We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still, my favourite hotel in Wien”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #32 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still, my favourite hotel in Wien”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Well, what can I say, I stayed at Steigenberger in Wien many times
With the time, I understood that I have become very demanding with other Hotels, maybe because I am accustomed to the quality level of this one
The location is really good as a Tourist, I would say perfect; I have read in previous reviews about the horses (clip-clop)... yes there are horses, it is annoying sometimes but this is because Herrengasse is one of the favourite road in Vienna to see as a tourist, so we can not complain about it.
The personnel change very often (typical of Vienna anyway) sometimes you are lucky, sometimes not, it is the downside of the turnover
It's really clean, that's another very good point
I would reccomend it
Ok, it is not the cheapest hotel, but you will be in the very heart of Wien

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest Eveight,

thank you for choosing the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof again.

We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us and that our service and performance level met your expectations.

Best regards from Vienna,

Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    716
    167
    43
    21
See reviews for
459
1,261
100
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mozambique
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have stayed prior at this hotel chain in another city, and was so impressed tried it again here. While not quite as luxurious, it was still a great location, large spacious room. Exercise room was disappointing so ran in the imperial gardens instead. Surprisingly quiet for the location. Bathroom is great as are the toilettries. Mini bar included in price of room. A very nice sleep in great beds.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozReliefWorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest MozReliefWorkers,

thank you for taking time to comment on your stay .
We are delighted that you give the Steigenberger Hotel Group again your assurance and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry, that the fitness room did not meet your expectations.

It is important to us to get regular guest feedback in order to optimize our services and adapt them to our customer needs.

The entire Steigenberger Herrenhof team would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from Vienna,

Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

All you can ask for in vienna. Centrally located - all destinations within 15 minute walk. Central Cafe steps from the hotel. Try to find a special rate for Deluxe Room which includes free minibar with daily refill (drinks only)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest David Goldy,

thank you for your comment regarding your stay in the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. It is important to us to get regular guest feedback in order to optimize our service and adapt them to our customer needs.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our free minibar and the central location of the Steigenberger Herrenhof.

We hope to welcoming you back soon.

Best regard from Vienna,

Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent hotel all round and excellent treatment from check-in to check-out. We were a family of 4 and had 2 superior rooms with ensuite bathrooms - they were spacious, modern and comfortable. Unlike some other hotels, rooms were made up and cleaned early every morning (unless the 'do not disturb sign' was on the door handle) which was great!

The location of this hotel is perfect - we were able to walk to many tourist attractions, and there are lots of shops, restaurants and cafes nearby (Cafe Central is just a block away!). All staff were very kind, helpful and polite. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear efst_M,

thank you for taking the time to comment your stay. We are glad to read such an amazing feedback like yours.

It gives us pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you praise the helpfulness and politeness of all our staff.
Of course, we will forward it to our employees.

We are also delighted that you like the location of our hotel and the spacious and modern design of the rooms.

The entire Steigenberger Herrenhof team hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Best regards from Vienna,

Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff were welcoming on arrival and, despite an early arrival, still managed to find us a room. The room was excellent, spacious, and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was well designed, and the shower good, although a comfortable water temperature was sometimes difficult to find and maintain. Thermostatically controlled taps are available and I was surprised that a hotel of this had not installed.

The bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well and made it easy to find a comfortable temperature.

The only issue I had with the hotel was the €28 per person cost of the breakfast. The breakfast was not worth this. It felt as though the hotel had reduced the room rate to get more guests and then recovering the shortfall on the room rate by materially over-charging on the breakfast. I have paid half the price at this hotel for much better breakfast offerings. It was also extremely difficult to find out the cost of the breakfast before checking out. Staff at reception were somewhat evasive over the cost and breakfast room staff would not reveal the price. This really let the hotel down.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest Paul M,

thank you for choosing the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof and for taking the time to comment on your stay.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked the design and cleanliness of our rooms.
Thank you for your information regarding the water taps, we will inform our technicians to control this issue.

We are sorry that the breakfast buffet did not meet your expectations entirely. In order to ensure our guests a good start into the day, we offer a huge selection at the breakfast buffet. They range from hot food, sparkling wine, fresh fruit, 8 fruit and vegetable juices, to salmon. For the smaller appetite, we recommend our Viennese breakfast (2 pastries of your choice, jam, butter, a boiled egg and a hot drink), or our little revitalizing breakfast (muesli, freshly squeezed orange juice and a hot drink) each at a price of € 9.50.

The entire Steigenberger Herrenhof team would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from Vienna,

Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent hotel with beautiful rooms. Close to metro but most sights are within walking distance.
Easy to get to the hotel from the train station. Lots of restaurants, nice stores and lively squares around the corner. Great vegetarian place down the street - Freshii. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdsp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear cdsp4,

We highly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and are more than happy to read, that you enjoyed your time at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof.

It is wonderful that you could benefit of our perfect location in the heart of Vienna and experienced a great service at our property.

We are looking forward to seeing you back soon!

Best regards from Vienna,

Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great service by hotel staff, room is new, trendy and clean. Close to historic centre. Minibar is included in the room rate! One of the best hotels I have been to. Would recommend to anyone finding a hotel in Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthangel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Earthangel10,

thank you for choosing the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof and for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service and performance level met your expectations. It is important to us to get regular guest feedback in order to optimize our services and adapt them to our customer needs.

The entire Steigenberger Herrenhof team would be delighted to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from Vienna,

Yours
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing