We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrific surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Das Schick

Das Schick
Ranked #279 of 4,104 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$47
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: Cosmopolitan cuisine in Vienna: indulge in treats of the Austrian and Spanish cuisine at the restaurant, high above the rooftops. 'Das Schick', your restaurant in Vienna (former restaurant "Himmelsstube"), combines Austrian tradition and spirited Spanish flair. Experience a unique, appealing atmosphere, delicious cuisine in Vienna, and a new head chef and menu that will enchant you.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A terrific surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We expected Das Schick to be good based on reviews we had read, but it was much better than we expected. We were seated by the window where we admired the terrific view; they even give you a card to identify the buildings. The restaurant is very attractive but comfortable, the service was great, the food was wonderful, and everything was presented beautifully. The restaurant was described as Austrian with a Spanish influence, but I would say it was more Spanish. Of all our meals in Vienna, this is the one we enjoyed most, even more than the Michelin star restaurant where we dined. If I lived in Vienna, I would go here regularly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irvinereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Irvinereviewer,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and we appreciate your compliments.

We are happy we could offer you a memorable experience and would be pleased to welcome you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    56
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We found the service to be impeccable, and the food very tasty. Menu choices are a little limited but are very interesting choices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobandDeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Boband Deirdre,

We are glad that you took the chance to also visit our Restaurant Das Schick, while staying in Vienna and appreciate your nice comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excelent, quick service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Excelent wine, quick and great service, beautiful view. I recommend. They have many Austrian wines too. The meat was very soft and delicious. The paella is very good too.

Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Victor M,

Thank you for your nice compliments regarding our wine offer. We are delighted we could offer you a great service and hope to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing 50th Birthday for my wife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hi, I spent sometime trying to find a very nice and good place to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday and boy I found it in Das Schick restaurant, the communication through email was really smooth and the attention on the day was really, really good, I was allow in the restaurant very early in order to test the projector, put up some balloons and banners etc and everyone was ready to help, now the food, what can I say, it was extremely good, very well prepared and the presentation was great, the service was provide on time and to all our satisfaction, I will sure recommend this great place again!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perezjulioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear perezjulioc,

We are very happy that after searching sometime, you finally decided to celebrate the birthday of your wife in our Restaurant “Das Schick” and were very satisfied.

We thank you for your nice compliments and recommendation and are pleased to have helped you organizing a memorable celebration.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were disappointed to find out this is a hotel restaurant. After all, how good can those be, right?

Wrong. It turned out to be an excellent place. We had fantastic drinks, good appetizers (snails of some sort), and a delicious dessert. The only meh was the main course, the paella, which looked nothing like what you'd expect. It was a small tub of rice with a giant shrimp on top, plus a small chunk of salmon on the side. Um, no.

Overall, I'd say go eat there if you're staying at the hotel. Otherwise, explore your options.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear MissKristen,

We are delighted to read that you describe the restaurant „Das Schick“as: an excellent place and thank you for your compliments regarding the drinks, the appetizers and the dessert.

We noticed your critic regarding the paella and regret that this dish did not fulfil your expectations. As everyone can see (thanks to your nice picture), our chef hat reinterpreted this court for himself and composed it in a uniquely creative way. The classic ingredients can be found, of course, but the presentation is different.

We still hope that you enjoyed a nice dinner with us and thank you for your „insights”.

Best regards from over the rooftops of Vienna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Das Schick also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Das Schick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing