We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot chocolate heaven”

Gelateria Hoher Markt
Ranked #62 of 102 Dessert in Vienna
Cuisines: Diner
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Level Contributor
159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hot chocolate heaven”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Omg - did I die and go to hot chocolate heaven? Seriously good. On a late Friday night after walking around most of day this feels like bliss. Must come back for the gelato!

Helpful?
Thank Shanara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
183 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“The true and genuine italian ice-cream”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This Gelateria is a must to get a tasty and refreshing ice cream homemade in respect of the italian tradition. THe ice cream is light and tasty, the portions are huge and the price is moderate.
Would definitely reccomend to choose Pistacchio or Coffee, the latter tastes like freshly made espresso.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StudentelloMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Great ice cream, but ..."”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The ice cream was really great. Perhaps the best we had in Vienna, including Greissler and Veganista. They serve in huge sizes and sell it for an affordable price. That is the “pro”. Now the “con”. Since my 11 year old son got tired of walking around the streets of Vienna, we wanted to sit down for 5 minutes at Gelateria Hoher Markt and eat our ice creams sitting. It was late in the night and except one, all the tables were empty. Still, a lady came by and said that since we bought our ice creams on the cones, we were not allowed to sit at the Gelateria. I understand your principles, but was it really necessary to embarrass a father in front of an 11 year old child? So be careful, and try not to sit at the Gelateria after you buy your cone ice cream.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gürcan Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Tasty Treats”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you're looking for some good gelato while touring Vienna (which you should be), you won't go wrong at the Gelateria. There were plenty of flavors to choose from, at fair prices, and with excellent customer service! Delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeju Island, South Korea
Level Contributor
227 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Our vote for best Ice-Cream in Vienna”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Believe me, we tried many different Ice-Creams whilst in Vienna, and this place is our number one choice. Each flavour that we had was delicious - the favorites probably being pistachio, lemon and chocolate.

Service friendly and efficient. Coffee great.

If you're in the area - you should definitely visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelateria Hoher Markt also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Gelateria Hoher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing