We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #29 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 October 2013

During a winetrip to Austria, we booked this hotel for our group. Great atmosfaire, top quality staff, and very nice breakfast. A great 5* hotel at good price, pinside the 'ring' in Vienna, so close to all the 'must see'.

Room Tip: 5th floor, overlooking street, but absolutely no noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perbuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 3,315 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked this place after reading all the great reviews here but I am a little disappointed to say, the hotel did not live up to all the hype.

The place is indeed incredibly centrally located, a stone throw from St Stephan's place, the lovely Kohlmarket and 3 minutes away from the lovely museum quarter. The hotel is also in an incredible renovated building, really something. The breakfast was also awesome, massive selection of everything Viennese and nice, absolutely loved it.

Where the hotel falls short however is in its atmosphere and design, neither of which felt particularly lavish or worthy of 5 stars in any way. The room that we were given was incredibly small and on the roof, which meant it got VERY cold at night with NO heating. When we asked them to fix the heating they just shrugged and said it isnt working for our room without giving us any further options. Later on we just asked for extra blankets. That to me was just unprofessional, the least I would expect from them is to offer us another better heated room when it was 7 degrees outside!

The design felt too sparse and cheap, and as someone who understands this aspect of the service industry particularly well and is visiting Vienna mostly for this specific point, I would say they messed this one up. They tried to do the neo-baroque thing, which to me is pointless because why not just do neo-classical with baroque influences in such a classic city. That is totally subjective however and for most people it might seems like a brilliant design, it just didn't work in my opinion.

Undoubtedly the biggest turn off is their lack of engagement, even printing the boarding pass ended up being a big problem as the computer in the lobby wouldn't read or download PDFs.

All in all I would say if you are looking for a central stay in a clean place go for this, but don't expect the 5 star treatment, I wouldn't give this place more than 4 stars and that's pushing it.

Room Tip: Avoid the roof, it gets cold and the sound of the water hitting the ceiling is akin to chinese tortu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear KayDude,
I am sorry to read, that we failed to meet your expectations. As you stated, design and atmosphere is a very personal thing and I understand, that the style of our hotel is not what you like.
Service of course is what WE need to get right and I do apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered. During your stay, we had the first really cold days in Vienna going from Summer to winterly temperatures. I took us a while to get the technical setup right in the entire house. The switch from cooling to heating did not work properly in some rooms. Please excuse this shortfall . We do try to overcome these situations by checking all rooms but we seem to have failed in your case.
Thank you however for your open feedback.
With kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The location was great in the Centrum district

The hotel staff was really helpful - esp
1. Richard Masuch the concierge who helped us book our train tickets to Budapest(we had to to this in the last minute as we only found out Avis rental cars cannot be driven in Hungary or Slovakia after we got the car).
2. David Jack the English concierge at the door - he was genuinely friendly and great with the kids

The only downside:
Parking for the hotel was a bit expensive - EUR 38 day for our rental car.
(And I learnt later that one could park in the streets for free on weekends around the hotel)

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front would have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a 'clubbing in Vienna' package with superior room, dine for two & club Puffy entry.

Absolutely met & exceeded expectations. Beautiful room, divine bed. Very good attention to details. STEIGENBERGER Rocks.

RESTAURANT
We enjoyed the restaurant in the evening, it was a good experience but it missed a bit of an ambiance as the room was very small. Very good staff and service however.

BREAKFAST
Fantastic. Service TOP.

Would recommend and go back without hesitation. Despite higher price tag vs Lower quality & service as a typical standardized like a RADISSON Blu & co that totally lack service and guest attention.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexLX64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hotel is walking distance to all the main attractions. Very clean and modern room. Breakfast is good with lot of choice. We stayed in a fourth floor room and it's very quiet. Very good value compared to the other hotels in central Vienna

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwinStarsCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Excelent hotel in the Center of the city, near the U3 (underground). Beautiful, spacious, clean rooms and wonderful breakfast in a spacious and bright room. The staff members were very helpful and courtiuos. What esle would you need?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for two nights on a business trip/conference.

Good things:
- deluxe room was comfortable and spacious with high ceilings and nice decor. We had an upgrade which included free minibar - which even if it was limited to beer and soft drinks was still appreciated.
- great central location and next to a U-bahn station
- friendly and helpful staff
- nice bar and reasonable food (although location means you would go out for evening meals

Not so good
- aircon a bit noisy
- 'free' wifi a bit slow, better to pay the €6 a day to upgrade

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room, it looked like these had significantly more space than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montydoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,388 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,895 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,231 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 358 in Vienna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#22 Family Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £135 - £541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing