We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with an aunt- which is great for families”
Review of Villa Kumpf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Kumpf
Ranked #31 of 221 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Staying in an apartment has other up-and downsides to a hotel. The reception might be less glamorous, breakfast is a non-event and lugging suitcases is not too bad after all. But the advantage of kids having huge space to play and draw makes everyone happier. The kitchen is useful for families wishing to home-cook, even though this is not necessary, since there are dozens of restaurants from all corners of the world lining the street below.
The location is fantastic for tourists- virtually a stone's throw from the Stefan's Dom and the main shopping streets.
The apartment's decor gives one the feeling of staying with an old aunt- it is neither slick nor a feast for the eye.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms apparently have been updated decor-wise. Specify that, if you are a visual person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

It was a studio room for me and my husband. VERY close to everything you need. Close to St. Stefan church. Wondeful experience there, Spacious, and helping people. We do recommend a long stay at that place, it is more than enough for two people, and very convenient .

Room Tip: room number 4 was big and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

superb location...well maintained apartments..... own by couple very helpful.... small parking but ok.. hotel has elevator, hotel is surrounded by so many tourist attractions and restaurants and cafes...

Room Tip: get proper direction to reach hotel if you are driving car....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apoorva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Perfect location, near the Cathedral, the Hofburg and the Albertina. Large service flat accommodation, fully equipped kitchen with Nespresso machine. Staff very helpful, although on our arrival at 2 pm, it took some time on the inter phone to get our keys.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Perfectly situated near St. Stephens church and within walking distance of the Albertina and the Hofburg area. Steps away from the main shopping area. Lovely owners are incredibly helpful and welcoming. Studio had kitchenette and a grocery right around the corner and has the feel of old time Vienna. If you are looking for a homey getaway in the heart of Vienna this is for you!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaichek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

My mother and I stayed at Villa Kumpf for a week in November 2012. It was only my second experience of staying in apartment-style accommodation in Europe and it was a very positive one.

The Villa Kumpf owners and managers were very helpful, obliging and hospitable and gave us useful information about sightseeing and local amenities.

The kitchen was modern and clean and there was a separate laundry (inside the apartment) and a clothes airer for getting washing done.

The free wifi was an added bonus - especially for business travel - but the signal wasn't always strong. (A major hotel in Berlin later charged us 100 Euros to use a wifi connection that was almost non-existent so, in comparison, the Villa Kumpf wifi was great.)

The food supermarket we used most frequently was Billa on Singerstrasse and our favourite local restaurants and cafes were - Santo Spirito (right next door to Villa Kumpf), Cantinetta La Norma (Franziskanerplatz 3), Gulaschmuseum (Schulerstrasse 20), Da Capo (Schulerstrasse 18) and Aida Stephanplatz (Singerstrasse 1).

Stephansplatz is close by and for Mozart aficionados (like me) will love the fact that the Vienna Mozarthaus is only 150 metres away - at least that was according to my Facebook locator. If you love music, also check out the Staatsoper and the Volksoper.

Accessibility

I have Cerebral Palsy and use crutches to get around, so this is something close to my heart ...

While wheelchair users would have difficulty getting in to the Villa Kumpf building and using the small lift, I found it OK to get up the 3-4 entry steps and to use the lift.

The shower in our apartment had a flat entry (very accessible) and good water pressure and temperature. It would get my award for the 'Best Shower of the Trip ;)

I'd highly recommend a stay at Villa Kumpf to others and I believe I enjoyed my first experience of Vienna more because I was able to stay in such centrally located, clean, comfortable and hospitably managed accommodation.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank handykapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

first of all, location is excelllent! minutes walk to every where in the old town. (the old town is pretty small) I walk almost all the time to different sights. the vienna card didn't provide much value here:-)
The hotel is in an old building on a quiet small street. the room is spacious, decorated with old fashion furnitures and bath room. room contains wash machine but I didn't use. The room is clean, well kept. however I feel the bath room requires a renovation to meet modern taste and need. Except this, no others to complain.
there are 2 restaurants at the end of this little street, one is an italian food "da capo" this is good and always full of guests. the other one is "W**W***" serveing austria food, although they post the "tripadvisor recommend" stick on window, but not good at all! and over priced as well. don't go this one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mengbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Appartement-Hotel an der Riemergasse
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#47 of 359 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kumpf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kumpf

Address: Kumpfgasse 7, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 221 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £82 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Kumpf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing