We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT 3 STAR HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Hotel Vienna
Ranked #188 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT 3 STAR HOTEL”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A little way outside the centre but has good tram/bus routes immediately outside. Excellent and comfortable room very well insulated and soundproofed. Hotel Garni only (bed and breakfast). Breakfast good with helpful and attentive staff. Small bar in lobby with reasonable prices. Not much sitting space in the lobby but friendly and helpful staff. BBC and SKY News TV plus latest films (free).

Room Tip: Only two Lifts and a bit slow so go for 2nd Floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schalichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia K, Manager at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Schalichfield,

Thank you very much for choosing our Senator Hotel Vienna and your review about your stay with us. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit!

I am very happy to hear about the comfortable room and the staff’s kindness and do much appreciate your words! This helps us to improve ourselves and the service for our future guests.

The whole Senator Hotel Team is looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards from vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    377
    152
    34
    31
See reviews for
156
392
52
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garden of England
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Clean hotel and helpful staff.

Bedroom lovely and clean with good size bed and plenty of space for clothes - OK - not huge but great for a weekend. Bathroom clean and good shower (no bath) - but hey ho you just need to refresh yourself. Daily cleaning of rooms.... spotless.

Breakfast is buffet - something for everyone but a little crowded.

Lots of single people travelling alone which I think is always a recommendation

Would certainly recommend and would book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyeSpyaFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia K, Manager at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear EyeSpyaFly,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay in our Senator Hotel Vienna.

I was very pleased to read your feedback about the cleanliness of your room and the helpful stuff.
Your kind words are well appreciated and have already been passed to the responsible department.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our beautiful Senator Hotel.

Kind regards and "servus" from Vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Nice and clean room, under 10min by tram (number 43) to Schottentor. From here you can walk in 5min to Stephansplatz. If you're arriving by train at Westbahnhof take tram 9, which takes about 10min. The stop is Rosensteingasse and the hotel is next to Lidl.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiGi-PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia K, Manager at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Simonelagos,

thank you for your stay in our house and for taking the time to post this very nice review about your experience.
I was happy to read that you pointed out how excellent the transport system works in Vienna and how easy it is to reach different locations - Perfect in order to explore the city!

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time in Vienna and I am looking forward to welcoming you again in our Senator Hotel .

Warm regards from vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Overall not too bad but nothing great either. Rooms are at least modern and clean, good quality beds and decent bathrooms. Free wifi throughout the hotel (as there should be) and friendly staff on reception. We just used the hotel to sleep at night as we were out and about from first thing until late each day, certainly not the kind of place to hang out.

Location is a bit of a pain, we took taxis because the alternative involves tram, train, and change to a different train which is just too much hassle.

Reasonable 3 star hotel but my advice is to skip breakfast as it's awful. The bare basics of cold options and nothing hot apart from stale looking scrambled eggs.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia K, Manager at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Craig,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Senator Hotel.
I was very pleased to learn that you were overall satisfied with our hotel and our friendly staff.
Our hotel is situated in the 17th district, from where you can directly take tram 43 to the city center - no change is needful and it takes you just 15 minutes.
Also i want to thank you for your feedback refering our breakfast. Everything will be discussed in our next team meeting, because the main aim of all of us is, to have satisfied guests who love to return again to Senator Hotel Vienna.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards from vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel punches well above its weight for guest care,facilities and convenience. There is air conditioning in the rooms. It was not required when I visited. You can book for Bed and breakfast, half board, (tour groups tend to do this) or room only, as we did.. Finding Lidl's next door was an added bonus.

Hotel Senator may not be in the city centre, nor in a glamorous district, but, none of that matters. In this city there is a great transport system. Just outside the hotel there are tram stops, for two tram routes. In one direction, you can get to Schloss Schonbrunn, the summer palace of the Hapsburg rulers, which, is a lovely palace with delightful park lands a maze and other attractions, to go visit.

In the opposite direction, you can get to a main tram/metro interchange, within 5-7 minutes. From there you can pick up a good cup of coffee to go, at ground level, change onto other trams,or, at the lower level, there are shops, fresh fruit stalls to browse, and more transport options. In all, if you do not stop to browse, a trip into the very heart of fashionable Vienna can take about a comfortable 15-20 minutes.

The reception staff at the hotel are welcoming and helpful. If you have not got a suitable electric adaptor plug, reception have a variety to loan upon payment of a security deposit of €20, which, is returned to you when you hand back the adaptor you have borrowed. There are elevators to all floors. Out of breakfast hours, there is a bar operated by reception staff where you can get hot drinks, soft drinks and alcoholic ones. There were two Applemac computers, always connected to the internet, in reception, for guest use. Otherwise, free wifi is available in the hotel guest rooms; it can sometimes be a bit slow, but on the whole, it was very satisfactory.

There are some transport travel tickets available at the desk, however, a little place called Tabak Traffik a few steps to the left of the front entrance, is where you would get the variety of tickets to suit your needs, We were advised to purchase travel tickets from authorised Tabaks, (Trafik). The most economic ticket for all forms of Vienna transport runs from Monday to Monday. If your days do not tie in with that pattern, then it is worth thinking about buying a flexible eight ticket strip, which can be used for more than one person any day of the week. It would provide four days Vienna travel for two people. Each ticket MUST be validated on the day of use (on the tram or train). The transport system is well policed by ticket inspectors. 48 and 72 hour tickets can be used in the mix or travel arrangements, if required.

The hotel can arrange for a taxi to meet you at the airport if you let them know in advance. At the time of writing this review, a taxi to the hotel would cost about €37 in total, for up to four people and possibly a few euros more if the driver takes your luggage to the vehicle. Having discovered how easy it was to travel to and from the hotel, we used up our last day's travel tickets to go by tram to get to the airport bus.The airport bus was not expensive and the bus journey was efficient, taking a relatively short time to arrive at destination.

Room servicing was excellent, every day our room was very well serviced. We felt well looked after. There was a safe in the room. Our room was bright and airy; there was a telephone; we had a flat screen TV offering lots of international channels; there was a desk, good room lighting, and lots of storage space. The ensuite was fitted with a sink, W.C. and thermostatic shower in a cubicle, (the shower had a good water flow). A hair dryer was provided, it was good. Basic toiletries were provided.

The Hotel Senator is to be highly recommended.

Room Tip: On arrival ask for a quiet room. Ours was over a courtyard, which was quite good and nice to look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZAC_ZACL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia K, Manager at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Mr ZAC_ZACL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us for which we are very grateful and I have passed your kind words to all the team.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us very much appreciate your reccommendation.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit to Vienna and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of any further assistance.

Best regards and "servus" aus Wien

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We booked 4 nights with breakfast included, in the late august. We stood in a standard double room, quite spacious for our needs, very clean, but with twin-beds (unfortunately). We had wireless in all the room, which was perfect, and downstairs, near the reception, there were 2 Apple PCs, which can be very handy if you want to print boarding passes for instance. Also, near the elevator, there was a vendor machine where you can buy drinks and some snacks, which can be very useful during the weekend, where all nearby stores were closed, even the Lidl supermarket near the hotel. The breakfast was very diversified, no complaints at all in regards of that. The hotel is close to Tram station which was convenient for local transport system. Overall, i would recommend it for a trip to Vienna, due to its convenient price, cleanliness and kindness of personnel.
The only incident that we experienced is that our iron brought from home, was taken by the person who was responsible to clean the room, most likely supposing that it belonged to the hotel. We managed to recover it after all, with no major conflicts with the staff. But other than that, no other issues or complaints during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielCotovanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia K, Manager at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Mr. Cotovanu,

thank you very much for your stay in our house and your wonderful feedback. It makes me and the whole team very proud!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in vienna and in our hotel and hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards from vienna
Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 7 nights. The hotel is clean, very quiet and the rooms are comfortable with everything you'd need. The staff are friendly and the location, although not central, has great tram connections to get you to the metro and on to wherever you need in Vienna.

Two minor issues. The room temperature - it was too hot, and even with windows open or air-con it was very warm overnight. Also, couldn't get out of the hotel entrance in the morning, as drivers for tour parties were stood smoking in the doorway... an annoyance more than a problem.

Overall very good "value for money" option for staying in Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia K, Manager at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Chagra,

thank you very much for you review and your very nice feedback!
We hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our house.

Best regards from vienna
Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Rainers Hotel Vienna
#170 of 360 in Vienna
567 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#158 of 360 in Vienna
361 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#225 of 360 in Vienna
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Dobling
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel Vienna

Property: Senator Hotel Vienna
Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iscover the 4* Senator Hotel situated in the 17th district of Vienna with perfect connections to Vienna’s historic Old Town and all the sights and attractions, like the Schönbrunn Palace, the shopping street Mariahilferstraße and the Viennese vineyards. The 179 rooms in our 4* Senator Hotel are divided into 5 different room categories, such as the calm City Garden Rooms, the spacious and comfortable Family Rooms and the intimate and romantic Cuddle Rooms. The rooms and public areas are designed with touches of red and yellow, which underlines the cosy and happy atmosphere. In the lobby area, two iMac computers and an Xbox 360 station are provided for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing