We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice city trip hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Hotel Vienna
Ranked #188 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A nice city trip hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

first of all, the one of the my best value of money! such a great management , u see it everywhere, veryt clean , well organised and friendly! nice breakfast, enough for who like typical german-austrian brfst! maybe only minus point is, just 18min. drive away from city center! with tram, just front of the hotel.!!! Romm was really nice, modern and comfortable. the water can be drinked! i would come back again! -free wifi-

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuncay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    377
    152
    34
    31
See reviews for
156
392
52
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Sam, my partner, booked us a 2 week holiday to Europe for my 21st birthday. This was the hotel we stayed in for the second week. Though the journey there was a trial and tiring (8 hours non-consecutively on a train in one day is never good for the soul) we were welcomed by staff who spoke very good English and were efficient with allowing us up to our room.

The room itself was spacious, comfortable, bright and well laid out. We didn't use the mini-bar (E2.50 for orange juice, no; maybe for the coka cola... but anyway) but the free internet worked well. It only set you up with a free 4 hours every time but that's all we needed with all the activities we undertook outside of the hotel. Cleaning staff were friendly and always said good morning (our German being tested but clearly appreciated) apart from one morning (well, midday; we'd been out late and slept in late) one cleaner was a little violent with the vacuum cleaner outside the doors, but nothing major.

The hotel ordered taxis for us (one minor slip-up regarding an advanced taxi booking one day but easily sorted), and was feet away from a tram stop which drove directly toward the city centre. 43 to Schottentor then wherever you wanted from there. The trams were comfortable, spacious and so much faster than walking. Without a tram, a lovely daily street market and a number of places to eat, drink and shop were within easy walking distance. In the other direction, the hotel was only around 30 minutes by bus from Schonbrunn Zoo.

Sam didn't realise the hotel was 4 stars; he thought it was only 3, so he seemed rather pleased with himself when we found out ;)

A highly recommendable hotel; nicely priced, placed and run.

Room Tip: The hotel is rather big but make sure you've got a confirmed booking; we unfortunately witnessed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsyWolf193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Terribly hot rooms, with an air conditioning unit that is centrally controlled, but looks like you can control it, they obviously keep the temperature up as a cost cutting measure, while guests suffer, not good

Room Tip: WiFi is very poor, air conditioning is terrible, it is very uncomfortable and no power from the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've stayed in hotel Senator for several times and was never disapointed. Since they decided to put a refrigerator in the room there is everything you need. The rooms are quiet, even those which face on the main street. Anytime again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitesti
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in transit to Innsbruck. It was a good choice considering the issues that we took into account: cleanliness, comfort, price ok, free parking (on side streets you can find some places without pay). The breakfast was very good, friendly staff, very good value price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihai76Pitesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First Impressions were clean. We aqrrived just after a coach carrying an Far Eastern Youth Orchestra and Instruments and reception coped excellently.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable and all important things worked. Double glazing kept the noise of the street out.

Bathroom was adequately sized with an excellent shower.

There was a good TV - don't know about English channels as I was born and went to school not far from hotel so speak the language.

The room had a safe, supplied FOC whic was big enough for a laptop and had a mains socket inside. I quite happily charged my iPad and phones while my niece got a standard HP laptop into hers.

Breakfast was good - continental with powerful coffee, much cold meat, cheese, fruit and many breads. There was fruit and cereal and jams. Service was quick and friendly. Staff coped well at peak times.

Excellent transport link via 1 tram with no changes to town centre. Vienna has superb public transport and all the main links are present with the exception of U.

Strongly Recommended.

There is WiFi but I found it easier tand more reliable to tether to my mobile.

Room Tip: away from lifts and above first floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Senator in Vienna! Picked it
because of the low prices, ~60 Euros for a Double Room.
Rooms were very modern and clean. I liked them very much.
Pretty small for the typical traveler. The Hotel is pretty well
located, not it the center, but close enough to catch a Tram
or Subway to any part of town! Would definitely Recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoMac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Rainers Hotel Vienna
#170 of 360 in Vienna
567 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#158 of 360 in Vienna
361 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#225 of 360 in Vienna
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Dobling
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel Vienna

Property: Senator Hotel Vienna
Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iscover the 4* Senator Hotel situated in the 17th district of Vienna with perfect connections to Vienna’s historic Old Town and all the sights and attractions, like the Schönbrunn Palace, the shopping street Mariahilferstraße and the Viennese vineyards. The 179 rooms in our 4* Senator Hotel are divided into 5 different room categories, such as the calm City Garden Rooms, the spacious and comfortable Family Rooms and the intimate and romantic Cuddle Rooms. The rooms and public areas are designed with touches of red and yellow, which underlines the cosy and happy atmosphere. In the lobby area, two iMac computers and an Xbox 360 station are provided for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing