hotel staff is plesant and helpful. Our room was #26 on the 3rd floor in back without a view but was large with a bath and closet space. The building is said to date back to 1550, one of the reasons for choosing this one in the first place. There is an elevator.

  • Liked — Historic
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N6JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

This lovely townhouse hotel strikes all the right notes. Quiet, refined, family run since the 15th century, located on a quiet corner in the medieval section of Feldkirch. It combines the charm of an old house with the state of the art bathrooms without losing any character.

This feels more like a home than a hotel. My room was decorated with exquisite antiques, very large, and overlooked the garden and Linden tree where dinner is served in the summer months. I particularly loved the blue chinz curtains and matching upholstery. Overall, very calming.

My room was only 76 euros for a single, perhaps the best value in Austria. Do not miss the 13th century castle, one of the best in Austria.

  • Liked — the refinement
  • Disliked — that I couldn´t stay longer
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Adlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

First, this is probably not for someone desiring 21st Century soul-less urban hotels or hotel chains. This is "old" Europe -- clean, aesthetic, charming, and friendly. On a quaint, quiet alley/street in old Feldkirch. Lovely.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GenevaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2007

Well located in old town of Feldkirch, down a very narrow lane. Parking available in open car park across road for small cost. Room clean and tidy. Breakfast was usual European cold buffet, but set in an elegant dining room. Not cheap compared with other equivalent places we`ve stayed at throughout Europe, but it was New Years Eve.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bit expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay attention to hotel directions otherwise difficult to find - need to turn left to pass between cathedral and Hotel Post
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SAGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feldkirch
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 6 in Feldkirch
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#1 of 6 in Feldkirch
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Loewen
Central Hotel Loewen
#6 of 6 in Feldkirch
85 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Mohren
Hotel Restaurant Mohren
#2 of 2 in Rankweil
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gutwinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gutwinski Hotel

Property: Gutwinski Hotel
Address: Rosengasse 4-6, Feldkirch 6800, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Feldkirch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gutwinski Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gutwinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Feldkirch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing