We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is essentially a hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Ranked #111 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It's clean, but otherwise it looks, feels, and has service like a hostel. It has a good location, but aside from that I wouldn't want to stay here again unless I was on an extreme budget. Rooms look like my college dorm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is really only 5 minutes from the underground station KettenBruckenGasse and was very easy to reach from airport. The personnel very efficient and polite, the lady from the reception let us to choose the floor and we had an early check in (at 10.00).
The room was relatively small, with very simple but very functional furniture, the space inside is also used in a very functional way and it's enough place for luggages and everything.
All very clean, the mattress was good. Breakfast was reach and with plenty of choices.
The hotel itself looks like a student hostel (like the name indicates), seems recently renovated, very colorfully, simple and clean. It has a very good location (1 km to Karlsplatz, 800 m to Museumsquartier).
The only back drown (if you can see this as a back drown) was that with all the radiators closed was to hot and we slept with the window a little open in end of December.
Conclusion: if you look for a real hotel with sumptuous halls and rooms, this is not the place for you. If you want a cheap and clean place with all you need for a few days stay to explore the center of Vienna, this can be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marius_Givatayim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolping-Wien-Zentral, Manager at Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Marius, thank you very much for your very detailed and Kind feed back! Happy, that you enjoyed staying in our Hotel - with compliments, Claudia Edelmayer-Murri, Kolping Wien Zentral, Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This place is okay, the rooms are clean and comfortable enough - basic but fine for our one night stay. Breakfast is also okay. It's close to a train station which was good for getting in to the city centre. Place feels secure. Probably wouldn't stay more than one or two nights here though, it feels more like a hostel or dorm than anything. Also wifi was only available on first floor, not in most rooms.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel Kolping Wien is ideal choice for short busenes or vacation trips. Breakfast is perfect. The rooms are clean and spacios enough. Staff is polite. Close to Mariahilfe and Nachtsmark. There is a grocery shop by hotel's main entrance. Center of Vienna is 10 minutes walk, metro station 3 minutes walk. Price more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivanPlovdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel turned out to be great for what we wanted on our three day Vienna trip.Check in was efficient and quick. The rooms were clean and functional. The beds comfortable and the breakfast buffet good and with plenty of choice. The staff we encountered were polite and helpful in a Germanic sort of manner. The location was good ,only five mins.walk to the nearest underground station and large local market. Great for downtown Vienna sightseeing and museums.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolping-Wien-Zentral, Manager at Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your very kind feed back - great, that you had a good time in our Hotel and of course in Vienna, with best regards Claudia Edelmayer-Murri, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Service was-as usual (this is not the first time that I am staying in this hotel), excellent. Room was clean, spacy, comforteable.
Hotel location is the main reason I have been chosing this hotel for some years. Situated in the hart of Vienna (everything on walking distance), plus garage for my car. All I needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Edgar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolping-Wien-Zentral, Manager at Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Edgar, thank you very, very much for your wonderful feed back! With best regards from Vienna, Claudia Edelmayer-Murri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice location and people. The morning breakfast is good. You can hear everything of the other near rooms. The drain of the shower and of the sink were obstructed. The room, towels and blankets weren't perfectly clean, but in general has been a good place where to sleep, for visiting Wien.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Piero C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#123 of 359 in Vienna
429 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#52 of 359 in Vienna
706 reviews
Döbling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 359 in Vienna
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Wieden
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#115 of 359 in Vienna
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral

Address: Gumpendorfer Strasse 39, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £44 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolping Wien Zentral is on this location already since 1851, the main building of our house was built completly new in 2007, the new house is nearly 100 % wheelchair accessible, has 90 hotelrooms of 2 star categorie, 4 conference-rooms, a small chappel, parking-garage and 120 rooms for students(only Long-stay). Our central location makes it easy to reach all the sights in the inner-city by walking. Round the corner you find the famlous "Wiener Naschmarkt", the Mariahilfer - Street, the Museums Quarter, and the METROSTATION "Kettenbruckengasse/Naschmarkt" (green line number 4.) We offer 90 double rooms of 3 different categories (DELUX/STANDARD end ECONOMY) - as well as 9 double wheelchair accessible doublerooms. All rooms are furnished with shower/toilet, SAT-TV, telefone, roomsafe and hairdryer, Wifi. Further we have 24 hours reception desk, large buffet breakfast included in all our rates. The conspicuous facade was designed by the the famous austrian painter "Prof. Karl Korab." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing