We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Josefstadt Appartements
Ranked #97 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in 2 hotels on this occasion and then we found the Josefstadt Apartments. We stayed in a corner apartment with lots of windows and space. Loved every minute - the apartment was well equipped with a Nespresso machine in the kitchen - especially important first thing in the morning. If you have sensitive ears you will probably have to close the windows as it is on a tram route and the horse drawn carriages pass by every morning and evening - we loved it and the tram was extremely convenient. We only rented a car for going out into the country side, the rest of the time we used the week tickets for public transport. Coming from South Africa, we found it very odd that the bathroom was directly next to the kitchen - but you know live and learn. When we go back to Vienna we will not even bother with hotels, we will book there immediately.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite and it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LollipopLeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Appartment we stayed in (309) was obviously newly refurbished with new equipment and furniture. A small kitchen was fully equipped (dishwasher, microwave, kettle, coffee maker etc), the living room had a dining table for 4, coffee table and two chairs (a sofa would be great to have too though), wardrobe (with safe in it) and small LCD TV (TV/DVD combo). The bedroom was a bit tiny, one small table and two separate beds.

The staff was very helpful - they speak (at least what we know) german, english, czech; able and willing to help and support. There's no 24/7 reception - but there's a sophisticated self check-in and everything was prepared for us (parking tickets, keys etc). We were travelling with our son (1,5yrs old), there was a cot prepared (upon request for free), but also kid high chair and kid's crockery. The cleaning is quite basic (towels changed, waste bins emptied).

The parking is available (Eur 15 per day) in nearby (200m) Otto-Wagner-Platz underground parking facility. We had some issues with parking cards not working properly, not letting us out or in, but it was eventually solved with parking personnel.

The appartments are located in 3 storey building, our room was quite quiet, but some appartments are facing busy Alser street (quite some traffic including trams). The appartments are couple of hundred meters from University, Votiv-kirche, roughly 1500 meters from Rathaus (Parliament, Hofburg, Burgtheater etc) - very convenient location.

The grocery shops (Billa, Interspar) are on Alser strasse, just couple of steps from the appartments.

Overall we were enjoying our stay, we would recommend this place for whoever who wants to be able to reach the city center on foot (you don't have to drive downtown and pay extremely expensive parkings). We have enjoyed New Year in Wien.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Findalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We spent one night at these appartments and then moved to a hotel in the centre of Vienna. The entrance is intimidating and looks like poor quality student accommodation. There is no concierge at the entrance just a carpet leading to a lift. Coming out of the lift we were met with a bleak corridor with a floor painted purple many years ago at a guess and poorly painted walls. The Reception Desk at the end of the corridor was closed. Two women tried to help us and took us to a grubby glass door along the corridor - we thought we had booked a two roomed-apartment - we were offered two so-called apartments which were not even adjacent. Finally another option was found which could accommodate three of us - my daughter, grandson (aged 4) and myself. The two women were very helpful arranging the additional bed. At our leisure we observed the facilities - one light with no shade swinging far too low in the kitchen, a damaged glass shade on the other light, and a strange cable attached to nothing tied over the kitchen units. My daughter found graffiti in the bathroom. The distressingly shabby access, apparently cavalier attitude to electrical safety and absence of any concierge facilities led us to pack up and leave after one night

Room Tip: The location has good shops. Public transport links appear good - we did not try them out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite late at the accomodation. Checking in was very efficient. The manager although have given us specific instructions for self check in, had adequate interaction with us. The room was spacious, clean, and the kitchen was well equipped. The location is very convenient for travelling around in the tube, tram, and buses. If you're fit, you can do a walking tour from the apartment. Staff members were accomodating and they've even allowed us to use a room to leave our luggage after checking out. Our wonderful experience in Vienna was partly due to the friendliness of the people and the comfort of our overall stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marichu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Entrance is not appealing but once you get into the apartment it is lovely and bright and airey with high ceilings and long windows with chandeliers and very clean and comfortable . Used towels are replaced daily and bins emptied daily Supermarket is just a few doors down the street which is so conveinent. Kitchen has all you need in it .No oven but hobs and microwave and toaster and coffee machines. We could not fault this place and would highly recommend it. Spotlessly clean and good heating.A very pleasant surprise after reading previous review

Room Tip: Room 103 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labrador499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Let me start by saying that we really didn't want to stay here once we saw it but neither Appartments in der Josefstadt nor Expedia would refund our stay, despite being unable to give us the room (in terms of #of beds) that we reseved. The aparment complex is not well maintained. A dirty lobby with peeling paint welcomes you. The apartment we had was relatively roomy with a newer kitchen but not very clean. The SILVERFISH INFESTATION in the bathroom was particulary off-putting.
We did not meet any tourists in the building although all the units were full. No doubt there are some as many people have offered reviews. We did meet several refugee claimants (one of whom was also annoyed with his lack of reserved room) and a longer-term resident.
The internet connection was not working for the first few days of our stay and although the manager assured us it was our problem, the receptionist had to admit that she had been unable to connect for several days also, when we asked her to help us book something. She was very pleasant.
Our unit faced Kochgasse and was very noisy, even at night. It was warm while we were there and we left the windows open. Consequently we could hear the taxi drivers just outside chatting and listening to music half the night, along with the bus and traffic noise. A fan would have been nice to circulate the warm air.
Many of the reviews comment on the good location, especially with proximity to transit but the transit system in Vienna is excellent, I think you would have a hard time finding something that was NOT convenient to transit.
In the end we were very unhappy with our $100 phone bill which consisted of THREE LOCAL calls and checked out early, despite being unable to recoup our unused nights.

Room Tip: Likely noisy whether you face Alserstrasse or Kochgasse, less of an issue in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank victoriafamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed over 2011/12 Christmas/New Year's holidays. Excellent location, with tram/bus stops, several shops, including supermarkets, and bakeries nearby, and three u-bahn stops are within walking distance too. Not luxurious, but clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was very useful for days we didn't feel like eating out and for early-morning breakfasts. Staff was very responsive and helpful at all times, even accommodated our alternative check-in/check-out times, which was VERY helpful. Not once we felt limited by the 9-noon reception hours.

There's WiFi, but it was very unstable and accessible only from the kitchenette. Not a major inconvenience, especially since there's an excellent wired connection, but something to consider, especially if you're on a business trip or "online" all the time.

Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isabella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#211 of 358 in Vienna
252 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,357 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josefstadt Appartements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josefstadt Appartements

Address: Alser Strasse 29 | Entrance Kochgasse 36, Vienna 1080, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £72 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Josefstadt Appartements 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Josefstadt Appartements reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing