We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm recommendation”
Review of Hotel Caroline

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caroline
Ranked #127 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

For a 3-star hotel, have no idea what more could be expected! Very nice room, new linen and excellent mattress, even for someone with problems with spine, large bathroom, wi-fi in the room. Everything in the hotel is very clean and tidy, the restaurant is very pleasant area, the tables were always cleaned and set up as no one used them before! Very good breakfast, really enough to start the day. Eggs, several kinds of salami and cheese, butter, paste, jam, honey, yogurt, fruit yogurt, fruits, juices, tea, coffee, a selection of very tasteful breads...

Hotel has good connection with inner city.
Important notice: in Vienna, Sunday is a real holiday! All supermarkets are closed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evroputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Even though a 3 star it did not warrant 1!!! Absolutely zero air conditioning in any of the rooms and all that was provided instead was a small fan that did not rotate. Zero sleep a hell of a lot of sweat. The first time in my life I've rushed to check out and that's from staying in some poor quality places in Africa, Asia and the Middle East before!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpm1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here for a night while passing through Vienna. Super convenient, super comfortable, well kept and maintained, and I loved the decor. We had a small table in our room which was quite useful, comfy beds and plenty of storage space. Very convenient for transport, groceries and shopping. Staff was wonderful, especially the man at the front desk. I have a terrible memory so I don't remember his name but he was extremely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast in the morning was very good, we really liked it. If I were going to Vienna again, I would definitely try to stay here. Really good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookierook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Caroline is located in the 10th district, not really in the best areas of Vienna. Nevertheless, they offer oversized vehicle park garage, a wonderful breakfast, and clean modern rooms. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and they even posted some letters for us upon departure.

Key advantage is that you are in walking distance to U1, giving you access to central Vienna within a short U-Bahn ride.

Great value-for-money hotel to be really recommended.

Room Tip: They have an old and a new part. Choose the old part if you are nostalgic, or the new one if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristosAnesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Hotel is located in a local neighborhood, away from all the tourists. When you arrive at the hotel, you must ring for entry. Once registered your room key will also act as the front door key. The staff was friendly upon check-in was happy to answer questions. My room was small, the décor was in knotty pine. One single bed, the mattress was not very comfortable and only light curtains which in the morning did not keep the sun out, so bring a sleeping mask with you. The room had a small TV with some English speaking channels, also free wifi, and a very clean bathroom, shower only. There is also a safe in the room. The breakfast room was very nice, it was quite large, with comfortable seating and a nice selection of foods, breakfast was included in the room rate.
Getting to and from the main tourist attractions is easy, a bus stop in front of the hotel or the U bahn about two blocks away. All in all, a nice hotel, which made for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed for two nights. Location is perhaps not within walking distance from Vienna old town / city centre, but there are trams and metro stations just couple of minutes by walking from the hotel.
Our room was very clean, very spacious and even it was winter; it was very warm. We had a fridge and a nice big bath tub to warm ourselves after cold day outside.
Breakfast was excellent and staff was very helpful.
Only thing that could be better, was the wi-fi. It did not work well in our room (it kept switching off every few minutes).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our stay at hotel Caroline was excellent. The hotel is within easy reach of the U-bahn station (5 minutes walking), rooms are very clean and the breakfast buffet is great.

Two small remarks:
On the other side of the street, there's a tram depot. This gives some noise if you have a room facing the street.
Also, there was a strong cigarette smell in the corridors, however in the rooms there's no smell at all.

Overall: very good value for money. We would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (not facing the street side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johan_smeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Kolbeck
#228 of 359 in Vienna
224 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#41 of 359 in Vienna
738 reviews
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#210 of 359 in Vienna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caroline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caroline

Address: Gudrunstrasse 138 | 1100 Wien, Vienna 1100, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £50 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caroline 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Caroline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing