We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy, comfortable - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Rooms Hotel Vienna
Ranked #53 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Roomy, comfortable - great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We booked a room through late-rooms and were so impressed with the service, the room and the location. Public transport on the doorstep, interesting and delicious restaurants and eateries nearby. The room was so clean, quiet and tastefully decorated with a near-new bathroom and charming windows out to the street below. Breakfast was like most b&b's - plentiful, fresh and a good choice. We stayed 3 nights and were so surprised and delighted with Vienna - an amazing and beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilloandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    31
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
35
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We were planning to stay only a few nights but enjoyed City Rooms so much that we changed our plans and remained here for over a week.

The staff is incredibly attentive and helpful. They were always very gracious in helping with directions and trying to think of small ways to make our stay more enjoyable. They even had a key made so we could let ourselves into the dining room kitchen at night and use the refrigerator. The location is nearby many trams and stores, not far from the museum district and underground subway.

Rooms are very beautiful - we were lucky to get room #22 that had a balcony, king bed, heaps of extra space, cafe table, desk and large cupboard.

The price is also very competitive...we emailed the day before we came and asked for their best price, which was 79 Euros per night, which is absolutely fantastic for such a lovely room.

Breakfast is included and very nicely done - you can tell the staff take a lot of pride in their work and pay attention to details. It is continental + soft boiled eggs and small goods, great cheeses, cucumber and tomatoes.

We are on a one year trip and have been literally living in hotels and this is one of our very best hotel experiences.

Our room had its own wifi internet connection, no charge, four bars, high speed, that was NEVER out of service...our travel dream come true!

Room Tip: Write the hotel directly in advance and ask for what you need and their best price rather than going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We chose City Rooms as our base whilst visiting Vienna from reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not let down. The location was excellent with all the main attractions only a short tram ride away. The staff were helpful and gave good advice on where to eat locally and sites we should visit and the continental breakfast was very good, I can only liken it to having your own apartment and was a vast improvement on hotel rooms you normally encounter at bland hotels chains.

I would definitely recommend City Rooms if you’re visiting Vienna, I wish other European cities had similar accommodation at such an affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyPS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

An excellent accommodation at an affordable place. We found it on Expedia and we were more than satisfied. It is located at approximately 10 minutes from the Rathaus (by foot), so most of the interesting places of the Inner City are reachable for people not afraid to walk. For other destination, situated at a more distant location, trams and U-Bahn (subway) are quite close too (but even Schonbrun is at about 6 km...Vienna is not huge!). The “City Rooms” is situated in an old Vienna `s building, so the rooms are very large, with high ceilings and a lot of space. But the ambiance is modern, the rooms, nicely and functionally furnished, you have a fan, a flat screen with a lot of TV programs, a minibar…etc. Rooms are regularly cleaned; girls at the reception are very nice and helpful. I red smth about the noise…yes, from the street, during the day, you can be bothered by some noise if you stay with the window open…like in any other big city. But during the night it’s very silent. Yes, neighbours can be a problem…soundproof-ness is not at all perfect in these old buildings…as I said before…don’t forget your ear ploughs! Overall, even for an easy sleeper like me, it was more than ok. At the windows they have now window-blinds that keep the sun away (look between the windows!!!), so in the morning you can sleep as late as you want. Breakfast mediocre, but it works (except the coffee, but maybe I’m too picky). Ah I forgot the wifi...internet worked very well.

Room Tip: Room 11 is more quiet, it`s located at first floor, at the end of the corridory
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corinaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We recommend City Rooms as a great place to stay in Vienna. It is located over 3 floors in an unremarkable building in the university area and the Zentrum is within easy walking distance. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was spacious with an en-suite, electric fan, TV set and plenty of cupboard space. Our windows overlooked a quiet street, so noise was not a problem. Breakfast was served from 7am till 11am in the breakfast room on the 1st floor and was plentiful and tasty. The lift was a useful amenity as my husband had injured his knees and walking on stairs was painful. Reception was open till 7pm daily, and staff were helpful and friendly and spoke English. We were able to use the internet to check our email. There is a Spanish restaurant just around the corner where an excellent Sangria was served, and a major shopping centre just down the street with a supermarket. For comfort, convenience and centrality at a reasonable price City Rooms is excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMZMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I liked the staff and the room were nice and clean butt you could hear the kitchen downstairs and the noise from the alley in the back. I was up for hours until the kitchen closed. You could also hear the elevator and the other customers in the hallway. The breakfast could also be better. It is nice and close to the city center but would not stay here again. The price is good but would rather pay more and get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxinjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

The staff was cordial, young, positive, exceptionally helpful and friendly. A very good breakfast was available until 11 am (usually hotels close up shop at 10!). The location, in the University district, is close to the Rathaus and to city centre (tram few steps from hotel, subway 10 min walk). There are a lot of restaurants, cafes and small shops...

Daungasse 1/6-7, Vienna 1080, Austria

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DesislavaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#208 of 360 in Vienna
238 reviews
Josefstadt
Korotan Hotel
Korotan Hotel
#240 of 360 in Vienna
118 reviews
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#150 of 360 in Vienna
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Josefstadt
Hotel Arpi
Hotel Arpi
#301 of 360 in Vienna
83 reviews
Wieden
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 4
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 4
#233 of 360 in Vienna
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Rooms Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Rooms Hotel Vienna

Property: City Rooms Hotel Vienna
Address: Daungasse 1/6-7, Vienna 1080, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Rooms Hotel Vienna 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you at our guesthouse City Rooms. Our house offers 21 modernly furnished rooms and is situated in the 8th district of Vienna (very close to city center).Every room is equipped with a separate bathroom and toilet. A hair dryer is integrated in every bathroom. A modern flat-screen-TV equipped with cable-TV connection is standardized in every room as well. In the safe you can keep your valuables securely stored. Telephone in the room is upon request respectively the reception is pleased to make short calls for you.In the whole area of CityRooms you have access to the free high-speed WLAN/WiFi.Please note, that all our rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Rooms Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing