We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bussiness trip in group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Ranked #99 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spend with a group (of 9) 3 nights in Kolping Vienna. It's clean, quite, and has all you need for an exchange-bussiness trip. No luxuary but good value for the price. There is plenty of space in the room, the bathroom has everything you need.

Room Tip: Perfect for a bussiness trip in group, when you search for a good stay not to high priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PasEdegem_Belgi_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

The rooms are large very basic. Any other hotel would have refreshed them by now but the low nightly rates have to come from somewhere :-). Staff are friendly but could be a bit more attentive.

The location is not bad. It is on shopping street with a supermarket next door and the lovely Naschmarkt just round the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apfelwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed for one night in Kolpinghaus. Breakfast was good, staff was very friendly and helpful. room (we ordered an advanced room) wasn't large but pretty cozy. There was a safe, enough of towels and much space we had for unpacking our luggage. Also this place is located really well, Close to the metro and bus stations and to the cities' centre. On the downsides: lack of TV-channels, no Wi-Fi (it was said there should be connection on the ground floor, but there was not), no conditioner. My personal opinion is that this hotel is very-very underrated having its two stars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Overall: Room was small clean and fairly well appointed. I could not get any sleep due to the traffic noise and overwhelming smell of car exhaust.
Good: rooms are small with lots of storage area. The rooms are very clean. The breakfasts although adequate in terms of supply, was very limited in choice.
Bad: When I first arrived they insisted I had no reservation even though I had a printout prepaid voucher. They finally assigned me a room. At check out they insisted I had to pay indicating they had no prepaid voucher from me. Fortunately i keep multiple copies of these and gave them another copy. After a very long discussion they agreed that it was paid.

I could not sleep at night due to traffic noise and the smell of exhaust. In the early morning (4 to 9am) the smell was particularly bad and caused headaches. Traffic was nonstop at night since this is on a busy road where traffic moves very fast considering the size of the road. Since the hotel is at the bottom of a small hill just below the the main shopping road, exhaust seems to accumulate here

Five out of the seven days the hot meat choice on the buffet was hot dogs that I never saw a single client eat. I believe they just rewarmed these from the day before. Coffee was provided in thermoses at the table. Most morning coffee was lukewarm at best. They have busloads of tourists and students staying at this hotel. If you have the misfortune to try and eat breakfast when they are there it is a complete nightmare. Everyone is busy trying to get a quick breakfast before getting on the bus or leaving the hotel together.

Cleaning staff is particularly aggressive trying to get into the room at 9 AM every morning. They did not seem to want to wait until I left the room.

Front desk service is nonexistent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Friendly service, basic but very clean room, walkable distance from the Museum Quarter, close to two U-bahn stations, next to a Spar supermarket, wifi worked for me in the room - be difficult to find a better option at this price located this well in Vienna. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomad071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Location excellent, friendly staff. Good breakfast.They have bicycle garage. Wifi is not working everywhere, not even at the terrace, which by the way in september morning is a very nice place to have breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmuntean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The hotel has a perfect location, right near the nashmarket.The rooms were fairly clean, and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was included and had a nice big selection to choose from. We would definitively stay again.

Room Tip: make sure the room you book has tv, not all of them have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonic b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#102 of 359 in Vienna
410 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 359 in Vienna
630 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#101 of 359 in Vienna
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#88 of 359 in Vienna
1,224 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#60 of 359 in Vienna
974 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#129 of 359 in Vienna
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral

Address: Gumpendorfer Strasse 39, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#72 Family Hotel in Vienna
#110 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £47 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolping Wien Zentral is on this location already since 1851, the main building of our house was built completly new in 2007, the new house is nearly 100 % wheelchair accessible, has 90 hotelrooms of 2 star categorie, 4 conference-rooms, a small chappel, parking-garage and 120 rooms for students(only Long-stay). Our central location makes it easy to reach all the sights in the inner-city by walking. Round the corner you find the famlous "Wiener Naschmarkt", the Mariahilfer - Street, the Museums Quarter, and the METROSTATION "Kettenbruckengasse/Naschmarkt" (green line number 4.) We offer 90 double rooms of 3 different categories (DELUX/STANDARD end ECONOMY) - as well as 9 double wheelchair accessible doublerooms. All rooms are furnished with shower/toilet, SAT-TV, telefone, roomsafe and hairdryer, Wifi. Further we have 24 hours reception desk, large buffet breakfast included in all our rates. The conspicuous facade was designed by the the famous austrian painter "Prof. Karl Korab." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing