We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Basic Dorm Rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vienna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Carpet Hostel Vienna
Ranked #103 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in Red Carpet Hostel for 2 nights in July 2013.

Liked:
Price was inexpensive for Vienna; we paid about 40 euros per night for a double room.
The bar downstairs had inexpensive drinks - less than 2 euros for a beer.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.
5 minute walk from the Vienna Westbahnhof train station

Disliked:
No internet available in the room; internet only available in the lobby and garden area.
The rooms are extremely basic, even for a hostel - the rooms are actually dorm rooms.
Far walk from the city center - about 30 - 40 minutes.

Overall: 3/5. I would only recommend this place if you need a very cheap place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed here in august while backpacking in Europe this hostel is one of the best i've stayed in.
Pros:
Staff
Single room only 30 Euro
Bar on site
Location - 5 min walk from Wein west train station
Supermarket round the corner
If you want to sample Viennese food there is a great Restaurant behind the hostel
Free WIFI and computers to use
Rooms are big and come with fridge

Cons:
Drink in the bar are a little expensive


I will recommend this place to my friends and are thinking of returning next year

Room Tip: Single rooms are massive and En-Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The hotel does not have any amenity goods. There is no soap, shampoo, towels ( You can borrow a towel about 1 Euro per person ) no air con, however the room was quite clean, and confortable. The location was nice, it was very near the Wienna East station. There is a bar, they got us a welcome drink. Sometimes it was noisy, but I suggest the hotel.( hostel?)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 梓
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Great place to stay. We stayed in a 3 person private and besides the room being huge (with bunk beds easily 10 people could be fitted here) it was also extremely clean and had a fridge. Bathroom private and clean as well.

Location close to Westbahnhof train station and 3 metro lines within walking distance. Located in quite side street not so close to the old city center (but I believe no hostels are) but at the start of the main shopping street. Free wifi in lobby and there is a bar that although it misses some character was quite filled up the time we where there. Across the street great Beer pub with mostly Belgian beers.

One of the staff members could use some customer training since chatting on Facebook during the check in process does not really speed things up, but the others were really helpful (not per se knowledgeable) when asked questions. Recommended stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here with my brother for just one night. It was hot and the room had to air conditioning but otherwise was OK (we had to open the windows and put up with some noise). It was a simple room with two beds, a desk, a fridge, a closet and a small bathroom. All of that was OK and having the fridge was nice. I had booked this place because it had good reviews and had a very low advertised price. I booked a twin room through Expedia for $71.60. When he got to the hotel, however, we had to pay another €42. This puts the cost of the room at about $125, for which it seems we should have been able to stay at a better place. It's my opinion that all these costs should've been advertised up front. I'd probably have rated this better if I had known the full cost ahead of time.

Aside from all that, in the morning, they had a breakfast for €3,50, which seemed like a good deal to me. Not great but worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Be aware - this hostel is actually a student dorm doubling as a hostel during the summer. As such, it is a bit shabby and worn. The carpet seems to have been there since the 1970s, and the beds, while clean, were also a bit worn down (you could feel it in the matress) and a little uncomfortable to be honest. Internet is only available in the common areas. Bathrooms are ok, but could use an upgrade. On the plus side - location is excellent, right next to Westbahnhof, and close enough to walk to the center, but just far enough to avoid the crowds. On our stay, the staff organized several contests/special events at the bar, so it is always fun to hang out there. You get what you pay - but if you are picky about your sleeping habits (like my companions), you might want to look for another place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunburina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Hostelled here, the place is a uni halls of residence accomodation all year round except the summer. We were there for the season opening night in early July where we were given free drinks all night, we also met loads of locals and travellers alike in the hostel bar. The location is awesome and you should check out the Travel Shack which is a short 5 minute walk, if you want to drink lots with other young backpackers from all over. There are loads of things to do in the immediate vicinity as well as having great connections to the rest of the city. Highly recommended although the rooms are very basic and 'no frills'. If you are ok with this then go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markjamesporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#42 of 359 in Vienna
1,319 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Hostel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Hostel Vienna

Address: Buergerspitalgasse 17-19, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Hostel Vienna 2*
Number of rooms: 80

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing