We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in City centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #31 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in City centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I and my husband have stayed in this hotel for one night. We didn't have a breakfast because the location of hotel enable different types of good breakfast..
Location is realy great: You need 5 minutes walk to St. Stephen Cathedral.
Parking: provided. Hotel has own parking, but the space is of course limited.

The rooms are well and modern equiped and clean. The content of mini-bar is poor but I believe it must be reason for that. You can get different things on question free of charge.

We realy like this hotel and will return during our staying in Wien.

Recommend to everyone who wants to stay in hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona_1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,620
    689
    157
    42
    20
See reviews for
438
1,212
95
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We've stayed at the Herrenhof twice now and will definitely return. It would be hard to beat the location in the city center. Great bar, supberb breakfast, perfect service, extremely comfortable bed, tastefully modern room decor. There is a subway station directly around the corner if you want to venture to other areas of town, but pretty much EVERYTHING is easily reachable on foot. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuhltschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
438 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I was there over New Year with a friend ...apart from the excellent location, nothing worked....housekeeping was sloppy ( threadbare bath towels an most days no face cloth), they did not even wash all the used glasses...for breakfast one had to walk through a smokers bar that stank to high heaven, reception staff were nice but it seems trainees without experience....room service tentative....and all this for a sky high price of a suite! The concierge though was FANTASTIC!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinem449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear jacquelinem449,
I am really sorry to read, that we did not meet your expectations during your stay over New Year.
We will take your points very seroiusly into our review meetings in order to identify areas of critique and need for improvement when handling such a busy period as New Year.
Please accept our apologies for all inconveniences you have encountered.
I will of course forward your appreciation to our concierge who is indeed a very valuable team member.
Thank you again for your open words and should you be back in Vienna please let me know in order to find a suitable arrangement.
Yours sincerely
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agrigento, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location of this hotel could not be better. Breakfast was great most days. On new Years' day, however, confusion reigned as the hotel tried to combine late breakfast with early Brunch and moved dishes as you were trying to fill your plate from them. Like many hotels in old buildings, the large and spacious room had been subdivided to create a sleeping space, a bathroom and separate toilet - a nice touch - and an entrance area.
The bar is very expensive for its sterile atmosphere and slow service.
For a top class hotel it was disappointing in several ways - a micro wardrobe with too few coat hangers, Something in the air irritated the eyes of one of our party - dust mites? While the bathroom was wiped shiny and the bed was made, the sleeping side of the room appeared to have been only perfunctorily tidied and instead of a double bed we had two single beds pushed together so that unless you were careful, you ended up on the floor between them.
Don't try to get the hotel to call a taxi for you, walk 5 minutes to the nearby taxi stand:- neither on new years' eve nor on the day when we had to catch the plane did the taxi they ordered come in any reasonable length of time so that we had to take the initiative and find a taxi ourselves to get to our destination on time.
Otherwise reception were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madrilena23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Madrilena23,
thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in our hotel.
I have taken your comments on the setup on Jan 1st for breakfast an brunch to our improvement tasks in order to ensure this will be handled more smoothly on future occasions. We are glad to receive such detailed information as this helps to indentify strengths and address areas for improvement.
Let me ensure you, that all our rooms including aircondition and other supplies are periodically checked in order to ensure maximum hygiene and cleanliness.
We do hope to welcome you back in Vienna in the near future
With kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a truly excellent hotel. The location is ideal for sightseeing and easily reachable from the airport. Rooms are very comfortable and of high quality even though mine did not have much of a view. The hotel bar is really cool. Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivankcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great hotel, very helpful staff. We initially booked a superior non-refundable room, and then the same price was available for deluxe, the staff kindly upgraded it us without any reservation. Complimentary mini-bar is always nice. Location is super.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mushegh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
251 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just back from Vienna. Stayed 3 nights in Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof.

Definitely, it is not 5 stars hotel. Because the only location is perfect, the rest is mediocre, at best.

First, interior design and decoration materials look rather cheap and overly simple (primitive). Window curtains, tiles in bathroom, lamps, furniture, everything on a very modest, economy side. No classy feel at all.

Second, terrible beds with very thin mattresses and terribly uncomfortable, shapeless pillows.

Third, the window frames are of old type. So, noise from the cars and trucks can be easily heard in the room, especially if you stay on the 1st floor.

Fourth, the restaurant is a complete failure. While the breakfasts were acceptable, the dinner was a disaster. It took them 2 hours to serve standard 4-course menu. The service was slow, big pauses between the courses. The food itself was completely tasteless and soulless. Waiters mixed up orders, destroyed cork when opening our wine...
Only 4 tables were occupied and, still the staff of the restaurant was not able to handle this.

Fifth, at the departure receptionists couldn't find our suitcases. What was even worse, they were trying to give us someone else's luggage, arguing that the luggage has tags with the numbers matching the numbers in our storage tags. Thanks God, after 5-6 minutes of such stress, an older colleague of the receptionist came and found our suitcases.

No, I don't recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexTrav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#28 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing