We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food but overall a little disappointed”
Review of Indien Village

Indien Village
Ranked #84 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: Additional space for private partys and events for up to 50 persons.Air-conditioned restaurant.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty food but overall a little disappointed”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

With the high rating and numerous good reviews here our expectations were high so maybe we were bound to be disappointed.

We were greeted by one of the younger waitresses who was pretty miserable throughout our dining experience and as often happens inquired if we had a reservation despite the restaurant being virtually empty then acted slightly irritated and looked as though she was doing us a favour by 'fitting us in'. Two older women and a man also served us a little and they were much more friendly.
The menu selection was a little limited but had a few vegetarian choices from which we found 3 suitable meals which looked more or less vegan friendly. Luckily we ordered 3 main coursed for two of us as the portions were very small, the food was very tasty but extremely oily and we felt it was very overpriced particularly the tarka daal, which was lentils, some spice and a sprinkling of onion at 11 euros and again a very small portion. The other meals were around 12 euros but felt better value due to a more varied ingredient list, the tarka daal would normally have been considered a side dish for around 5 euros. A bottle of water was 6 euros! We had two small starters, one soft drink each, three main courses, two side breads and a bottle of water and it came to almost 65 euros.
The place was very quiet when we were there so there was really no atmosphere at all although, the decor was nice and it was very clean.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    98
    26
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Indien Village is one of the best Indian Restaurant in Vienna. It is located in city area and thus, convenient to go by walk. We ordered punjabi vegetable cuisine alongwith Mango lassi. Both the items were served with papad, achar and curd just like the Indian tradition. The place and the staff was welcoming. The owner of the restaurant is very friendly and he takes good care of the comfort and food the customer orders. Thumbs up!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fshah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Indian dinner in Vienna”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was the first time (of three or four) I had a really good Indian dinner in Vienna. A very tasty mulligatawny soup as a starter, Kofta balls is a spicy sauce (I asked for spicy). Rice, Nan bread and a sweet lassi made my meal complete.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Falco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experience overall!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were really lucky to find this place! Our last day in Vienna was a bank holiday, and the majority of restaurants were closed. Indien Village was within walking distance from our hotel. We had the palak paneer, a lamb curry dish, rice, garlic naan, and raita. We finished with the mango kulfi. It was so good that the two of us ate every bite! Food and drinks were reasonably priced compared with other restaurants in the area. We thought it was a great value.

Another part of our visit that we really enjoyed was talking with one of the owners. (Mona, I believe, though I may be spelling that wrong!) She was so kind and welcoming, and she spent quite a bit of time talking with us. We were very impressed with everything and would not hesitate to visit this restaurant again should we find ourselves in Vienna! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CasaGrande_AZCgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice upmarket place, great food and service”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Being somewhat spoiled for Indian restaurants, I found this one a very pleasant surprise indeed. Great stylish ambiance, excellent food, fantastic service.
One tip if you like your Indian food ultra hot (as I do): Speak to the manager and tell him about it and make it clear you want it hot to the degree of e.g. "18 out of 20" (that's how he seems to rate it). In my case, I told him I wanted it "very hot" but found it initially lacking. To his credit, he enquired about it of his own accord, so when I commented on it he told me that it was only "6 out of 20" - like so many Indian restaurants in Europe, they usually don't dare going hot for real even if patrons ask for it specifically due to bad experience with customers who overrated their own hotness tolerance. Of course, as with all good Indian food, hotness should never precluded tastiness - the original food's flavour (as well as all those many spices used in cooking) should only be enhanced, not burnt away. Indien Village is very good at that. Will be sure to come again next time I'm in Vienna.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pleromax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indien Village also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Indien Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing