We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge apartments and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gally Apartments Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gally Apartments Vienna
Ranked #109 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Huge apartments and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Although the apartments are slightly dated in terms of decor this is more than made up for in terms of space. We rented a two bedroom place for 4 of us and it turned out to have two huge bedrooms/ lounges/ dining rooms, two bathrooms and a separate kitchen and dining room. We were on the top floor and there isn't a lift so make sure you let them know if this will be a problem for you.

The building itself isn't all that inviting but once inside the apartment you have everything you need and, as there is a kitchen and lots of supermarkets within a few minutes walk, you can save loads by eating in. You have to get the tram and/ or underground into the city centre but this wasn't a problem and if you buy a 48hour travel card it isn't expensive. Mr Gally left us clear instructions for letting ourselves in and came up once we were settled to give us some maps and general information about Vienna, we then didn't see him again until we paid cash on departure but this suited us fine. The value was great, hostel prices for a whole giant apartment!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

The issue that ruined my stay at the Gally Apartments was the attitude the owner has towards the clients. It seems pretty obvious he has no idea about hospitality and should not be in this business, as it appears he does not care about his guests.
I have booked my stay there 2 months in advance. I have reserved an apartment with a kitchen for two nights. I was asked via email what time I might be arriving. I responded that it would be 12 or 1 o'clock.
When I showed up with my wife at the property at about 5 o'clock that day, we were greeted by Mr. Martin Gally with an angry attitude. He stated that our apartment would not have the kitchen area because someone extended their stay in the apartment we were supposed to get. When we attempted to argue that this kind of treatment is not fair, Mr. Gally stated that it is too bad and that he would not make any accomodations for us. He even made an argument that we were late with our check in and that we are wasting a nice day for him. He said that if we don't like his terms we can just leave. Considering we were on the road all day, and we didn't know the city, we decided to stay despite this flagrant mistreatment.
A bit later Mr. Gally actually stated that he would move us to a bigger apartment the next day. We were not really pleased with that since the reservation was done way in advance.
The rooms at the property are a bit outdated but spacious. We were fairly satisfied with the rooms, but the extreamly poor customer service ruined it all.
All I have to say is - Don't stay there! Save yourself the stress of dealing with the grumpy owner. You don't need that when you are trying to relax on your vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WistaWio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vie15, Owner at Gally Apartments Vienna, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
I am not going to use the same language as Mr. A.
If some guests tell me they will arrive at a certain time I trust them and expect them to come approx. at this time ( I grant them 4 extra hours ) or if this is not possible at least to call. Well, Mr. A. did not even think about calling that he is going to arrive later though he easily could have done it. He also had not paid any deposit or forwarded a credit card number.

When he arrived more than 6 hours later then expected I managed to get a room for them. There was no kitchen. No apartment was available any more. They told me that this is not fair and they will not accept it as they wanted a kitchen and fill a fridge. I had to tell them that the supermarkets were closed on Sunday evening, so they could not buy anything to put into a fridge.
Perhaps everyone also should know what Mr. A. wanted by talking about ' making an accommodation'. This means throwing out guests which waited till mid/end afternoon to know which room they can get. NO WAY
Mr. A. will not ruin any further second of any other guest.

The only solution if they need a kitchen would have been to stay at another place.
But they did not want to stay somewere else even if I would have paid them the price-difference.

Next day they got an apartment with own kitchen. Strangely I am reading here that they did not want to move and get the kitchen ( which at the end they did not use at all ).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed here half way through a three week trip of the surrounding countries. I had to email Martin Gally to book the room but he responded quickly and in English. The rate for the room was an unbeatable value. The room was big with at kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom. We stayed on the third floor with great views of the courtyard. There is also a wonderful Italian pizza place (Mario's?) down the road.
Ask for a hair dryer and you will get one! Also, Mr. Gally was very helpful for directions around town. One small downside: you are about 4 stops on the train from any major tourist attractions (but it was close to the main train station.)
Again, a great value and lots of room. We saved some money by going to a shop and storing food in the fridge.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenslaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights over the festive period 09 and 3 of us were very happy with our stay. Our apartment was clean and spacious so no complaints whatsoever. Friendly owners live a level down and happily greet you upon arrival. Centrally located to transport and walking distance to most amenities.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interlaken, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Very spacious. Near Westbahnhof station. Supermarkets nearby (but close at 6pm).
Bathroom is clean. Kitchen well equipped. Room is clean, but furniture old fashioned.
Old fashioned building. No elevator (beware if carrying heavy luggage, may be 3 floors). Spooky corridors at night (quite scary). Wifi only in very limited places in the room.
No proper reception. Manager seems not to want to communicate, not seem to be wiling to provide advice on surroundings and travelling within Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker200578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vie15, Owner at Gally Apartments Vienna, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
We have apartments on 4 floors. If you have heavy luggage please ask for an apartment on a lower floor.
Furniture ( classic style ): have a look at the pictures - you will get what you see.
Wifi in this apartment can be a problem. We are working on it but laptops also differ one from each other.
We are here most of the time but not all the time. Most of the guests understand that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

It is with mixed feelings that I write this review.
The reviews that have been previously listed are quite accurate in how they describe the apartments.
We had a large, 1 bedroom apartment, which had another bed in the lounge room.It had the BIGGEST bathroom I have experienced (looks like a complete room that has been converted into a bathroom).
The kitchedn was also very big
The furnishings were not exactly modern, but in good condition.
It is great value for money, bnut one should be aware that the neighbourhood has a few less distinguishing features.
A brothel is on the top corner of the street that the apartments are in, and we encountered approx 20 prostitutes working this street and others off the main road in close proximity.Used condoms were also in the street. If you were not out during the night, then not such an issue, as once we were back inside, you could hear little from the street..
This also attracts the "wrong" type of person, with a mix of middle eastern and eastern european men dominating the streets at night.
if you are after a big, clean, and cheap abode, and can live with the negatives, then this will work for you

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch - NZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

So for 54 euros per night we got what appeared to be a very recently renovated apartment on the ground floor with every mod con you could wish for. There was a large double bedroom, a sumptuous bathroom, a kitchen to die for and a living room with great TV.

The apartments are close to the Westbanhof and trams so the rest of Vienna is at your fingertips (the public transport system is soooo easy to use and very cheap if you by a Vienna Card). There are nice cafes and takeaways and supermarkets on the main road just a few steps away and the place is quiet.

With a very obliging owner (who opened up for us when we arrived at 7.30am and reorganised his allocation of apartments so that we did not have to wait for one to be prepared) on the property and a cleaner who came and went without our seeing, I can't imagine what more anyone could want.

We would go back there tomorrow and highly recommend the Gally Apartments.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwifromChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#166 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#95 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gally Apartments Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gally Apartments Vienna

Property: Gally Apartments Vienna
Address: Arnsteingasse 25, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gally Apartments Vienna provides comfortable and cozy accommodation at affordable prices. Each fully equipped one- or two-bedroom apartment features a complete kitchen. One apartment is adapted for wheelchair users. We are located near Schoenbrunn Palace and the city center can easily be reached in 15 minutes with public transports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gally Apartments Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing