We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B needs updating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vienna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Anzengruber
Ranked #34 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights due to the ratings on TA and were a little disappointed. Although the transit connections are good, it is in the outskirts of Vienna in a residential neighborhood. it is a home with bedrooms rented out on the top floor. We were in room number 2, my sister was in 5 both need to have the bathrooms updated, but especially 5, the shower is very small and under the eave and in bad shape. There is no wifi, which in today's market we feel is a necessity. The owners are very nice and were helpful, the breakfast is good but is an additional €9 per person. The common area is small and was not heated while we were there. I am sure in the summer the pool would be a big benefit.

Room Tip: Room 2 is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent four days in Vienna, the third week of June, which was the middle of our five week vacation in Europe. The rooms were very clean, the continental breakfast which was included was very fresh and had good variety. The weather was very hot during our stay so the swimming pool was a very welcome amenity in a very beautiful garden. While this is a family run establishment the owners went above and beyond to make our stay a" five star". Located on a bus route, a short ride to the underground, which got us to the center of the city within minutes. We consider this to be good value for your money and we highly recommend. H. & J. Blumhagen, Calgary, Alberta Canada

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My wife and I stayed for four days days at Pension Anzengruber while travelling through Europe. Having returned to Australia we can safely say that the best service we ever received was at this small family hostel. I must emphasise "family" because it is not only run by a family but ambiance - the overall atomsphere of the place was just like home. Thank you, dear Familie Knoell, we will come back as soon as we can afford such a travel again.
A. F. and R. Jurth, Ballina, Australia

Room Tip: We were upstairs and it was just romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Pension Anzengruber is the best-kept secret in Vienna. My husband and I spent 8 days at this beautiful B&B on the outskirts of the city, and we enjoyed it a lot. The first impression on arriving is a profusion of blooming flowers at the entranceway. The extremely friendly hosts made us very comfortable, and we received ample information and suggestions that helped with our sightseeing. The room had a view of the beautiful garden, it was very clean and nicely decorated; the excellent and luxurious breakfast was served in the guest kitchen. A pool invites for swimming, and an abundance of more flowers makes relaxing in the garden very enjoyable. The connections to the city center by bus and metro are very good – no car is needed. Also, there is plenty of free parking close by on the street. We highly recommend this B&B to all our friends, and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The very first thing that our cab driver at railway station told us was that the place is way out of city center and not a good location to be. After reaching there and having a look around, he could not have been more wrong. The house is in an extremely calm and serene locality. We spent our first evening just roaming around the lovely neighborhood and having dinner at a fantastic local restaurant suggested by Mr. Knoell ( Tip: there are 2 restaurants nearby, go to the smaller one). The house has a beautiful garden that we could see from our room. Room itself was comfortable and had all the things we needed. We were traveling on a budget and mostly cooked our own meals in the adjacent kitchen which was well stocked and had all the requisite equipments in place. Note however that the kitchen is common to all the guests and if sharing is a problem, you might be disappointed. Other reviewers have mentioned about restriction on timings for taking a bath; it was however not an issue with us and suited us fine. There is a bus stop just a few houses away and the bus service is fairly regular.
We took the 3 day travel pass that covered bus and metro services; and it was very convenient to move around the city from here. All in all, we found it to be a perfect place, great value for money and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Located in a quiet part of beautifull Wien, Pension Anzengruber ofered us a warm location for our five days vacation in Wien.The room we recived was on the first floor,nicely furnished and decorated, with garden view.Though not so close to the all central atractions,we prefered this location for its special atmosphere ,the parking and the price.It was a good choice since the bus station to the closest U-bahn conecting with the center is 3 minutes walking .
Breakfast carefully sized ,but enough.
Our hosts were very helpfull giving us all necessary information for a pleasant and safe stay in Wien.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaviBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We have spent 6 nights in Pension Anzengruber and had a most satisfying experience.

In short -
this is a nice family run guest house in Vienna. The location is almost rural, quiet and relaxing. The quality of sleep is unprecedented. The breakfast is nice and tasty. The hosts are most hospitable and helpful, providing free map and directions, along with recommendations around the neighbourhood and the city. They were always available, unlike other reviewer's experience, and always ready to help. The connections to the city are simple and comfortable, although it can take about 30 minutes to get to Karlplatz U-4 station. The buses to the Huetteldorf station come 4-5 times an hour, no complaint on that.
We will definitely be coming back to this hospitable and comfortable place.

Details:

The location and finding the way
The pension is located in a quiet neighbourhood, with pastoral views on the Vienna forests and the location leaves an impression of a prosperous village. Church bells can be heard sometimes at a distance. Occasional car passing the street does not ruin the most prominent experience - the silence. In our correspondence we were provided by a detailed and concise directions on the arrival to the place. We were also recommended to take one of the airport taxis for a fixed price, to which advice we gladly followed as this was our first visit to Vienna. The arrival by public transportation is however equally simple - you get a U-4 metro from any of the stops where arrive trains or buses from the airport, to the direction of Huetteldorf, get off at Huetteldorf, and thence by buses 149, 153 or 249, to Josef Ressel Strasse stop (ask the driver when coming for the first time). The pension is around the corner right, some 100 meters from the bus stop. Total arrival time - about 30-35 minutes.

The room
The room that we had (#2) is located upstairs, with other guest rooms. It is a comfortable room with wooden furniture that seems to have come from the 19th century. But don't be fooled - its modern and comfortable. The windows can be open, closed or reclined, which affords good ventilation. The controlled heating are installed in the room and in the bathroom. The curtains allow great night sleep, although you wouldn't need them - the neighbourghood is not excessively lighted from the backyard. The bathroom is comfortable and clean. Some may find it not really big, but we had no problems showering in it.
There is a sign, written in 4 languages, asking politely not to shower between 10 pm and 7 am. We have had an unpleasant wakening when our neighbours started showering at 11:30 pm, but it was short, as probably the restriction on showering is enforced. The sound of running water is really penetrating at night hours, so they do well to restrict it.
The doors of the toilet room are even lined with special material to avoid bumping the door to disturb other guests. The carpets on the floor serve the same purpose, and quite successfully - we hardly heard anyone during the whole stay.

The breakfast
The breakfast is ample and tasty, served in a kitchen on the same floor with the room. It included a variety of cold meat and cheeses, breads, butter, honey and jam, accompanied by orange juice and delicious Vienna coffee or tea, at our choice. The breakfast was served at our chosen time, as they seem to do for everybody, which added more patriarchal atmosphere to our experience. The breakfast was good and lasted us well into late dinner in the city center. And by the way, use of the kitchen is allowed to the guests during the whole day, so the refrigerator, kettle and even electric furnaces are available, although we never used them.

The host
We have had a great pleasure to be treated by Mr Knoell himself, who was kind, hospitable and generous, which makes other reviewer's assertion seem quite baseless. He was there for us for every our need, be it an explanation or any more material need.

Overall impression
A very nice guest house.
Will be definitely coming back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David_Kirmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
An der Wien
#191 of 359 in Vienna
202 reviews
Hotel Lenas West
#239 of 359 in Vienna
150 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#40 of 359 in Vienna
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Anzengruber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Anzengruber

Address: Anzengruberstrasse 59, Vienna 1140, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: £57 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing