We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #29 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Belmont, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A very nice hotel and an even better location. Most things that you will want to visit are within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are very modern, heated bathroom floors, motorized shades and comfortable beds. The room we had was small but had everything we needed except a grab bar at the tub. The restaurant was excellent. Not many people were eating there but the food was great. Breakfast was a large buffet with a variety of meats, fruits, breads etc. The bar was large and had live entertainment (with a cover charge) one of the nights we were there.

Room Tip: If you think you need a grab bar in the bathroom tub, you should mention it when you book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Deborah R,

thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. We are happy to read, that you like our design of the rooms and our bar. For your future stays we recommend a “deluxe” room, it is more spacious and the minibar is included every day.

We hope to welcome you back soon at the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof.

Kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,907
    782
    184
    46
    25
See reviews for
529
1,421
112
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a great hotel experience.

The hotel location cannot be better, most everything in Vienna is within walking distance.

The hotel is set in an older beautiful building that has been completely remodeled and modernized on the inside. rooms are large and clean with a very modern feel, the lobby and bar area are terrific, and service is attentive and pleasant.

to top it all off, it is one of the most affordable 5 star hotels in Vienna.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZMGSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear AZMGSR,

thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service and performance level met your expectations.

We are happy that you liked our location, our service and our staff.

The entire Steigenberger Herrenhof team would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards from Vienna,

Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel. It's located in a great part of the city, accessible and central. Plenty of options to eat, sightsee and shop if you care to do so by foot. Very easy to access the U-bahn or other transportation to seek other sights further out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan_phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mr. Jonathan_Phillips,

thank you very much for your nice comments about your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. It is very important for us to get your feedback to check and to extend our quality of service.

We are happy to read that you like our central location and our easy access to the public transports.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at the hotel.

Best regards from Vienna,
Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Location: A stone's throw away from the Hofburg and plenty of other places of interest with metro stops around the corner.
Staff Service: The reception service was depended on what time you go there and who you communicate with but mostly good service at night. (less busy)
Room service: 1- You are charged a set amount for delivering food to your room no matter how small (or large of an order)
2- The food was of low quality.
3- Takes a lot of time to deliver (More than 1.5 hours for a sandwich)
Design: The room and hotel were well designed overall with small touches here and there.

P.S: There are plenty of good places to eat specifically "Le Bol" it's a small french cafe that serves excellent coffee and snacks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ameen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Ameen A,

thank you for choosing the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof and for taking the time to comment on your stay. It is important to us to get regular guest feedback in order to optimize our services and adapt them to our customer needs.
We are really sorry that we could not meet all your expectations entirely. We talked to our staff at the Front Office, that they have to take enough time for each guest. Sometimes, however, there may be a short waiting period due to a large number of simultaneous arrivals and departures. We kindly ask for your understanding.
We take your concerns very seriously and have already spoken with our Food & Beverage Manager that our room service did not meet your expectations – both in time and quality.
The charge for the room service is common in most hotels for the in-room delivery.

We hope that you will give us a second try to impress you of our services at the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof.
The entire Steigenberger Herrenhof team would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from Vienna,
Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

- Our room was spacious, clean and the toilet is good.
- The room was quite and the beds are very comfortable.
- The location is wonderful.

- The TV is way too small to enjoy any type of program. Even too small to watch the news. I am sorry to say this size of TV is not acceptable in a 5* hotel. The channels are so limited and so boring for English speaking clients.

- Slow Internet is free with access possibilities on multiple devices.
In case you pay for higher speed then you only have access on ONE device. It makes more sense the other way around.
P.S. You can't even pay double to get another device connected on the same room number!!!!!

- Staff are generally friendly and professional. They don't go the extra mile but it is fine.
- Tea/Coffee facility is available in the room however NO water is provided to make them.
- Room service menu is extremely limited + you have to pay 7 Euros as delivery charge which could be more costly than the order itself.

If you want me to stay again, please give HIGH speed Internet FREE and also place larger screen TV in the rooms. I will stay in your hotel every time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeeF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest ZeeF44,

thank you for choosing the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof and for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay.

We are glad, that you enjoyed our location and our rooms. Presently we plan a bigger project to change all our TVs in the whole hotel by the end 2014. Then we offer much bigger screens and a lot more channels in different languages.

Further to your feedback on high speed internet we have increased access for up to 3 devices. Thank you for your hint.

We are really sorry, that our room service menu did not meet your expectations. For future stays just let us know your preferences – it is no problem to serve additional food selection. The charge for the room service is common in most hotels for the in-room delivery.
For preparing tea or coffee in your room please use the water out of the tab. It is of very good quality.

We hope, to welcome you back soon at the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof.

Nice regards from Vienna,
Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent four nights at the Steigenberger in late April and for the most part enjoyed our stay.
The room was small but quite nice-especially the bathroom. The location is excellent with the Hofburg two blocks in one direction and Cafe Central two blocks in the other. The U-bahn station is next to the hotel so you can't get much better than that. The breakfast buffet had a good variety and all of the food was tasty. The only concern we had was with the front desk staff. Most of them were knowledgeable and professional. Unfortunately there were two women in particular that were surly at best. They never smiled, never addressed us as we approached the desk, very unhelpful, etc...definitely not the level of service expected in a four star hotel. This lasted throughout our stay so we left wondering why the hotel would have them in the front as your first and last impression. Otherwise, the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tws1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest “tws1086”,
thank you for your comments about your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. It is really necessary for us to get your feedback to entend our services.

We are happy to read, that you liked our rooms the location and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
We want to apologize, that our staff at the front office did not meet your expectations. Normally this is not our standard. We talked to the front office manager, to train the employees, and help to improve attention to our guests.
This should not be an excuse, but at that moment there we had a high sick ratio at the front office.

We hopefully look forward to see you soon again at the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof.

Nice regards from Vienna,
Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having been recommended this hotel by British Airways because of location and Quality i went ahead and booked it, and how right were they to suggest this hotel, location was terrific right in the centre of where we wanted to be, a few minutes walk from The Spanish Riding School and Shopping centre.We arrived before official check in time but they found us a room was that available, the room was superb both in quality, appearance, comfort, i have stayed in a lot of hotels in Europe and in can say this this hotel has to be the best yet, the room rate included a free mini bar (soft drinks) and breakfast which was outstanding both in choice of food and drinks,for example a choice of 10 fruit drinks, both hot and cold food selection, pastries, fresh fruit, if you wanted they would make you a fresh omelette. I cannot express how much i enjoyed our stay at this hotel and can say without any hesitation that you would not be disappointed. We will be going again without any doubt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norman p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 361 in Vienna
2,092 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing