We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grate Location but Unkind Stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #31 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
712 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Grate Location but Unkind Stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We arrive afternoon and got a room on the 1st floor, when I ask to get a higher floor the Clarke, without any smile as all, advised me that they don't have any other room available.
After waiting long time for the lift, and wonder around the labyrinth corridor, we arrive to a smoking room, which was disgusting. We went down to the reception and ask to change to a non-smoking room. Suddenly they have a room on the 3rd floor for us. It took us about 25 minutes all this unnecessary waist of time! the location is great and also the decoration of the room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,617
    689
    157
    42
    20
See reviews for
436
1,212
95
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel was located steps from a metro exit in the heart of Vienna, making travel easy from the main train station (which is very beautiful!) Everything about this hotel is 5 star: it's location, the beautiful rooms and downstairs bar, and the special treatment we received from our excellent hostess (Maureen) and concierge (Bernhard) . Our room was amazing and huge....with a balcony overlooking Herrengasse. Comfortable beds with lots of huge feather pillows, coffee bar and minibar, and a terrific bathroom. Additionally lots of storage space for our luggage and things. Wow....simply amazing! The shopping area called "Kohlmarkt" is around the corner as is St. Stephen's Cathedral. Horse drawn carriages pass by the front of the hotel and can be rented just down the street. There is a little pastry/coffee shop steps from the hotel with delicious cappucinos to start off your day! Make sure to ask Bernhard or one of the other concierges about tickets and maps for the Hop On Hop Off. This is a great way to see the major sites of Vienna and learn a little history associated with each. Also, they can assist you in finding tickets for performances other than the Mozart Concert which is being sold on the street by the costumed salesmen. We did go to Mozart concert and it was decent, but we would have preferred to attend a performance, had one been available, that wasn't being directed at tourists who probably don't know much more about music other than Mozart was a famous pianist and composer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Herrengasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready2go4more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Its central location proved very convenient, it enabled us to move around easily both for business and pleasure. The breakfast was excellent. The reception staff were most helpful to overcome the problem I had to send / receive emails from my room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is located located near a subway station and is on a street lined with some nice stores. The hotel staff speak English and German and are very helpful and friendly. We lost all of our luggage and the front desk staff made it their personal mission to locate our luggage, which we appreciated. Our double room, was a decent size and clean. As a lover of the colour purple, I found the room to my taste and to be modern, yet peaceful. One small pet peeve, that seems to be very common in European hotels--two twin beds are pushed together to form a double bed. The hotel provides some nice products and room slippers. The first round in the mini bar is on the hotel gratis--albeit, 2 waters and 2 cans of pop--this is original. More importantly, WiFi is included with your room at no additional cost!! If you are looking for last minute tickets, check in with the front desk staff. The hotel was able to obtain, last minute, amazing tickets to the Vienna State Opera. Finally, the hotel lounge and restaurant are excellent. The restaurant offers Viennese fare and is quite stylish--I noticed that native Viennese dine at the restaurant. Overall a pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: I requested a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying with us and taking the time to write a review on the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. I am pleased to read, that you felt happy and comfortable with us.
Indeed the beeding in Europe frequently is made of 2 single mattresses, it is mainly because many European citizens prefer this for their sleeping comfort. Howver, we also feature king size mattresses in a large amount of rooms, mainly in our deluxe category. So should you come back to Vienna, you might consider to take an upgraded category where besides the different bedding we also offer free minibar during the entire stay and some more space in your room.
We do hope to welcome you back in our great city and thank you once more for your booking.
Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

As many people have commented before, this hotel is a great value because you get a modern, clean hotel with good service right in the heart of Vienna. Best of all, the U-Bahn station that takes you everywhere is literally next to the property. My wife and I also enjoyed the wonderful breakfast buffet with everything one could wish for. The only thing that maybe wasn't all that great, was the size of the room and its view into the inside courtyard. All in all, not a biggie. Everything else was good.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room away from the staircases and/or elevator banks as the adjacent rooms ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for writing a review on our hotel. I am pleased to read, that your stay with us was comfortable and that you enjoyed our service and offers.
Should you come back to Vienna I recommend to consider one of the higher categories if you enjoy to have more space in your bedroom. Also the inner court ist very quite but of course we can arrange rooms to the Herrengasse or one of the adjoining streets that during night time are also very quiet. Just let us know at time of reservation and we will do the utmost to accommodate your wishes.
Thank you and see you back in Vienna soon
Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hotel location is perfect. Breakfast is excellent. bar is superb. The only inconvenience was the room we had stayed being too small. Otherwise, there was nothing to complain

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zihni75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

Central, clean, not too expensive and pretty modern. Good hotel o a quick business trip, but also as a basis when visiting Vienna fo leisure.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LorJaz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#28 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing