We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”

Gourmet Restaurants Freyenstein
Ranked #419 of 4,106 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Wahring
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A seriously delicious evening. Inventive, honest and yummy. And reasonably priced too. A must for anyone who is in Vienna.
Q (London)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    21
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If there was one restaurant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

...I had to go to for the rest of my life, it would be my home town's Freyenstein.
I am traveling the world but have yet to find a place that offers as carefully selected ingredients, especially herbs.
You have to book in advance and be on time as all guests are basically served at the same time.
You won't regret the local atmosphere combined with world class food and wines.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarkusMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Everything about the restaurant suggests an unusual dining experience. It is out of the way on a quiet side street. The restaurant has old style charm. The menu is fixed and serve two small courses at a time. We enjoyed it all. The upscale menu included an exotic stew of heart, lungs and sweetbreads that turned out to be superb. One of our party was a vegetarian and the restaurant was able to quickly create a special menu for her. The meal did take some time but we did not find it a problem as we enjoyed the wine and company. The wait staff was friendly and helpful, particularly with selecting the Austrian wines. This is an unusual dining experience but it works. It is certainly worth the effort to get to the restaurant. When in Vienna give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Five Stars for Food, One Star for Organization”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I've eaten here several times and the food is always good. The concept is clever and simple: no choices, just 5-6 courses consisting of two small amuse-gueule style dishes each. The courtyard seating is nice too - so far, so good.

However, the kitchen is evidently not capable of managing the flow of dishes, even though the menu is so streamlined. Twice now we've booked relatively early (7 p.m.) in hopes of being able to complete our meal before it got too late and the courtyard closed. Both times, we failed. Most recently, while the first three courses arrived too quickly for us even to finish one before the next was deposited at our table, service got progressively slower and we waited an hour for the dessert course. After 45 minutes we inquired and were assured it would be out in "6 or 7 minutes". Ten minutes later, we were advised that we'd have to move to the crowded and noisy inside room (the courtyard closes at 10 p.m.) to have our dessert, which would be "coming in five minutes or so". We asked for the check and left instead.

I won't be going back until they get their service sorted out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thing_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We had a very nice dining experience with friends in the courtyard of this lovely restaurant. Although this restaurant is off the beaten track (tram from Schottentor, then approx. 7 min walk), we enjoyed it very much in the midst of many locals. The atmosphere in the courtyard is very unique and relaxed, the food was excellent, the wines from the nice wine list very enjoyable. A place to come back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Restaurants Freyenstein also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Gourmet Restaurants Freyenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing