We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner served by Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum Moghulhof

Zum Moghulhof
Ranked #3,209 of 4,071 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Neubau
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dinner served by Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was the worst meal I've had in quite a while. As a vegetarian, I was thrilled to find this restaurant after other dinner plans in the area fell through. While the food was passable, almost everything else about the meal was terrible.

The service was ridiculous. The woman who works there was incredibly sweet to us when we first arrived, but quickly turned sour and visibly annoyed with us soon after we ordered. She scowled at us for even the most minor request, and huffed and puffed even when we asked for the bill. At one point we ordered water without any carbonation (in both German and English), but she brought water with carbonation and started pouring it before we could stop her. When we explained to her the mistake, she became very angry and made a big show while using our table to pour the water back into the bottle (is she going to serve that to someone else?).

The prices are also much higher than they should be. We paid over 20 Euros per person for this meal, and it was worth about half that. They charged us 4.80 Euros for a bottle of water, and even charged us 1 Euro per person as a fee for using silverware.

While they did have a nice vegetarian sample plate, it was overpriced and not as flavorful as I would hope. I wish we had gone somewhere else, somewhere with less frightening service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    25
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Znojmo, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
130 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Bad service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We were in this restaurant for a dinner and expected nice evening with tasty food, but the reality was absolutelly different.
The place is too busy, the service terrible and the food very average. I hope, we come never back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewangelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Can do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Had dinner here in May. Ordered the sampler that has chicken, beef, veggies, and a variety of spices and dips, along with some nan. Meat was tasty. Spices were too light. Service was average, with waiter totally absent once meal was delivered to table: no water refills as a result. Nice atmosphere in restaurant, but not comparable to some Indian places in Amsterdam and elsewhere, where authentic Indian art and lush furniture were present. Overall, a decent place to fill up after a long day, but nothing memorable in a positive, repeat-visit kind of way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianEagle747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We went as we fancied a change from Schnitzel. This Indian was just down the road from our hotel so decided to give it a go. The first impression of the place was bad as as soon as we were led to our table a homeless guy who had come into the restaurant before us, was going around the tables asking for money. The staff at this restaurant were doing nothing about him (must have some deal where they split the money at the end of the night haha) anyway the service was pretty efficient to start with apart from a few mix ups with drinks. I thought the food was good, I had the Chicken Makhani (which tasted like a korma) and it was standard quality. We were thinking about having a dessert but after finishing our mains we waiting half an hour before someone came over and we then asked for the bill. To top it off another homeless person selling magazines (big issue style) came and was trying to sell to guests. Don't think we will be returning in a hurry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank misslfm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable, just lacking in spice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just wandered in off the street with no idea of any reviews. Thoroughly enjoyed my rogan josh, rice, naan and popadoms and found that the depth of flavour was really something I don't get often enough. The lamb was soft and falling apart. My only complaint is that there was no chilli heat whatsoever! After speaking to the waitress, apparently the Austrian palate does not like the chilli heat. Had I know that, I would have gone for vindaloo.

Wines were quite pleasant and reasonably cheap. Contrary to a lot of the reviews on the website, I had a good experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mynameisalwaystaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Moghulhof also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zum Moghulhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing