We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““A First Class Experience !””
Review of dasTURM - CLOSED

dasTURM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$47
Cuisines: Austrian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant ,,dasTURM" offer fresh, delicious ingredients combined with culinary high quality and also a spectacular view of the City of Vienna. On the 22nd floor of the Immofinanz-Tower the restaurant presented a business lunch at weekly intervals during the day and at night enjoy a wonderful romantic candle-light dinner. Business Lunch from Mon-Fri, Viennese and Modern Cuisine, Non-Smoking and Smoking Area, suitable for groups between 25 and 60 persons, Wine tasting, Cigards-Lounge, In Summertime Terrace open, From 5:30 pm 4h free parking P2.
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Me and group of clients went for dinner on Sunday night and can only report on how pleased we all were on our first experience. Officially the restaurant is closed on Sundays but they opened for us! The food was to a good standard , with good quality wines, not cheap but that is out weighed by the over all atmosphere and fantastic sights that you see of Vienna along the way . In my opinion there is no better way of enjoying the sights of Vienna whilst enjoying dinner, and the good company. All in all i would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone thinking of going.We are definitely going to be booking up for another evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at dasTURM, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Mr Denis H.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful evening with your colleagues in our restaurant over the roofs of Vienna. Please recommend us to be happy and to see you again soon.

With hospitable greetings from Vienna to Berlin,
Nicole Guelle & dasTURM-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

I had a great evening at Das Turm with 3 business colleagues on a Tuesday evening
The restaurant was not full but enough tables was occupied to make a pleasant atmosphere.
Both the food and the view is competing for the main act of the venue as the restaurant is place on the 22nd floor of an office building with a spectacular view of Vienna
The food was equally good with from the moderne french/business dinner kitchen with fancy plate decorations but the never became too much as they were all made with a smile ...
I had a fantastic and well spiced steak tartar for starter and an equally well prepared Cod Fish for main course - Me and the other guest also having the Cod sensed a clear smell of fish when the dish was served (which is normally not good) but there was no remark to be made on the food - As a side they served a Foam from Tonic (more amusing than well testing)
The dessert was a "Snickers dessert" and the serving was very well arranged but in may opinion a little boring - Service was OK but we did a few hick-upps with misunderstandings and forgotten drinks but nothing that could spoil the evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterRavnRasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at dasTURM, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Mr. PeterRavn.

Firstly I want to thank for taking the time for this detailed assessment.
We will take the small points of criticism and apologize very much for resulting misunderstandings.

With sunny greetings from Vienna,
Nicole Guelle & dasTURM-Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Overall the experience was good. Service and hospitality was wonderful and it cannot have been easy describing the dishes in English for a start. We were allocated a fab table next to the window of the restaurant which is located on the 22nd (I think) floor with far reaching views across the city of Vienna. The restaurant was a good 15 minute taxi journey outside the centre of Vienna so that is worth bearing in mind when booking. It was worth the experience but we would not return. Nothing was wrong but in terms of the food it was good, vibrant and fun but there was a little bit of repetition when it came to some ingredients on the courses i.e. fruit. The chef's take on canapes were very good and the dessert (an extremely modern take on a deconstructed Snickers) were certainly the highlights. There was no doubting the skills of the kitchen brigade but... the fancy crockery and obvious fun element to the dishes could not mask the fact that some of the flavour combinations just did not work overly well. So, overall quite mixed. I would recommend a visit for the lovely service and great views but the cuisine will certainly not be to everyone's taste.

2  Thank 1973FMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus S, Manager at dasTURM, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Mrs 1973FMD,
thanks for your feedback and experience in our restaurant.
Best regards,
Markus Schauer & das TURM-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

You have to visit "Das Turm" to have a wonderful View over Vienna.
Have an evening with a great food experience, with delicous wine pairings.
Very good value for a romantic experience.
It is a must...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wilfried S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I booked das Turm for our 38th wedding anniversary during a long weekend in Vienna. From the moment of our arrival, the service from the young but very knowledgeable Johanna and Markus was excellent We both chose from "Fest für die Sinne" menu, which was amazing. Each course, including the several complimentary "inbetweenies" was exceptional in its creation and presentation. I asked Johanna to recommend a local Austrian wine with each of the courses. Her knowledge of the local wines provided us with a perfect accompaniment to each course. Amazingly, the charge for the wine was only €26 pp - superb value.
My wife and I have been fortunate to travel extensively and dine in some of the famous "tower" restaurants in the world, where you pay excessively for the view. But this was a meal of the highest quality and incredibly good value.

2  Thank Pjamesesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed dasTURM also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing