We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they're not claiming to be a hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KIBI rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
KIBI rooms
Ranked #22 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“they're not claiming to be a hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I'm not sure what other guest houses in Vienna are like, but the ones in Rome are very similar. Kibi Rooms is on the 3rd floor of a building that you get to by walking through the main door on the street and across a small dark courtyard. The elevator is old and squeaky but when you enter the reception you're greeted by a friendly receptionist behind the counter and a cosy sitting area with vending machines and magazines. It's also walking distance from Wien Mitte which is very convinient.
On the down side, there's no one in the reception past 5pm, the breakfast coupon gets you a seat in the not-so-pretty upstairs of quite a pretty cafe (not a nice feeling at all), and the bathroom is tiny and dated (but clean). The wifi did not work in our room which was very annoying.
I would recommend Kibi Rooms to anyone looking for a very well priced guest house in a great location!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azeebazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    70
    44
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
101
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Although I've scored this 4 it really deserves to be in the 3.5 area.

An earlier reviewer hit the nail on the head when they said this is more like a hostel than a hotel - only without the amenities.

What's good.
The location, especially getting to/from airport, and the vicinity to 'stuff' is awesome.
The price compared to other hotels was good
The rooms were fairly modern, clean, contained the essentials, although were small

What needs to be improved
The part time checking in process I can imagine could catch some people out but it worked ok for us. Just feels odd that the residence markets itself as a hotel, but acts more like a hostel/self service apartments. Personally I have no problem with this, but could imagine other travellers might not appreciate the lack of personal service,

Breakfast - pointless. You receive a voucher for a bakery over the road, which provides two bread rolls with a drink. You also have to sit upstairs in a part used/decorated room whilst the service is slow and unattentive. Given i was staying in a large cosmopolitan city, after 1 occasion I decided to source breakfast elsewhere, for a decent price, in a nicer environment and to a higher standard. The whole breakfast piece feels 'token'. I'd have appreciated a couple of euros off the room price, or tea making facilities in the room, rather than bother with this.

Overall, as long as you know what you're getting, I'd recommend staying here. If you're after a bit more of a standard hotel experience, well then there's the Hilton down the road..just bring your credit card or life savings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gazfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while on business in Vienna. Although not what you would call a hotel, more a hostel really, but it was comfortable and reasonably priced. Hotel prices in Vienna are extortionate to say the least! Kibi Rooms is conveniently located only 300m from Mitte railway station. The room was very clean and serviced daily, but rather small. The bathroom was a tight squeeze to say the least. Toiletries such as shampoo etc. are not supplied so make sure to bring them. They seem to have the central heating on for a large portion of the day in the rooms making them very stuffy and difficult to sleep at night, and you will hear commuter traffic from the street outside from 6.00 am if you keep the window open.
Reception staff are extremely polite and very helpful but the reception is only staffed until 4.30 pm daily, so if you accidentally leave your key card in the room and head out for the evening, you'll have to ring their call out number to get back into the accommodation. Apart from that though I'd still recommend Kibi Rooms for a short business trip or tourist visit to Vienna. I'll stay there again on my next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The lift (making noise+ the light was not working well ). The room is small and we heard d alarm from the next room and thinking it was our own alarm. The toilet is small. But Then place is a walking distance to most of the attractions n metro station.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank anna1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. The room was a bit smaller and less modern than we anticipated from the images, but overall a clean and comfortable stay. The breakfast was very tasty and can be upgraded to include orange juice, cheese and ham for just 1 euro per person. Location-wise this hotel is perfect to visit the city.

Room Tip: Room #1 was quite small, I think other rooms were bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pascal311087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Pros - staff are friendly and the hotel is well located, only a short walk to the train or down to the town center. Approx 15 min to Prater
Cons - the rooms are very basic. Very dated bathroom and tatty bed sheets. Breakfast is two rolls with jam and a coffee which you need to walk down the street for. For the price I wouldn't probably recommend paying a little more for an Ibis or Mercure. Big con is the limited hrs reception is over. We felt rushed to get to Vienna in time to check in

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The place is located on a main street, 5 minutes walk from Vienna 'Mitte' train station, and approx 15-20 minutes of easy walk from Stephansplatz.
Simply, close to city center.
So, taking into account the high city rates in general, if you don’t mind small, basic room (with shower…), and if not looking for fancy Lobby, this is a choice of fair deal in Vienna.
Many places around to dine and shop. Pleasant neighborhood. Our room faced the Patio so no street hassle at all.
Two things to improve however – lights in the room are very low and breakfast (served in a coffee shop across the street) is very basic (I believe it can be ‘upgraded’ for an extra Euro. We did not try it).
But always remember the price…

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam-Visits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hilton Vienna
#111 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#48 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KIBI rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIBI rooms

Property: KIBI rooms
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 33, Vienna 1030, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — KIBI rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your KIBI rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing