We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old European Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Ranked #212 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We really liked this beautiful old hotel. We were there in August, and there was no air conditioning, but an open window and fan kept it comfortable enough. We probably would have liked the area more at another time of year. Most of the locals were on holiday, and the students weren't back yet, so it felt a bit deserted. We felt safe, but tended not to wander at night since there was almost no one else around. Otherwise, the location was fine. Just a few minutes walk into town. The hotel itself was old, but well-kept. The room was very nice, and quite roomy, especially by European standards. It had that real old European feel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

When you step into the Baroness all appears fine. The reception area, although small, feels that you are walking into a mid range hotel. Don't be fooled. Examine the hotel closely from outside and a slightly shabby exterior is a clue of what is to come.

The rooms cannot have been decorated for decades, decor resembles a 1970's trip back in time. There is a strange smell to the place that resembles something between dust and very old stale cigarette fumes. Curtains barely cover windows, some lights don't work and the shower temperature intermittent. The worst is yet to come but the hotel does have a couple of good points.

It's reasonably situated and in what seems a decent area. There's a supermarket not far away and a few nice looking bars. The underground is only a ten minute walk away. But, everything is overshadowed by the noise issue of the hotel and the seemingly paper thin walls. You can literally hear everything in the rooms next door and the street outside is noisy. We were woken one night by what we thought were people shouting at each other in the street outside, it turned out to be our neighbours returning from a night out. We could hear every word of their conversation. The traffic noise is bearable as it's pretty constant but earplugs are a must if you're staying in this over priced run down establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLMartyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is not a four star hotel as it is billed on sites like Booking.com. The single room I was given was so dusty I could not stay in it for the three nights I'd booked. They were unable to move me the first night to a room without carpet, so I had to wrap cloth around my nose and mouth to breathe without inhaling the dust - this is not an exaggeration. They moved me to another room the following day which did not have carpet and was larger. This was an improvement. However, the rooms also have very thin walls, I could hear the person in the toilet next door, and I don't just mean the flushing of the toilet! The hotel also smells of smoke, and although I had a non-smoking room, the maids sat on the landing outside my window to smoke so the room filled with smoke anyway when the windows were open. With windows closed the room was very stuffy. On the positive side Ina on the front desk was very pleasant and accommodating, but this is a low standard accommodation compared to similarly priced hotels in Europe. Very disappointing. I would not recommend, nor stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASTAustralia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is like staying with an older eccentric relative - a little down-at-the-heels with lots of old fashioned touches. There is a crystal chandelier and sconces in the room, a tight bathroom, with older TV. The internet came and went without notice, and we had problems with hot water in the shower. However, the hotel is a thirty minute walk from the heart of Imperial Vienna and even faster by tram, which has a stop only a block away. Breakfast was typical for a German hotel - lots of rolls, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. The staff is very helpful and speaks excellent English. I am not sure why it has a four star rating; however, it is a comfortable hotel, and if we return to Vienna we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Outstanding feature of this hotel is quality of reception staff - Denise, Ina and Vera fall over themselves to help you! The cost of the rooms is relatively low and overall I was satified.

The things that may put some people off staying here are following:

Rooms are very hot and fan provided cannot compete with 30C+ temperatures
The bathroom (at least in my room) was very small
There is a strong smell of damp in the basement (and sometimes room) due to high underground water level
The housekeeping staff do bang and crash about a lot in the process of their work. This was probably because their store was next to my room.

Room Tip: Single room 229 is only single room not overlooking other rooms so more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It was a very good week in Vienna, including the stay in the Baronesse Hotel. It's a quite fair price for all the comfort, the big room and bed, delicious breakfast, wonderful localization etc... The team supporting the guests was amazing, kindly giving directions and tips all the time. If returning to Vienna, I'll be definitely staying in Baronesse again. I recommend.

Room Tip: The traditional architecture rooms are pretty good, and in sometimes are cheaper than the modern typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viniciusgnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed for 3 night with my parents in Baronesse: very very bad hotel. 1) Our room had a stron smell of window paint, 2) very loud from the street traffic, very dirty room with a layed of dust under the bed. Very small bathroom and poor furniture in the room. However the stuff was friendly and competent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marooned2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#276 of 359 in Vienna
85 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#96 of 359 in Vienna
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Baronesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Address: Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in Vienna
#143 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £42 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Baronesse 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a conference, a business trip, a sightseeing tour or you are looking for the one special place to withdraw from the hubbub of a cosmopolitan city. Enjoy the relaxation of an elegant atmosphere full of Vienna charm together with discreet and individual comfort. Baronesse is where guests feel at home. Aviano and Baronesse are a symbiosis of Vienna tradition and spirit of the times. Our 4-star pension which has been managed as a family business for decades has long been established as a stylish secret tip in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Pension Baronesse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronesse My Secret Home Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing