We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we can recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Scala Appartment Hotel
Ranked #87 of 115 Vienna B&B and Inns
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    6
    14
    10
See reviews for
16
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at La Scala Apartments in Vienna for 5 nights from July 30 till August 4, 2013. The room was pretty spacious for two people with a door opening into small garden. The room was pretty well equipped with a kitchenette with all necessary utensils, some cooking ingredients (salt, pepper, olive oil and vinegar), crockery, glasses, a jug, wine glasses, knives, cutting boards, an electric cooktop with two burners, a dishwasher, a small refrigerator, an electric kettle and an electric chimney. The only thing missing was a microwave oven, which would have helped. The bathroom was clean, well designed with a nice shower enclosure and liquid soaps, shampoos and body lotion. There was a small 2-seater table with two chairs next to the window, a king size bed with side tables and lamps. There was a 30 inches TV, but the only English Channel playing was CNN and hence it was of no use to us. The wardrobe was a bit old and couldn't be locked and there were not enough hangers. There was an electronic safe in the wardrobe. Cleanliness was not up to the mark too. When we got in, the floors were very dusty. We had requested the manager to get the floor cleaned while we were away, but it was not done. The last day we spotted a large spider too on one of the walls. But the real issue here was the lack of an electric fan or air-conditioning in the room. During our stay, temperatures in Vienna soared way above 30 degrees Celsius and it was very hot in the rooms. The nights were very uncomfortable and we did not have proper sleep. Also, there is an unreasonable paranoia about light and sound in the late evenings. The first day we came back pretty late (around 10PM) from the city and were chatting in pretty low voices in the room. Because of the heat we had left the door to the garden open and the curtains were pulled apart. At around 12 midnight we got a call from the manager that there was disturbance and we should either be quiet or close the door and pull the curtains so that not sound and light goes out. Apparently someone had complained! We were pretty annoyed by this since closing the door was not an option, it being absolutely hot inside and we wanted to talk about the day and plan for the next. We ended up talking in whispers, but this incident made our stay a bit unpleasant. The manager was apologetic later about the call and said that he did not want to offend us, but apparently the residents living in the area are very fussy about noise and light after 10PM in the night. Also, except for the manager, not a single person in the staff could speak a word in English (or any other language for that matter besides their own). This made communication a bit of an issue. The location was pretty good though. It was very close (5 min walk) from the Renweg train station which falls in the train route to the airport from the city. Also, it was a 15 minutes tram ride from the city centre. So I would think this place is okay for elderly couples traveling without children, but not for travellers looking to make some merry after they are back in their hotel rooms after a day in town. And definitely not in the peak of summers!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parthosarathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The room was great and clean. It had a kitchen counter with some appliances. The bathroom was modern and great.
They e-mailed us the code for the main gate, and when we got in we found our room with the key. The only conversation we had with a staff, was a big problem. It occured during our checkout, even though we said we will pay cash during checkout, the manager said they already charged it to the credit card which we used for reservation. When we wanted to object, he just walked away.
The hotel is located 5 mins walk to the tram station. You can easily get to the center of Vienna within half an hour.
In the end, it is a great value. Just keep in mind to read the tiny instructions while booking your room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainb0wyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed 1 week over February half term at this reasonably priced appartment block. It was warm, very quiet and ideal to explore Vienna! Why? You are 200 metres from Rennweg station, (a few stops from the the Vienna Airport) and also the 77A bus, the O and 71 Trams and could get anywhere in Vienna in 45 mins! My only reservation is that you are charged 40 euros for cleaning on top of the payment you make to book the room. The receptionist was excellent.
We would love to come back and use these rooms in the 3rd district again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetachyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

My friend booked 2 apartments. The price was good she didn't read the small print and when it came to paying by credit card we had to pay a lot more because the small print said there was a cleaning charge. She also had a run in on the phone with the manager who was not helpful. We couldn't cancel as these apartments were non refundable. So the start was terrible. Once we got to the apartments I did the speaking as my friend was still annoyed as to what had happened. The apartments were nice and spacious literally minutes away from the metro. So location was brilliant. We managed to get around easily. It was very cold and snowing in December but the site seeing was amazing. There are a few hop on hop off services. One offered three different routes which meant we got to see so much more in a few days. Prices were similar to UK though gifts were expensive. Lots of food so one is spoilt for choice. The atmosphere was magical due to Christmas and the Xmas markets. Lots to see again definitely a country with lots of history.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M9shy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

It was clean, modern and tastefully equipped. The bathroom was spacious and fabulous, with a huge bathtub. However, the elegant kitchen and place as a whole was not very functional and not that comfortable even for 2 people; there is no microwave, no oven, and the small smooth cook top we could not get to work even once ourselves and had to constantly go for help to get it turned on. This was frustrating. There was no "comfy seating" and no place but the small kitchen table to place the computer or to write. The fancy looking telephone did not work. - On the plus side, the little "apartment" was amazingly quiet (no street noise whatsoever) and well located. The common areas were pleasing, and adorned with many orchids and plants. Staff and owner were helpful and friendly. It seems to have been well priced. We would return. Vienna is a fabulous city.

Room Tip: Garden apartment is quiet (but garbage cans are right there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonvoyage222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

actually and first of all, our appartment was really good good value for money...really a nice nice appartment...what gives that place a charme of it's own is it's owner or as i would call him the " Le Patron". He knows everything and has it seen all - you better don't dare to question him... as we are easy going people and respect everybody in his own small therapeutic universe - we let him have his self-inscenation show - and man i'd give him an oscar if i had one with me...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doraemonPEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Hotel Pension Bosch
Hotel Pension Bosch
#100 of 361 in Vienna
240 reviews
Landstraße
Best Western Plus Amedia Wien
Landstraße
Enziana Hotel Vienna
Enziana Hotel Vienna
#149 of 361 in Vienna
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#208 of 361 in Vienna
241 reviews
Landstraße
Hotel Urania
Hotel Urania
#40 of 115 in Vienna
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scala Appartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scala Appartment Hotel

Property: La Scala Appartment Hotel
Address: Schuetzengasse 19, Vienna 1030, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Scala Appartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Scala Apartments Vienna are located in the third district from Vienna, removed only few minutes by foot of the famous palace Belvedere and the vienna city center. La Scala Apartments Vienna offers peaceful double and single rooms and apartments for up to 6 persons with kitchen. All apartments are decorated with elegant furniture and have a modern bathroom, a cable flat-screen TV, a CD player, free access to Wi-Fi and fully equipped kitchens.  The train station "RENNWEG" is only 100 meters away from La Scala Apartments Vienna and you need only 22 minutes directly to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Scala Appartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing