We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Hyatt Vienna(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Wandl(Vienna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Graben Hotel(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Orient(Vienna)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,475)
Filter reviews
3,475 results
Traveller rating
2,251
929
209
55
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,251
929
209
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcentral cafespanish riding schooldeluxe roomhofburg palaceexcellent hotelfree mini barwalking distanceexcellent breakfastmajor attractionsexcellent staythe heart of the citynice roomsubway stationrooms are spaciousold citycentral vienna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,426 - 1,431 of 3,475 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We booked a suite as we were travelling with our two dogs, as usual. The staff were a bit stretched on arrival but they were extremely pleasant and attentive.
The quality of the refurbishment in the hotel is perhaps not up to current 5* hotels but its location and the general attitude of the staff make it a winning formula.
The location is as central as you could hope to be, without any real hassle getting to and fro (we brought our car).
Not particularly cheap but what is in Vienna!. On balance good value and a nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IncaWalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I and my husband have stayed in this hotel for one night. We didn't have a breakfast because the location of hotel enable different types of good breakfast..
Location is realy great: You need 5 minutes walk to St. Stephen Cathedral.
Parking: provided. Hotel has own parking, but the space is of course limited.

The rooms are well and modern equiped and clean. The content of mini-bar is poor but I believe it must be reason for that. You can get different things on question free of charge.

We realy like this hotel and will return during our staying in Wien.

Recommend to everyone who wants to stay in hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona_1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We've stayed at the Herrenhof twice now and will definitely return. It would be hard to beat the location in the city center. Great bar, supberb breakfast, perfect service, extremely comfortable bed, tastefully modern room decor. There is a subway station directly around the corner if you want to venture to other areas of town, but pretty much EVERYTHING is easily reachable on foot. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuhltschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was there over New Year with a friend ...apart from the excellent location, nothing worked....housekeeping was sloppy ( threadbare bath towels an most days no face cloth), they did not even wash all the used glasses...for breakfast one had to walk through a smokers bar that stank to high heaven, reception staff were nice but it seems trainees without experience....room service tentative....and all this for a sky high price of a suite! The concierge though was FANTASTIC!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jacquelinem449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear jacquelinem449,
I am really sorry to read, that we did not meet your expectations during your stay over New Year.
We will take your points very seroiusly into our review meetings in order to identify areas of critique and need for improvement when handling such a busy period as New Year.
Please accept our apologies for all inconveniences you have encountered.
I will of course forward your appreciation to our concierge who is indeed a very valuable team member.
Thank you again for your open words and should you be back in Vienna please let me know in order to find a suitable arrangement.
Yours sincerely
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location of this hotel could not be better. Breakfast was great most days. On new Years' day, however, confusion reigned as the hotel tried to combine late breakfast with early Brunch and moved dishes as you were trying to fill your plate from them. Like many hotels in old buildings, the large and spacious room had been subdivided to create a sleeping space, a bathroom and separate toilet - a nice touch - and an entrance area.
The bar is very expensive for its sterile atmosphere and slow service.
For a top class hotel it was disappointing in several ways - a micro wardrobe with too few coat hangers, Something in the air irritated the eyes of one of our party - dust mites? While the bathroom was wiped shiny and the bed was made, the sleeping side of the room appeared to have been only perfunctorily tidied and instead of a double bed we had two single beds pushed together so that unless you were careful, you ended up on the floor between them.
Don't try to get the hotel to call a taxi for you, walk 5 minutes to the nearby taxi stand:- neither on new years' eve nor on the day when we had to catch the plane did the taxi they ordered come in any reasonable length of time so that we had to take the initiative and find a taxi ourselves to get to our destination on time.
Otherwise reception were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madrilena23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Madrilena23,
thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in our hotel.
I have taken your comments on the setup on Jan 1st for breakfast an brunch to our improvement tasks in order to ensure this will be handled more smoothly on future occasions. We are glad to receive such detailed information as this helps to indentify strengths and address areas for improvement.
Let me ensure you, that all our rooms including aircondition and other supplies are periodically checked in order to ensure maximum hygiene and cleanliness.
We do hope to welcome you back in Vienna in the near future
With kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews