We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome surprise”
Review of Pension a und a

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension a und a
Ranked #29 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

At €99 a night including a light breakfast and within 400metres of St Stephens cathedral in the heart of Vienna, we didn't have much expectation. But the A und A pensIone was a wonderful surprise. A small signboard at the doorway directed us to our pensIone for the night. We entered a beautiful antique lift which carried us to the 3rd floor. We were welcomed by very helpful staff who explained keys, breakfast and the room and then offered sightseeing information. The room was small but spotlessly clean while the bathroom was spacious. While there are clearly some plumbing issues in the building.. The shower was very slow to drain and we were warned about foreign items in the toilet, the other amenities were well catered for.
The bed was great even if the pillow was a little lumpy.
Breakfast was a great selection of cereals, fruit, breads and croissant with ham cheese tomatoes and sweet spreads with tea of coffee. You collect what you want and take it too your room.. Very convenient.
The location is fantastic, with the clip clop of the famous Viennese horse carriages passing right outside the door. We would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennymac1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoyed a very nice stay in Vienna, a city full of history, museums, arts and culture. Our stay at Pension A Und A was just above adequate. It is very clean and provides a continental breakfast which you take to your room. The location is the best, as you are close to the Graben, St. Stephen's, the Hofburg, and easily can walk to the Opera, the market, along the Ringstrasse, etc. All in all, good value for your money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomargliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This Pension is Best if the center of everything is the most important factor in your visit. The Palace and museum are 2 blocks away and the pedestrian walking area is 1 block away. Many shops and restaurants are near by. 2 of the staff are friendly but 1 of the guys is very unfriendly. The staff seems to do a fair job managing the pension but they look and act like people that were just pulled off the street to work their. They wear normal house clothes and hang out in the lobby surfing the web on their phones like it's their living room. One of the guys needs to get his hair cut and the other guy needs to shave his face. A very unprofessional working environment. The Pension is only staffed during the daytime which means there is nobody there to help in the evening and nights which is very odd. The staff has an obsession with telling people not to flush certain things down the toilet. They go so far as to put up a very tacky sign above the toilet with nasty pictures of several condoms and tampons saying not to flush them. These pictures are inappropriate for children. I assume this has been the number one reason peoples have called them for help when not staffed during evenings and nights. They would not need to be so obsessed with the toilets if they had someone on staff 24/7. The rooms are large and modern with IKEA quality type furniture. The television does not have and English language channels. They Wi-Fi works in the rooms but you will need to reset the connection and log back in every 15 minutes because it freezes up. They need a computer in the lobby for guest to use to print boarding passes. Don't be fooled by their offer of free breakfast. They do not have a restaurant and the food they bring looks more like a picnic breakfast. The food is not fresh. No one eats the nasty food so they keep putting the same old nasty food back out.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very nice hotel with really polite stuff! the location was great it is near everything! The guy at the reception was really helpful! The room was clean and really big and comfortable! I recommend it for sure and i will stay there again. And value for money!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klairh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Great location even if quite hard to find (I had to ask in a nearby hotel). We took the small double and it was nicely furnished with all mod cons. Breakfast was nice and I knew in advance it was served only in the room. My only (minor) gripes are that there was no soap in the shower dispenser and shower tended to leak on the floor and we were called when we placed our DND sign on the door, waking up my fiancee. However the staff were helpful and friendly and I would recommend this lovely place due to its excellent location, nice decor in the rooms and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneyWoo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The room was very clean and the room was comfortable. The breakfast was ok, the only thing didn't like was the fact that you have to have breakfast in your own room. There were maps for the customers, they showed us on the map where to go, lent us umbrellas, we checked-in earlier than permitted, left our bags there after, the staff was very nice.... You could not ask for a better quality-price hotel in Vienna

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMH236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Small rooms, uncomfortable pillows, rude owner and above all we had to take our breakfast on a tray in our room. When we complained that we were not told about that from the beginning they tried to convince us that it was clear on the internet that breakfast is served in the room. They forgot to add the world "only" in the room. How would be possible for 3 people to eat in a room on a very small table. When we asked them to refund the money from the breakfast, we had to speak to the owner who was a very rude lady with no manners at all and very sarcastic. Apparently these people they don't need new clients. Not only that, the hotel was on the 2nd floor of another building and not a separate building which took us sometime until we realize it and find it. Don't go there if you want to enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ania h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#167 of 359 in Vienna
605 reviews
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#196 of 359 in Vienna
258 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#85 of 359 in Vienna
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#187 of 359 in Vienna
338 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#173 of 359 in Vienna
386 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#176 of 359 in Vienna
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension a und a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension a und a

Address: Habsburgergasse 3 Floor M, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: £105 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension a und a 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the historic city centre – experience Viennese charm in our Art Nouveau house. Modern ambience in the heart of the first district:Our guesthouse is a family run hotel in the heart of Vienna. Culture, exclusive shopping, sightseeing and night life are only one step away. Creating a personal atmosphere and taking into account individual wishes of our guests is part of our service. Feel at home – enjoy breakfast in your room in a private atmosphere. Our delicious breakfast buffet is available from 7.00h to 11.00h, for late risers even until 13.00h. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pension a und a reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension a Und a Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing