We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with easy access to centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe
Ranked #73 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent a long weekend for my birthday. Hotel clean & spacious. Being a Courtyard no free WiFi in bedrooms only lobby so a bit of a pain. Only let down was the food. Plenty of choice but plates cold and some of the food lukewarm so by the time you took your food to your table it was cold. We thought breakfast was included and at the end were charged €20 pp per day for breakfast - would have eaten out if I had known as I have eaten better at other Marriott hotels. We were too early to check in so left our luggage at reception. The staff were friendly and helpful and the décor of the hotel bright and modern. We ate once in the evening but didn't find the food exceptional.

Hotel is a 5 minute walk to the metro (Kriaeu) and 9 stops later you are in the centre (Karlsplatz) with other sightseeing stops on that line and it is very quick. The shopping centre is one metro stop away or a 10 minute walk (Stadion) and you are right there when you exit the metro. Plenty of shops and restaurants. We tried the unlimited Chinese Buffet - great. Very easy to get to and worth it for the saving on the hotel room compared to city centre prices. We purchased a 72 hour ticket, validated it prior to travel and hopped on and off the metro. The metro is clean and spacious and very informative.

Taxi to the hotel from the airport €30 but we took the metro back as only 1 change (Kriaeu to Pratestern) and then blue line (S7) direct to the airport (30 minutes max). It cost us €4.00 each. Wouldn't bother with the sightseeing bus as you see so much more walking around. Schonbrunn Palace, St Stephens Cathedral & Church of St. Charles Borromeo (Karlskirche) were 3 sights we would definitely recommend. We didn't have time to see everything so will have to return. Would I stay at this hotel again - yes as it was a pleasant stay with easy access to the centre and sightseeing locations for the cost.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paulinetaff96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a great hotel. The rooms were spacious and loved it. The reception were really friendly and helpful. They had ice making machines on each floor near the elevator. You can buy snacks,water and drinks in the lobby. It's near the metro. There's a Spar supermarket within walking distance from the hotel.
Everything is great except that our friend lost his backpack while having breakfast. A man in a business suit got the bag while my friend was on his seat having breakfast. They do not ask for your room number when you enter the restaurant. No cameras in the dining area so there's no way to review what happened. The breakfast area could be really crowded with all the tour groups.
This is not the hotel if you want a quiet hotel and near the city centre because it's a bit far.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chubbywabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Even though it's located out side of the city center, it's right on a metro line that goes directly into the heart of the city in about 20 minutes. Service is good. We stayed in a suite which was spacious and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here during our trip to Vienna and loved Liv the receptionist. She was extremely accommodating and went out of her way to insure that we had a comfortable stay. She is a huge asset to the Marriott team and should not go unnoticed. Thanks Liv for making our experience in Vienna memorable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of summer 2013. It´s about 2,5km from the inner centrum, but we didn´t bother, took a nice walk every morning, (about 25 minutes?)

The taxi in Vienna is really cheap, we used it wenever we got tired of walking.

We really enyojed the hotel gym, they got their own instructor and a lot of weigths and cardio machines! Also enyojed the relax area at the top floor. They got diffrent kinds of saunas. :-)

The breakfast and brunch is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joosefin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went there as part of a Newmarket tour. To be fair to the hotel this was supposed to be in the City centre, according to Newmarket, but is way out of town, in a quiet university complex. The tour company says it is near the Prater, but you would have to go quite a way to get there. Rooms were excellent and comfortable, and very clean. The bar and restaurant were nice areas, and staff were friendly and helpful. However the evening we arrived there was little room in the restaurant, who told us we should have booked. No where in the area to eat, so ordered room service, only to be told I would have to go and collect it as there was no one available to deliver it!!. Don't think they have the staff to cope. Very near the underground station, but not somewhere I would choose to stay if I wanted to be in the centre of one Europe's most beautiful cities.

Room Tip: this is a nice hotel for business travellers, too far out of city centre for tourists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonjaBohrer, Geschäftsführer at Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Wien Messe and especially for taking the time to write an honest comment on your impressions on your stay. Your valuable feedback helps us to continuously improve our service.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that we were able to convince you of our hospitality. Thank you for an average review of 3. If you want to share further feedback with us, please feel free to do so.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Wien Messe in the near future.

Best regards,

Sonja Bohrer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

the hotel near by train station, this is adding value. Clean room, great & a lots of food you can grabs while breakfast, good service. Accomplish with floor heater and tv speaker to your toilet :)
where you can relax peacefully after a whole day in town, very quite area. but be careful of thief's around the restaurant when you're having breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewiika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonjaBohrer, General Manager at Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Wien Messe and especially for taking the time to write an honest comment on your impressions on your stay. Your valuable feedback helps us to continuously improve our service.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that we were able to convince you of our hospitality. Thank you for an average review of 3. If you want to share further feedback with us, please feel free to do so.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Wien Messe in the near future.

Best regards,
Sonja Bohrer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#72 of 359 in Vienna
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien
Margareten
Falkensteiner Hotel Wien Margareten
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 359 in Vienna
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe

Address: Trabrennstrasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Courtyard Vienna Messe)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Vienna
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#62 Business Hotel in Vienna
#62 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £63 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Vienna's lively center stands Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Prater/Messe. Ideally located in the business quarter "Viertel 2", our modern hotel in Messe, Vienna, Austria sits near the Vienna fairgrounds, Reed Exhibition Messe Wien, the green Prater and the Ernst Happel stadium. The city center can be reached within 10 minutes as the hotel offers direct access to the underground U2. All major highways and the airport are within immediate reach away by car. All guest rooms offer individual air condition, comfortable Courtyard beds, laptop safe, W-LAN, flat screen with satellite TV, coffee & tea making facilities, refrigerator, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Vienna Messe Hotel Vienna
Vienna Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing