We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, but Service Lacking”

Plachutta's Grunspan
Ranked #50 of 104 Dessert in Vienna
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Ottakring
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, but Service Lacking”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I think we see comments in a lot of Vienna restaurant reviews about Austrian service and the slow and somewhat stuffy waiters. On a Friday night in late June we got a front row view at Plachutta's Greenspan. Not stuffy in this case but extremely slow and disorganized. Despite this, I have to say the excellent food and happy "beer garden" atmosphere made this a fun three hours. Your results may vary on the service, maybe it was juts a bad night. I bet the food is always great and the atmosphere always fun.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MF1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    89
    37
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vienna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beer-garden with typical Austrian food”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The restaurant's name has absolutely nothing to do with the former president of the Federal Reserve Bank, Alan Greenspan, but is one of the enterprises of the famous Plachutta-family.
Although somewhat suburbian (but easy to reach) Grunspan is more a beer-tavern than a normal restaurant, better a mega-pub, where people can even sit in a gorgeous garden under 100-year old chestnut trees and have their very special Grunspan-beer, tailor-made for Plachutta.
Sitting and feasting in the garden is the restaurant's major advantage, whereas inside-seating suffers somewhat by a rather noisy and hectic athmosphere.The menue concentrates on the major Viennese fare and well-known Plachutta specialities.
To be on the safe side, make a reservation ,especially for a nice table in the wonderful large garden, as Grunspan is very popular with the Viennese.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schneewittchenVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“wiener küche”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

well ,food is ok but some mains are to small.
beer some differnent styes and own house beer available.
No underground availble, only bus available.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank mark692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wien
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“tradition at its best”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

On the outskirts of Vienna, on the foot of lovely Wilhelminenberg, is a wonderful location for traditional beef specialists Grünspan's Plachutta. The traditional beef dishes such as Gulasch or the world-famous Tafelspitz are a delight and the special brew by Ottakringer is heavenly. Although the portions are generous, you should try to leave some space for dessert - you won't be sorry ;)

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sushitzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I had my hotel in Vienna make dinner reservations 6 weeks in advanced for dinner at Grunspan...when we arrived we were told they had no record of the reservation and that they were full.

We spent 30 min. traveling by tram from the city center...all for nothing.

All 10 other dinner reservation made by the hotel were no problem.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plachutta's Grunspan also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Plachutta's Grunspan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing