We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Stars for Food, One Star for Organization” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Restaurants Freyenstein

Gourmet Restaurants Freyenstein
Ranked #419 of 4,071 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Wahring
Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Five Stars for Food, One Star for Organization”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I've eaten here several times and the food is always good. The concept is clever and simple: no choices, just 5-6 courses consisting of two small amuse-gueule style dishes each. The courtyard seating is nice too - so far, so good.

However, the kitchen is evidently not capable of managing the flow of dishes, even though the menu is so streamlined. Twice now we've booked relatively early (7 p.m.) in hopes of being able to complete our meal before it got too late and the courtyard closed. Both times, we failed. Most recently, while the first three courses arrived too quickly for us even to finish one before the next was deposited at our table, service got progressively slower and we waited an hour for the dessert course. After 45 minutes we inquired and were assured it would be out in "6 or 7 minutes". Ten minutes later, we were advised that we'd have to move to the crowded and noisy inside room (the courtyard closes at 10 p.m.) to have our dessert, which would be "coming in five minutes or so". We asked for the check and left instead.

I won't be going back until they get their service sorted out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thing_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    21
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We had a very nice dining experience with friends in the courtyard of this lovely restaurant. Although this restaurant is off the beaten track (tram from Schottentor, then approx. 7 min walk), we enjoyed it very much in the midst of many locals. The atmosphere in the courtyard is very unique and relaxed, the food was excellent, the wines from the nice wine list very enjoyable. A place to come back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely atmosphere, good food, took 2.5 hours”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Based on multiple places with great reviews we made the 40 min. trip out for a special meal. First the good...the interior is cozy and romantic, the staff is friendly and welcoming. No problem getting an explanation of the menu in English. We knew ahead of time it was a set menu and we were excited to be surprised by our meal.
The not so good....our reservation was for 7pm. We were seated right away and soon had ordered a glass of wine. Our first course showed up soon after and we were happy to discover that our 2 first tastes were really good (asparagus and a lamb dish). It all went downhill from there.
The food was fine...not amazing...but good, and very small portions. The problem was that it was about 30 minutes between them. We started around 7:15 and got dessert at 9:30!!!!!!
Dragging out eating each course as slowly as possible meant taking about 5 mins. tops to eat...then wait and wait and wait.
If it had been paced better...maybe 10-15 mins between courses this would have been a much more positive review.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kiz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great tastes in a Viennese atmosphere!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Great value for this excellent food with the great collection of wines, where you can enjoy in a romantic house with Viennese atmosphere. Absolutely recommend it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Lovely Relaxed Friendly Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great value too. The wines selected by the restaurant to go with each course was well worth going for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CTC047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Restaurants Freyenstein also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Restaurants Freyenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing