We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious and close to metro station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe
Ranked #67 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious and close to metro station”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The last leg of of our Europe trip, we decided to splurge and stay at a good hotel, and this was a great hotel, although its located pretty far from Inner Stadt and city center. But the Metro is just 10 mins walk from the hotel and it brings you to city center in minutes. The trains are moderately fast, clean and has free magazines for you to browse through.

We reached the hotel quite late, from the Vienna Airport we were told that there are infrequent trains at night (later we realized this is just airport taxi gimmick to gullible tourists to pay more, on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays the trains in all over Vienna operate all night, THROUGHOUT the night, YES!) If you don't believe me ask your hotel

Anyhow the taxi cost us 35 euros. We had booked the hotel in advance and we got a nice room on a high floor with not much of a view (since this hotel is in a business area, our room faced the office opposite us) However within walking distance there is a McDonalds but its best you take the Metro to downtown for food and drinks

From the Flughafen Wein airport, you take the S7 (blue) metro and get down at Praterstein. From there, take the U2 line (purple) heading towards Aspenstr and get down at Krieau station. The hotel is 10 mins walk from the train station

To get to city center from the Krieau station, take the U2 heading towards Karlplatz and get down at Praterstein. From there, get the U1 in the direction of Reumannpl. and get down at Stephanplatz. where St Stephan's cathredal is. You can get down here or take the U3, in the directions towards Ottakring that will bring you to the main tourists attractions (Volkstheather stations for Musuem Quartier, Natural History Museum, Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Parliament)

Now I know some of you will be wondering why not take the high-speed train (CAT) from the airport to city center? Simply because it's overpriced, it has more stops than the Metro and for less the cost and time you can reach the hotel anyways. Also bear in mind that the CAT stops at Lanstrabe/Wien Mitte so from there you HAVE to take the S7, get down at Praterstein, change to to U2 to get to Krieau. See what I meant?

If you have time, you can walk from the hotel to the Danube and New Danube rivers, its right behind it.

The hotel had:

2 face towels (they didn't replace with new ones the next day)
2 hand towels
2 bath towels
1 doormat
hair dryer
basin
shower + toilet
one reading chair
one office chair
writing pad + pen
room service menu
phone
2+1 pillows
miniature shower, conditioner, hair shampoo and facial soap

Breakfast was especially good, they had slightly different buffet food for both days and they had extensive selection of teabags, cheeses and dry fruits for breakfast

On every floor, they have water and ice dispenser but on our floor, the machine only dispensed ice so I filled up bucketful of it with ice

I know someone mentioned about her laptop being stolen and I suspect its probably the guests because I had my eyes on all the servers and from where we sat for breakfast our luggage was within eyesight. I got to admit that we were extra cautious during our Europe trip and never travelled anywhere with our passports. We used our photo ID for all checks (in SBBs, TrenItalia, Thalys) and kept money locked in the safe box if available in hotel room

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltyBodiceRipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    357
    76
    15
    14
See reviews for
102
232
72
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a very quaint hotel located in a very convenient area. It is near the major tourist and business attractions. There are several nice restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The rate was a reasonably good value for the season and location.The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have to give 3 stars since my colleagues lost their bags during breakfast at the cafe! And another colleague lost their laptop inside the room! Unbelievable.

We stayed at Courtyard by Mariott Vienna Messe for company outing back in May 2013. We were 150+ person and booked so many rooms (do the math) at this hotel.

It looked like a brand new hotel, with chic and trendy design. And boy, how I love the room! Veeeerrrrry spacious (considering another hotels in Europe with tiny tiny rooms), absolutely comfortable bed, with clean and bright bathroom. Hot and long bubble bath after a whole day sightseeing? Bliss!

The wifi is available for free at the lobby, but you have to pay 6Euro (if I'm not mistaken) for 24 hours wifi inside the room -- which I did and the connection was good.

The location was a bit far from the city central.. but the Metro station is just about 3 minutes walk and the surrounding area is very clean and nice.. office buildings.

Overall it's a very nice hotel, with plenty of choices for breakfast..

Until.. my colleagues come to the cafe, put their bags on the table, got themselves some food and when they went back to the table.. their bags were GONE. And another colleague came down to report his laptop was missing from inside the room. The police showed up within minutes and helped my colleagues.. but still it's totally unacceptable. The security for the hotel is definitely questionable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgundylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Marriot Courtyard is a very good hotel for those on short visits to Vienna. It has all the essentials for the business traveller. Close to the metro station, in a nice clean area and the food and beverage service is excellent. I found the bedroom to be very comfortable and enjoyed staying there. I would also return if I am there on business again in future.

Room Tip: View their website and view all the room types and select accordingly:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrobinson224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, FL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We booked a one night stay at this hotel, but wished it was the whole visit. Excellent place to stay. Very modern and clean with great rooms. Had the best fitness center ever! The rest of our stay was at the "five star" Hilton, but this hotel so much better. Close to the train station and only a few stops to city center. Front desk was very help, and the breakfast was amazing. This is not like any Courtyard in the US - definitely a notch above.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

You get the value for what you pay for, good hotel, clean rooms , nice bathroom with basic amenities, breakfast was nice with a wide selection of breads , cheeses and desserts , good eggs as well, only problem is that the surrounding area does not really have much restaurants. 2 minute walk from Kreaiu Metro Station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GhaithJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard Vienna Messe in June 2013 for a business trip. The room and bathroom were very spacious and everything functioned well. The bed was very comfortable with nice sheets and the room was quiet. Everything was super clean and the decor was modern and well decorated.
The internet connection was great. The breakfast is a bit expensive (I think it was around 19 euros) but really worth it as the selection of hot and cold foods and beverages was incredibly extensive.
The location is fine, out of the center but very easy to find the subway and get into the centre very quickly.
We also used the meeting room facilities and they were very responsive and professional with our last minute requests.
Overall, the price might be a bit high for budget travellers, but I don't think business travellers would have any complaints. I have no complaints at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#74 of 360 in Vienna
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaisermühlen
NH Danube City
NH Danube City
#97 of 360 in Vienna
1,032 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#76 of 360 in Vienna
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe

Property: Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe
Address: Trabrennstrasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Courtyard Vienna Messe)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Vienna
#49 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#62 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#62 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Vienna's lively center stands the Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe. Ideally located in the business quarter "Viertel 2", our modern hotel sits near the Vienna fairgrounds, Reed Exhibition Messe Wien, the green Prater and the Ernst Happel stadium. The city center can be reached within 10 minutes as the hotel offers direct access to the underground U2. All major highways and the airport are within immediate reach away by car. All guest rooms offer individual air condition, comfortable Courtyard beds, laptop safe, W-LAN, flat screen with satellite TV, coffee & tea making facilities, refrigerator, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. On the 8th floor we provide on 430 m2 of fitness and wellness overlooking Vienna. Work-out in our cardio and strength training area with professional support and then relax in our panorama sauna, steam bath, solarium and relaxation room. At our restaurant, allow us to make you feel comfortable by experiencing the traditional flair of Viennese hospitality together with our modern and contemporary interpretation of culinary art. Experience real treat by tasting local products combined with fresh herbs, luscious and crisp vegetables and a drink of fantastic, high quality Austrian wine. Savor fresh seasonal specialties, popular Viennese classics or American delicacies of our international hotel cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Vienna Messe Hotel Vienna
Vienna Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing