We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zum Moghulhof

Zum Moghulhof
Ranked #3,212 of 4,106 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Neubau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Ive eaten a wide variety of Indian food both in the UK and India and I thoroughly enjoyed my meal at this restaurant. The dishes are milder than you might expect and also richer and creamier than the standard UK fare. But they were cooked superbly and nicely flavoured. I'd definitly return but would order something hotter next time. As for the service - the staff werent particularly welcoming but they were efficient and polite enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheRivieraKid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    25
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't understand the bad reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We almost didn't eat here after consulting Tripadvisor and reading the bad reviews, but we were desperate. We were too tired to walk far and there were a lot of restaurants closed - it was a Sunday - so we decided to give it a chance. The food was great, the atmosphere was great and our server couldn't have been nicer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roccgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dinner served by Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was the worst meal I've had in quite a while. As a vegetarian, I was thrilled to find this restaurant after other dinner plans in the area fell through. While the food was passable, almost everything else about the meal was terrible.

The service was ridiculous. The woman who works there was incredibly sweet to us when we first arrived, but quickly turned sour and visibly annoyed with us soon after we ordered. She scowled at us for even the most minor request, and huffed and puffed even when we asked for the bill. At one point we ordered water without any carbonation (in both German and English), but she brought water with carbonation and started pouring it before we could stop her. When we explained to her the mistake, she became very angry and made a big show while using our table to pour the water back into the bottle (is she going to serve that to someone else?).

The prices are also much higher than they should be. We paid over 20 Euros per person for this meal, and it was worth about half that. They charged us 4.80 Euros for a bottle of water, and even charged us 1 Euro per person as a fee for using silverware.

While they did have a nice vegetarian sample plate, it was overpriced and not as flavorful as I would hope. I wish we had gone somewhere else, somewhere with less frightening service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Znojmo, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
130 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Bad service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We were in this restaurant for a dinner and expected nice evening with tasty food, but the reality was absolutelly different.
The place is too busy, the service terrible and the food very average. I hope, we come never back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewangelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Can do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Had dinner here in May. Ordered the sampler that has chicken, beef, veggies, and a variety of spices and dips, along with some nan. Meat was tasty. Spices were too light. Service was average, with waiter totally absent once meal was delivered to table: no water refills as a result. Nice atmosphere in restaurant, but not comparable to some Indian places in Amsterdam and elsewhere, where authentic Indian art and lush furniture were present. Overall, a decent place to fill up after a long day, but nothing memorable in a positive, repeat-visit kind of way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianEagle747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Moghulhof also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zum Moghulhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing