We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and okay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finkh

Finkh
Ranked #476 of 4,071 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mariahilf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple and okay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely low pretentious and modern restaurant. Good food, friendly staff. Don't expect haute cuisine but straightforward Austrian kitchen. Enjoyed the Grüner Veltliner. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Raymond Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great welcome dinner and drinks in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to start our trip in Vienna! English was easy here but we were the only tourists which we like. Had an amazing white wine spritzer with elderflower to start and the house red wine, both were good and comparably extremely cheap to the US! Veal schnitzel was amazing. Huge portion with greens and a yummy but light potatoes salad. Sister got the seasonal vegetarian dish of fried risotto mozarella balls with zucchini salad and marinated tomatoes. Scraped our plates clean. Got the strudel and chocolate cake with berries for dessert - both very good but at that point we were so full that both were unnecessary!! Cant complain. Great service too- she helped with order suggestions.

Helpful?
Thank Elana P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not sure the food is enough to bring us back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

When arrived the waiter come over, annoyed we sat ourselves at our reserved table, didnt greet us hello,just snatched the reservation cards and walked off!

When 1 of my friends tried to pay (who only had 1 drink as he was ill), the waiter short changed him and when asked where the rest of the change was, the waiter replied 'well that's because you didn’t tip',
Service is 50% of the experience, and after what we received as nothing short of shear arrogance and complete lack of respect for guests who called well in advance to reserve, not even the food would pull me back to this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Absgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliasZenzmaier, Manager at Finkh, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hello Absgail,

We are sorry for your bad experience at our Restaurant. We really appreciate feedback as it is the only way for us to notice problems like this.

As our restaurant is quite small and we sometimes give away tables twice a night, a reservation is mostly attached to a specific table, this is why the waiter probably felt stressed, when you sat down without waiting for him to check the reservations. Of course this is no reason to be impolite or maybe even rude and I personally want to apologize for the behavior of the waiter this evening.

Please know that we take your feedback seriously and try to work on those problems as good as we can to make sure that something like this doesn’t happen again.

Best Wishes,
Finkh-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
368 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Dined here this week with a colleague. The restaurant itself is a converted workshop hence it may be lacking a bit a of ambiance. However, and unlike the previous reviewer, the waiter at hand really went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He explained the menu in English to us and also made a couple of suggestions. I went for the Schnitzel with potatoes, cranberries and fresh horseradish. Hands down this is one of the best schnitzels I have ever tasted. His wine list is also very extensive with some reasonably priced bottles and some others which are on the more expensive side. The restaurant also has averna on its list of drinks which is a definite plus, however the downside is that smoking is permitted and since the restaurant is small you end up leaving the place reeking of cigarettes, and this is the reason why i am not giving 5 stars. Overall however deserves a return visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Bigheads”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have trouble finding the right words for my experience with this so-called restaurant without being banned from tripadvisor. First off: It's only one room with a bar on one end. Hygiene-wise: I recommend non-observance. Food-wise: It may or may not be above average; I will not claim to be an expert in Austrian cuisine so I will only tell you that I think it was OK but absolutely nothing more than that. Price-wise: More expensive than other 'Wirtshaus' we have seen but not outrageous. But here comes the deal-breaker: One of the waiters is nothing short of the worst prig I have ever come across in my whole life. Obviously someone told him once that his English was good because he appears uber-proud of it ... when actually it is just fine. But what really destroyed our evening was the sheer arrogance with which we were treated. My friend and me were simply shocked and didn't know what to say to this conceited ... person. It seemed he could neither take our order, answer our questions or cash without an insulting one-liner. For the avoidance of doubt: This was clearly not an issue of language or some other misunderstanding. This guy was just rude and possibly even racist. Don't bother going there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliasZins, Manager at Finkh, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hello Louise,

We are currently updating our Tripaddvisor Profile and came across your feedback, so first of all we want to apologize for the delayed reaction on it.

We feel very sad that you obviously had a bad experience at our restaurant. Please understand that, yes, sometimes our waiters come upon stressful situations and we are sorry that you feel like you weren’t treated respectfully enough.

As our staff comes from various places all over the world we can assure you that clearly no one in our team is racist.

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and take it very seriously. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Vienna.

Best Wishes,
Finkh-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finkh also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Finkh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing