We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Hotel Vienna
Ranked #185 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We chose Senator as we needed hotel with good public transport connections plus parking (we arrived by car, but sightseeing in Vienna is smarter to be done via public transport) - of course all this at an affordable price.
A day earlier we stayed at Chopin in Bratislava (same chain) which was a really positive surprise! Senator is one class down (and so is the price ) but it does provide everything needed for a city tour at a truly extra price - we booked at non-ref rate (week prior to arrival) 55 EUR double room incl. breakfast!
Rooms were sufficiently spacious, tram stop to city center in front of the hotel (10 min travel), bus station to Schoenbrunn 5 min walk up the street (~15 min travel to the palace).
Hotel garage was super convenient and affordable (12 EUR per day).
The only downside was the breakfast, where hot dishes were limited to eggs only and the juice was tasteless. But overall, would definetely come back and recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnitaSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Well, recommendations in internet were justified. Well-positioned, modern, clean hotel with incredible staff. The room is extremely clean and nice (cleaned every day we were in a hotel) everything is new. Supermarket located on first floor of the hotel (!), works daily except Sunday until 18-20. Few cafe, restaurants and prepared food shops on this street. Tram and bus stops is few meters from Hotel Senator to each destination. I found only three lacks: no free wi-fi (two internet points in lobby for free, but you will pay to use wi-fi in your room); many rooms without double bed (two single beds); no minibars in the rooms. Anyway, the hotel is still recommended and gives fantastic value for the payment. The breakfast is also nice. And by the way, the hotel good for each season thanks to airconditioning.

Room Tip: not the first and not the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We've just came back from Vienna, after we spent 4 nights in this hotel. Indeed, the location is not in the center of Vienna, but quite close of it. The room was very nice, modern, spacios and very clean; breakfast good. Another good thing is the free public parking places( if you are lucky) near the hotel ( at the hotel's parking the price was 15 euro/day). There is no free internet in the room, but they have 2 computers in the lobby with free internet access. The price for internet was 3 euro/1 hours; 6 euro/three hours and you couldn't split it when you need it. If you are loged in the internet runs for 1, 3 hours.. I think a free wireless internet will bring a plus, as now the internet doesn't cost so much and you could find it everywhere..
I definitely recommend his hotel and for sure we will come back when visiting Vienna!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Despite its location not quite in the centre of Vienna, this hotel is worth every penny (or eurocent) :)!
The tram station very closeby allows tourists to get very easy and quick to the centre and back to the hotel. ( the trams go every 10 minutes) There is also a Lidl store right next to the hotel so tourists can go shopping for small necessities.
The hotel is very clean, with modern furniture, very comfortable beds, clean bathroom. The towels are changed everyday. (what I didn't quite understand was why there were only one complimentary bottle of shampoo, no bottle of conditioner, but 2 bottles of body lotion... They were never replaced when emptied nor supplemented.)
The receptionists are professional and nice.
The breakfast area is a little too small and it gets easily crowded. Nice breakfast though and the waiters were doing a good job cleaning the tables fast for the next customers.
I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and I will definitely come back when visiting Vienna again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy because of the Lidl store downstairs - big trucks are stocking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soniuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Geschäftsführer at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Soniuta,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Senator Hotel Vienna. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I forward this message to all members of the Senator Hotel and we are very happy to know, that we are doing a great job making the stay of our guests comfy as possible.

Unfortunately it seems, that the chambermaid forgot to change the toiletries, therefor we want to apologize. We are strongly working on giving all guests a perfect service and atmosphere of well-beeing. Of course things like this should not happen, and we forward this mail also to all members of the houesekeeping department and the whole team discussed this problem and how to continue our work to become better and better without mistakes like this.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Senator Hotel Vienna in future, to prove our usual high standard of service in all aspects of your stay.

With my best regards

Thomas Welzig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

In 2010 - may , I was in this hotel.This hotel is not located in tourist zone , but in front it is tram station.
Rooms in very clean,spacios;breakfast very good.
Overall,is good!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristinaBucuresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Beautiful hotel, very good located, few tram stops from center.
New and clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast.
Only one suggestion: please provide free WiFi for you guests.
Will stay there next time for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Oktogo.ru
1  Thank Marat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel is located a little bit far from the center but...because there is always a but...there are of course solutions for this.
The hotel has the advantage of a tram station almost in the front. To get to the center there are 3 tram stations and then the metro

or directly the tram to Shottentor station where Mariahilferstrasse street starts and then by foot.
For Shoenbrunn there is in the left of the hotel, after the corner, the station of a direct bus which leave you in the front of the

palace entrance.
The hotel is very comfortable, clean, the rooms are very spacious; cleaning is done daily. The breakfast is good, a lot of things to

eat, you can find for sure something to like.
At the reception there is a bar with some tables where you can drink something maybe in the evening. Also at the reception there are 2

computers with free internet access.
Next to the hotel there is a LIDL supermarket, you can buy whatever you want from there, there is no need to carry something from far.
At the metro station (3 tram stations from the hotel, distance that can be possible also by foot) there is a Centimeter restaurant.
So, I would recommend the hotel for all those who want a comfortable place and are not fixed to stay in the Ring and don't have a

problem using a little more public transportation or walking by foot. For me it was a good place and it worth the money.
I can also say that here I found the biggest room comparing with all the 3 stars hotels that I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink_gabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Hotel Geblergasse
Hotel Geblergasse
#220 of 358 in Vienna
527 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#159 of 358 in Vienna
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Rainers Hotel Vienna
#164 of 358 in Vienna
610 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#98 of 358 in Vienna
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel Vienna

Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £39 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iscover the 4* Senator Hotel situated in the 17th district of Vienna with perfect connections to Vienna’s historic Old Town and all the sights and attractions, like the Schönbrunn Palace, the shopping street Mariahilferstraße and the Viennese vineyards. The 179 rooms in our 4* Senator Hotel are divided into 5 different room categories, such as the calm City Garden Rooms, the spacious and comfortable Family Rooms and the intimate and romantic Cuddle Rooms. The rooms and public areas are designed with touches of red and yellow, which underlines the cosy and happy atmosphere. In the lobby area, two iMac computers and an Xbox 360 station are provided for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing