We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #29 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nashville
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The location was perfect. The room very upscale and comfortable. The bathroom was just fine. I loved the decor. The people who work in this hotel are happy and knowledgeable. They smile when you approach.
The restaurant I wondered about. The room was very attractive, but there were never any patrons in it.
The value for the room rate was spot on.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bswtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,844
    761
    179
    44
    22
See reviews for
501
1,378
108
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect. The hotel is situated right in the city centre, with most of the main attractions in Vienna just a few minutes walk away. The hotel is very easy to get to. There is a metro stop (line 3) just outside the hotel. We took the S7 train from the airport to Wien Mittre and then got the line 3 metro straight to the hotel. This only cost 3.60 Euros. Taking the S7 train to Vienna city centre is much cheaper than taking the CAT service, and the S7 train only takes about 5 minutes longer than the heavily publicised CAT service.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful. I asked for a room with a view of the city, and they delivered by placing us in a superior room on the 6th floor of the hotel with a view of the Hofburg palace.
The room was nice and quite spacious, but we go two twin beds pushed together. It would have been nice to have a double bed or a king sized bed. The bathroom was a good size, but it would have been handy to have a shower cap and maybe a couple more toiletries in there. For a 5 star hotel, they were a bit stingy with their provisions. For example, you only get 1 black tea bag and 1 herbal tea bag a day. We felt that this wasn't enough.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, as breakfast there is very expensive. It's 28 Euros per person. I had read previous reviews on this site, and took the advice of going to Cafe Central for breakfast on one of the days that we were in Vienna. This was much cheaper and the food was good.

The hotel bar was quite busy and lively, and they had a live piano player in the evenings. However, smoking is allowed in the bar, and it was a bit smoky in there.

The hotel has a spa, which we visited on two occasions. The sauna, steam room and relaxation area are fine, but we felt that they missed a trick by not putting in a swimming pool, or even a Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast at one of the local cafes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BSesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay here. We arrived early and our room was ready to check in much to our surprise.
The hotel is modern and elegant and could not be better situated, less than 50m from Cafe Central to one side and a similar distance to the Hapsburg Palace. It is also located immediately on the U3 stop at Herrengasse, just four stops from the Westbanhoff train station. Could not be more simple. Of note, the exit that is immediately next to the hotel is stairs only, so you may want the exit with the lifts, which puts you only about a block away, especially if you have heavy luggage.
The staff here were superb and helpful giving us great information and suggestions.
The hotel often runs weekend specials and some at other times of the year, so continue checking for this before you arrive. We were able to save nearly 50% on this weekend stay, making it not only perfect but highly affordable. If you are lucky enough to get one of these rates, you might not get the breakfast, which is very expensive as an add on. However, places to eat around the area as an alternative abound, and are reasonable.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoonerWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

we ususally do not stay in hotels of this price range, but decided to take the splurge in vienna and it was well worth it. the hotel is very luxorious and everything was done extremely well and the location was fanatastic. the concierge was great in gettting us opera tickets. in addition, it had to be the most comfortable bed we ever slept in

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

a room facing the street and not the courtyard. The only problem we had with the hotel was our first night we were in a room facing the courtyard and also south. The temperature in Vienna had just begun to warm up and our room was incredibly hot. It was too hot to sleep and the air conditioning did hot help. The next morning when we inquired about switching rooms, we were told the ac was not on yet in the hotel...they switched us to a room facing out with windows that opened wide for a breeze -and after that everything was great. Loved having the mini-bar fridge available for goodies form the Naschmarkt, and the bathrooms are stunning. Rooms were spacious compared to other European hotels I've stayed at. Bar was a great place to sit and have a drink in the afternoon. We did not include breakfast in our room rate, so I cannot comment on that, and previous reviews had mentioned that the minibar was included in the rate...but there was a sign in the fridge indicating prices for the beverages - confusing. The internet worked great and was very useful to have.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room that you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gef03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This was the second time I stayed at the Steigenberger Herrenhof. I arrived early and was allowed to check in already after a short wait. To compensate for the short wait they offered a free welcome drink in the bar (only later did I discover that other people received this automatically). Otherwise check in was flawless.

This time my room felt a bit smaller and it was leading to the back rather than the front. On the positive side it was super quiet. All amenities that you can wish for are there. There is a kettle with coffee and tea, a desk and a bathroom. Last time I had a bathtub which was much nicer than the shower this time. Slippers and bathrobe are only available in the spa or you can have them delivered to your room.

There are two things I love about the hotel: the spa area and the breakfast. The spa does not have a pool but a steam room and sauna plus lovely day beds. Great for relaxing. There is also a small gym which was totally overcrowded when I was there in the morning. The breakfast is fantastic and full of choice. Service is fast and friendly and the buffet never seems to run out. The only downside is that it can get crowded with group tours.

Overall, a fantastic experience again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Just returned from a weekend away in Vienna,this hotel is very central to everything,the room was very quiet,no traffic noise at all and the breakfast was lovely,all three things important for a city break in my eyes !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
848 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,068 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,062 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 360 in Vienna
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing